We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent hotel with a nice view from the upper floors” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an excellent hotel with a nice view from the upper floors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

the hotel was excellent. the room was big with a welcomeing abiente. in the hotel there is a rather large gym available with clean training gear. the morning buffet offers a wide range of food and the fruits are fresh.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are happy you had the opportunity to experience what the Buffalo Marriott has to offer. We appreciate your business and your time. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    310
    127
    35
    37
See reviews for
265
159
31
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Our family (wife, my self and 2 kids 5 and 7) stayed again on this Marriott on Saturday,
November 2nd.

We crossed the border to buy some baby items and decided to spend the night to make it a mini vacation.

I always get this Marriott via Priceline.

Differently from previous stays (when I used to pay CAN 60.00 + priceline taxes), I paid way more, CAN 92.00 + taxes, probably because there was a football game that weekend and the hotel was pretty full.

This is a very nice hotel, with an indoor pool (at this time of the year), hot tub and nice fitness room.

Our room had 2 queen beds as requested and everything was in perfect working order. Sleep was very comfortable.

Breakfast next day was a little bit on the expensive side and we were sad to see Jeannie not working there anymore. We were told she had a surgery but should be coming back soon.

I keep recommending this hotel but what I paid this time would be my limit. You can get cheaper hotels in buffalo or Armherst if all you want to have is a clean room to spend the night. the fact it doesn't include breakfast and with a family of 4, it adds another 50.00 to a night stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 311, no complaints at all with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilo_Lellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your being a returning customer and look forward to your next stay. We appreciate you! Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

When I stay in the western NY area for business, I usually stay here. It is convenient to the airport and is a full service Marriott with a concierge lounge. I like to have that amenity as I find it convenient not having to order room service or find a breakfast place in the morning as I usually just want toast and coffee.

With that said, the rooms and hotel are clean enough, the staff nice and efficient enough, but that is about it, it is a good enough place to stay, nothing outstanding. Would I stay here again, probably yes but have been considering another Marriott property like the Courtyard or Residence Inn next time for comparison.

Room Tip: It is more convenient If you have status and can get a room on the concierge floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lmprx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, the property is fortunate that 75% of our business comes from that of rewards members and does its best to accommodate all requests such as rooms on the concierge floor. We appreciate your time and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really enjoyed this hotel. It appears recently refreshed - the rooms and linens are nice (only complaint would be the pillows were a bit hard for me but my husband had no issue with them). The lobby bar is really nice and quite modern looking with a beautiful fire place. Great indoor/outdoor pool (outdoor part obviously currently closed - but we will be back in warmer months to give it a try). The staff are great and offer shuttle service within a 5 mile radius when they are not engaged in airport pick-up/drop-offs. So gives lots of options for going out for dinner without a designated driver (give Black and Blue a try). They will also drop you off for shopping. If not too much more go for the bkfast included rate as you can order off menu or indulge in a fairly good buffet - makes for good value. Free parking/free WIFI and happy hour Mon-Fri, just off the highway - easy to get to and close to great shoppinng! What else could you ask for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathP027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are glad you had the opportunity to see what the Buffalo Marriott has to offer. Thanks for your time and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Average Marriott. Parking and WIFI were both free (as they should be). Staff were friendly. The lobby is well appointed with a café serving Starbucks drinks and ice cream.

The fire alarm went off at 3AM which was really disappointing. Didn't make for a good night's sleep.

Also, I found a nasty hair on one of the towels in the shower. Gross! However, I can appreciate that it sometimes happens. Otherwise, the room was clean and modern.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank netgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff and we apologize for the fire alarm sounding during your stay. This is a life safety device which was triggered by someone smoking in their guest room. In this case it was nothing serious but unfortunately a necessity as we cannot always control what guests may sometimes do in their rooms. We appreciate your time and your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, CT
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We had a special occasion in Buffalo this past weekend and stayed at the Marriott in Amherst. The hotel was the perfect place for all of us to stay. Centrally located for our activities and perfect for those who walk, jog, etc.with UB across the street. Dining room was fine, but the silverware is the worse silverware ever. Contemporary and Pretty to see on the table, but you cannot hold the fork or cut with the night. Server said they get complaints all the time and to write an email to the manager. I did and she brought us "room service" silverware! Service was good, however a couple of the people from our group went for lunch and walked out because they never got their meals. Very slow. The worse part of the hotel.....maid service. Our event was at 5:00, had to leave at 4:00 and none of our rooms were cleaned until 3:00 or after....and that was after many phones calls and talking to the manager. Maid rolling carts on floor....no maids to be seen. I have never been in a hotel where so many rooms are not cleaned until that late. I must say our overall stay was pleasant and the staff was very accommodating, but I think the maid service needs to be looked at....maybe too many breaks? Too long a lunch?

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank sammaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff and we apologize for any inconvenience that occurred. Housekeeping works the day shift from 8am until 5pm and has to balance the cleaning of stay overs along with checkouts to accommodate requests and early arrivals. If at anytime you need your room serviced at you can call the desk for the staff to take care of for you. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, MI
Level Contributor
214 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

Tim was setting up Salon A for the next morning's meeting (everything was perfect). Krista checked me in gave me free Internet! I'm only a Marriott Silver member and most Marriotts make you beg for free Internet (and then half say "no" anyhow). Krista put a sticker on my key packet that said the hotel appreciated its guests and to please enjoy the free Internet. I think it's free to everyone there in the common areas and perhaps the guest rooms. The hotel is nice. The bistro has great food. Jeanine gave me a coffee coupon the next morning (she's the banquet captain and it was a delight to be given a free cup of coffee). Darrell supplied and checked on ice water several times and was very charming. He also emptied the trash in the meeting room at the break. I love it when hotels do little things like that - it makes a meeting so much more pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank professordoctormom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for all of the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are fortunate to have one of the top 100 service staffs in all of Marriott and yes the little things make the difference. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Property: Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Address: 1340 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14221-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing