We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thin walls, good luck sleeping!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I have stayed at some high end hotels so I guess this is no Sheraton, but I guess I was expecting a little more of a Marriott Chain. Horrible experience!! The walls are so thin between rooms good luck trying to sleep, or you hear the doors slamming from outside the hall way. Being that I was there for a week of software training this hotel was just terrible. The noise from the AC too felt like a train coming through the room.

The pub/restaurant - don't eat there!! As part of our conference we were told the food was included only to get a menu in the room that said $9.50 for beef dip but by the time all was said and done the check came to $18 bucks for lunch. New flash. I could have gone to subway or pizza hut and had a much better lunch for half the cost! It's just when you take 18 X 3 people for lunch is beyond pricey!!

A colleague of mine had a HAIR in her beef dip. They didn't even come back and say they'd credit or give anything of the bill. DISGUSTING. The rooms were clean but not that clean finding other peoples hairs in the bed is kind of disgusting. The fridge inside was also had this moldy stain in the back it was SICK!!!!

Never used the pool/hot tub area so can't comment looked fine. Coffee in the little store was $4.50 was a little taken back by that. Only did that once. Tim Hortons the rest of the time. All in all, would never stay at this hotel as well the staff were not that friendly....except for the bell boys/drivers...they were exceptional.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank ridersfan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (841)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 841 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2010

Hotel was ok but nothing special, older and needs updating. I stayed 3 nights and returned from my job on the second night to find clothes I had left on the floor missing. Called housekeeping and they came by that night and did not know the whereabouts. Said they would contact management and have them contact me in the morning. No one contacted me and I had to follow up on my own. Ended up speaking with the housekeeping manager twice (both times i had to initiate the call) and am still waiting for a call from the GM. It has been over a week now and no one seems to know where my clothes went. I don't expect to see my clothes again but will be writing to corporate regarding this.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
Thank moids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

This hotel is clean, with good rooms, and comfy beds. Also, has free self parking. The hotel is a few miles away from the airport, and close to the freeway however you do not hear any noise what so ever!

The hotel is in between the Walden Galleria and Prime outlet mall.

I would stay here again over some of the other hotels I've stayed at in the Buffalo region.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2010

This hotel had an excellent mattress, flat screen TV, nice toiletries, very quiet, large room but it is a rather anonymous large-scale hotel. Would be perfect for the business traveler. Restaurant is mediocre.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeeinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

We stayed one night on our way from Buffalo to Toronto and were very pleased. The service was outstanding. The front desk workers were friendly and very helpful (couldn't initially find our reservation... my fault, not theirs... but the clerk was so helpful and patient). The room was very clean and quiet. The bed was kind of squeaky, which only mattered to us because we have two young kids we didn't want to wake up. We ate breakfast at the hotel the next morning and it was fairly good, but again the service was excellent. Our waitress was friendly, attentive, and great with the kids. We will be staying another night on our return trip from Toronto and are looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACFB34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We've stayed here twice now and we have no complaints.

The room was clean as a whistle and the bed very comfortable.

The food and the service at this hotel are very good and very reasonable compared to dining out at other area resteraunts. The staff are very pleasant and eager to please.


One thing we did notice on this trip was no fridge in the room and a few of the bathroom ammenities were not the same as last time, however we probably figured due to the economic downturn, costs were cut...so it was no biggie. If you needed something, they would gladly and efficiently supply.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KasiaCz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2010

I have stayed at this Hotel several times and if you are flying out of Buffalo Airport it's a great deal...free parking! The Hotel is a bit tired and the walls are a bit thin however the beds are very comfy and the staff is very accomodating. They have a free shuttle to the Airport which is only about 15 minutes away and runs regularily.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martymnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Address: 1340 Millersport Highway, Amherst, NY 14221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#7 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $120 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, a centrally located hotel in Amherst, New York situated off the 290 expressway, within walking distance of the State University of New York at Buffalo North campus. Our Buffalo hotel is also moments from Niagara Falls, Buffalo Niagara International Airport and the waterfront in downtown Buffalo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing