We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place- about 15 min from the Falls”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Stayed here because we wanted to say on the US side of the falls. Nice hotel, large rooms, about finished with the construction in the lobby. They have a Starbucks in the lobby. We were not disturbed at all from the construction. You can easily go to the Canadian side for a gorgous view of the falls with your passport.

Room Tip: I always like a high room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank harleyTMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 187 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

I grew up in Amherst and come back every few years. I always try to stay at this Courtyard. The quality remains high. The staff is very helpful, the rooms are very clean and the beds are great. You have to pay for breakfast but the quality is worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank msboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great location right off of interstate. Clean rooms, but a bit dated. Restaurants are a 2 mile drive. Rates are high this time of year with U of B back to school. Overall good.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsprep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The rooms were nice and clean, and the front desk staff was helpful. The buffet breakfast was delicious although a bit pricey. We stayed in this area as a cheaper option to visit Niagara Falls, and it was a great value for the price. Our only complaint was that the cleaning staff were not very friendly or helpful when we tried to ask them for something. Otherwise everything was good.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank explorergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Typical Courtyard. The pool was on the smaller end and a bit overrun but that's okay.
No problems and close to the highway and Duffs!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCMANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

There are a few hotels near University of Buffalo and it isn't always easy to choose. I am sure that there are others which are also good, but this little hotel is a gem at a very good price. The rooms are clean and well appointed and maintained. The staff is very helpful and the breakfast provided has a lot more choices than most hotels with kitchenettes. I recommend this hotel highly and prefer it to others due to it's proximity to a lovely residential neighborhood.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in the back for more privacy. front rooms are visible from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agouradeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

I have stayed in this hotel only one night during our US trip. This was short stop on the way to Niagara Falls next day. Because we arrived to Buffalo late night, that was perfect choice. Hotel was quite easy to find.
Check-in was quick and of course hassle-free. In few minutes we could relax in comfortable room after busy day. Room was equipped with everything you may expect, TV, phone, internet access, coffee/tea maker etc. Size of the room was more than expected. Standard Courtyard comfortable bed was like heaven in the evening, haha.
Semi-open bathroom was quite funny and unusual. Basic, but good quality toiletries and fresh towels were provided.
Lobby was bright and well maintained. You could use hotel's PC to print your boarding cards or maps. Natural, professional and nice staff was always ready to help. I really liked that. There was indoor swimming pool, but we didn't have a chance to use it.

Room Tip: Comfortable hotel, convenient location, good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marqoos_pl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
1.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.9 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.9 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
1.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University

Address: 4100 Sheridan Dr, Amherst, NY 14221-4303 (Formerly Courtyard Buffalo Amherst)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Price Range: $113 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Buffalo Amherst/University lets you relax and recharge while on the road. Our hotel in Buffalo, New York features spacious guest rooms and suites equipped with the perfect amenities for a pleasant stay like fluffy pillows, thick mattresses and luxurious linens. In our public spaces, enjoy morning and evening dining at The Bistro restaurant, swim in our indoor pool and hold meetings and conferences in our event spaces. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout our hotel, which sits conveniently close to University at Buffalo and even Niagara Falls! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Buffalo Marriott
Buffalo Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing