We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good choice as a shopping epicenter” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very good choice as a shopping epicenter”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2010

Spent 1 night here a week back, front desk girls very friendly and helpful. Property is central to shopping all over Buffalo, so dont hesitate. I have traveled all over the world and you wont find a cleaner property. Rooms were clean and modern. Hot tub could be hotter, and the indoor pool is very small, so dont expect to be doing laps for physical activity. Common areas were clean and well kept.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rowersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    73
    27
    2
    6
See reviews for
62
33
9
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2009

I spend many nights each year on the road as a solo. When I called from the airport on Sunday evening, reception said "the shuttle will be there in 10-15 minutes". After 40 minutes wait and another phone call, a new voice said the shuttle had not been sent but it would be: it took over an hour to be collected. So be warned. Hotel is almost new and very clean, congrats housekeeping. Staff are friendly and obliging. Location requires a car as it is removed from any food or drink outlets. At 1.10 AM someone started smoking in one of the nearby rooms and the foul smell went through the AC system. Woke me with a start. This type of event is becoming more regular as hotels change over to non smoking. Not the fault of the hotel, but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokomo, IN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2009

Spent two relaxing nights at this inn on the north side of Buffalo, I-290 exit 6. Modern, attractive, comfortable. Welcomed as usual at Marriott properties- made to feel at home. Had the "eggs -to-order" continental breakfast for a fee- $8.95 or 6.95/no eggs. Great staff, small indoor pool, etc. Close to all Buffalo has to order (Niagara Falls, Lockport canal, lake front attractions) and the best rate for the quality received when compared to other inns in the Buffalo area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon_Peyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

I was bit worried about this property but I was quite surprised at how much I enjoyed my stay here. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever stayed in at a hotel. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is a bit pricey but it was better than going out in 20 degree weather. Since it was so cold outside, the room was nice and warm. The location is close to the University of Buffalo and not far from eating establishments. The front desk can recommend a lot of delivery options as well.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrlTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2009

The bill they slide under your door is very deceiving! By the time you get home you will find a lot less money in your bank account after numerous fraudulent charges are tacked onto your bill and disguised as fines.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tater2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

Stayed at the Courtyard Mariott on a two day business trip. Got in late Thrusday night, front desk was gracious and very helpful. The room was spacious, the bed was comfortable. My only gripe about the room was the bathroom was too small, felt like everything was really close together. However, I do like how they had an extra sink outside of the bathroom. Internet connection was fast and reliable within the rooms.

The breakfast buffet was overpriced for what they served. But the waitresses were very attentive.

Front desk again was helpful when asking for directions to Niagra Falls, they had nice and clear printed out directions. Though their business center consisted of one computer and printer, it was sufficient for its purpose.

All in all I would definitely stay here again if was in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Court18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2009

Our family of three with a 5 year old stayed overnight at this conveniently located hotel off I-290 on our way to Canada. Decor was esthetically pleasing and modern. Check-in staff was professional and efficient. Our room with 2 double beds on the second floor was very quiet despite the proximity to the highway. Upon arrival, we were promptly assisted with locating a place to eat nearby. The breakfast buffet was a bit of a disappointment given the $9.95 adult and $5.95 child rates. Omelets made-to-order were not available on weekends and the other hot food offerings were sub-par. Breakfast staff were not professional and attentive.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3onaTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
1.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.9 mi away
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University

Property: Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Address: 4100 Sheridan Drive, Amherst, NY 14221 (Formerly Courtyard Buffalo Amherst)
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Buffalo Courtyard
Buffalo Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing