We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service- comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Staff was very friendly, the room was nice but a little small. The linens were very nice quality, matress comforable.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PtboCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Marriott Niagara
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 829 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2010

Have stayed here several times - always consistent. Fairly large room, comfortable bed, modern bathroom with products from Bath and Bodyworks, indoor and outdoor pools. Convenient parking, no matter what time of day or night - there is always lots of space. Great location to access Buffalo area shopping.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leica01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2010

I stayed here with my Mother while in town for a concert at the University at Buffalo. Also did some sight-seeing over in Canada. So this location was very convenient for us. Our check in went easily - even were able to get our room moved to be nearer to some other family members also staying at this property.
We found our room to be clean, with the exception of the glassware. One glass was still half-full with a liquid. Another had food stains inside. But both had the liltle cardboard covers on them, like they were just put out fresh and clean! Housekeeping was still on the floor so we handed the glassware right back out to her. She gave us other glassware, but we avoided using it as we were afraid they might not really be clean either.
The wireless internet was free for Marriott Rewards members. Otherwise there was a $10 charge per day. So join if you're going to stay - it's free to join.
The beds were comfy. (I'd prefer a firmer mattress, but these were a medium to soft firmness. I guess you can't please everyone on that issue!) Lots of pillows, bolsters, a comforter. Everything in white, which really made us feel like it was clean. Very nice touch.
The TV in the room was a large flat screen. Ours worked great. Other relatives at the property had an issue with the picture-in-picture feature.
Everything worked fine in the bathroom too.
Parking was free and plentiful in a very large lot all around the bldg.
Wish they had a breakfast in the lobby. One morning we went out. Another rainy morning we stayed in the hotel and went to their Houlihan's restaurant on the 1st floor. The breakfast buffet was $12.95 per person. Lots to choose from, but a bit more expensive than what we really needed. The food was all good and came with a funny character who cooked terrific omelets to order. Jokes were free and she was enjoyable.
One evening several of us wanted to play dominoes, so went down to the lobby to look for a table and chairs. We found a low backgammon table in the lobby set between some really worn and stained chairs. One chair was aleady occupied, so we continued looking. The only other common tables were in the pool area, so that's where we sat to play our domino game.
There's a great little sports bar across from the hotel entrance on the other side of Flint Road. Can't find the receipt, so not sure of the name. But the pizza was terrific! Great beer specials. Lots of tvs with sports events on. But not too loud.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugarlemontee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Stayed 1 night before early am flight and parked my car for 10 days, no extra charge. Airport shuttle included both ways, timely & courteous drivers. Room was comfy and very clean and tastefully decorated. Gym/pool/hot tub lovely and spotless. Staff helpful and made excellent recommendations for Buffalo Wings, shops/amenities in the area. Will def do this again next time... Superb value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaWaMiDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2010

This property does not live up to the Marriott name. Service is extremely bad. From the front desk staff to the operator to the cashier at the starbucks/gift shop, don't set any expectations. They won't be met. The management must not make their staff aware that customer satisfaction is what keeps a property in business and in demand. It became acutely obvious that this property uses its proximity to the University of Buffalo as its core business. There was an all hands on deck welcome and fanfare for the football team which came in this weekend. Guess the business travellers aren't important enough to warrant service, take my advice and stay somewhere, anywhere else, this property will disappoint you very quickly. Little things like restocking amenities don't happen as I found out when there wasn't any coffee or shampoo this morning.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurerplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. We just wanted to let you know that we have staff on 24 hours a day to try and meet your requests when something is needed. Unfortunatley, there may be a time when something is inadvertently forgotten but anyone of our staff members will be happy to retrieve whatever you desire.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

My family of 5 stayed in a regular room. The furnishings were beautiful and the beds super comfy. We arrived very early and the courteous staff checked us in right away. We ordered a roll-away bed (which fit perfectly by the window) and it was delivered right away along with extra towels. It is just a short drive to the falls, Don't pay the expensive hotel rates to stay in Niagra Falls on the American side. It's definitely not worth it and you can't even see them. Stay in perfect comfort at this Marriott and save your money for the Falls attractions. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethT43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2010

If this hotel is in NYC or other big cities, prepare to pay over $300. It is very close to Niagara Falls. If you are a budget-minded traveler and plan to come to see the Niagara Falls, this is a good place to give yourself a treat.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
Thank TravelBlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $146 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, a centrally located hotel in Amherst, New York situated off the 290 expressway, within walking distance of the State University of New York at Buffalo North campus. Our Buffalo hotel is also moments from Niagara Falls, Buffalo Niagara International Airport and the waterfront in downtown Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing