We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phenomenal deal on Priceline”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phenomenal deal on Priceline”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

As the only 3 1/2 star hotel in Amherst, you know what you are getting when you bid for this on Priceline. For $62 this was a fantastic deal. The beds were incredibly comfortable. The workout room was upscale. As a Marrriott reward member, we even received free internet access.

Not sure if this hotel is worth full price as the rooms are a bit small and as a full service hotel there is no free breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hockeydad35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    319
    128
    35
    37
See reviews for
269
162
32
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2010

This was a very nice, and big hotel. The bed in our room was comfortable, and I'm always impressed by the feel of their sheets - fluffy and warm. It's near a good shopping area, and is easy to get to. If you have a child who attends the University at Buffalo, this is a nice place to stay as it's nearby the school. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palmra99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Staff was very friendly, the room was nice but a little small. The linens were very nice quality, matress comforable.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PtboCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Have stayed here several times - always consistent. Fairly large room, comfortable bed, modern bathroom with products from Bath and Bodyworks, indoor and outdoor pools. Convenient parking, no matter what time of day or night - there is always lots of space. Great location to access Buffalo area shopping.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leica01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed here with my Mother while in town for a concert at the University at Buffalo. Also did some sight-seeing over in Canada. So this location was very convenient for us. Our check in went easily - even were able to get our room moved to be nearer to some other family members also staying at this property.
We found our room to be clean, with the exception of the glassware. One glass was still half-full with a liquid. Another had food stains inside. But both had the liltle cardboard covers on them, like they were just put out fresh and clean! Housekeeping was still on the floor so we handed the glassware right back out to her. She gave us other glassware, but we avoided using it as we were afraid they might not really be clean either.
The wireless internet was free for Marriott Rewards members. Otherwise there was a $10 charge per day. So join if you're going to stay - it's free to join.
The beds were comfy. (I'd prefer a firmer mattress, but these were a medium to soft firmness. I guess you can't please everyone on that issue!) Lots of pillows, bolsters, a comforter. Everything in white, which really made us feel like it was clean. Very nice touch.
The TV in the room was a large flat screen. Ours worked great. Other relatives at the property had an issue with the picture-in-picture feature.
Everything worked fine in the bathroom too.
Parking was free and plentiful in a very large lot all around the bldg.
Wish they had a breakfast in the lobby. One morning we went out. Another rainy morning we stayed in the hotel and went to their Houlihan's restaurant on the 1st floor. The breakfast buffet was $12.95 per person. Lots to choose from, but a bit more expensive than what we really needed. The food was all good and came with a funny character who cooked terrific omelets to order. Jokes were free and she was enjoyable.
One evening several of us wanted to play dominoes, so went down to the lobby to look for a table and chairs. We found a low backgammon table in the lobby set between some really worn and stained chairs. One chair was aleady occupied, so we continued looking. The only other common tables were in the pool area, so that's where we sat to play our domino game.
There's a great little sports bar across from the hotel entrance on the other side of Flint Road. Can't find the receipt, so not sure of the name. But the pizza was terrific! Great beer specials. Lots of tvs with sports events on. But not too loud.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlemontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed 1 night before early am flight and parked my car for 10 days, no extra charge. Airport shuttle included both ways, timely & courteous drivers. Room was comfy and very clean and tastefully decorated. Gym/pool/hot tub lovely and spotless. Staff helpful and made excellent recommendations for Buffalo Wings, shops/amenities in the area. Will def do this again next time... Superb value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaWaMiDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

This property does not live up to the Marriott name. Service is extremely bad. From the front desk staff to the operator to the cashier at the starbucks/gift shop, don't set any expectations. They won't be met. The management must not make their staff aware that customer satisfaction is what keeps a property in business and in demand. It became acutely obvious that this property uses its proximity to the University of Buffalo as its core business. There was an all hands on deck welcome and fanfare for the football team which came in this weekend. Guess the business travellers aren't important enough to warrant service, take my advice and stay somewhere, anywhere else, this property will disappoint you very quickly. Little things like restocking amenities don't happen as I found out when there wasn't any coffee or shampoo this morning.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adventurerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We just wanted to let you know that we have staff on 24 hours a day to try and meet your requests when something is needed. Unfortunatley, there may be a time when something is inadvertently forgotten but anyone of our staff members will be happy to retrieve whatever you desire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Property: Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Address: 1340 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14221-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing