We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“always a treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“always a treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I use this hotel all the time... the staff is great and the facilities are wonderfull from indoor/outdoor pool, to just about anything you wish.... its close to just about every mall of any importance, and tons of places for meals, Central to everything

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stanley51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for all of the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    301
    120
    35
    37
See reviews for
257
157
31
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in the Buffalo Marriott for a shopping trip for the second time. Both times I bid using priceline for a 59 dollar rate. The walk-in rate for a room the same weekend was 136. Two double bed renovated room. Customer service was kind and friendly. The downside was the walk to the elevators if you park by the main entrance. Tip - check in and leave your family in the car, then drive to the other side where the rooms are. The lobby is lively and the hotel is very centrally located. I also recommend the Original Pancake House at 2075 Niagara Falls Blvd nearby for breakfast.

The morning we left my daughter lost my wedding ring in our room. We looked for two hours and had no luck. We checked out and I let them know what had happened and Sharon and her staff called me that afternoon to let me know they found it! They took special care to find a way for us to get it back. The personal touch meant a great deal and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The hotel only has two double beds or king.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank js802002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for the positve feedback which we will be sharing with the staff. We are also glad we were able to locate the lost ring as you can put no amount of value on a special item such as that. When the hotel was constructed 30 years ago they decided to locate the rooms in the rear and the high energy nightclub in the front so the guests would not be affected by the noise. The desk will always remind the customer where to park but the seperation of the rooms from the bar area definitely helps for a great nights sleep. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
891 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I rated this place as excellent during my last review however after a repeat visit this place has gone downhill. First of all if you are a Marriott elite or platinum member forget any recognition being given at this hotel. Second the pool and fitness area were the dirtiest I have ever seen in my life. Mold floating in puddles of water alongside the pool, dirty towels and food particles on the floor, no fresh clean towels for guests to use by the pool area, and the fitness room was not well serviced as well. People were walking with their boots on in the pool area to get changed in the washrooms then going into the pool. Why do they need to do that if they were guests of the hotel and could change in their own room, hmmm....perhaps they were not guests and people just off the street using the facilities for free. No one is checking so why not, huh? The breakfast buffet was sad to say the least. The toaster did not work, the food items were either stale nor edible. Service at the restaurant was excellent though.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. If at anytime you find anything to be unsatisfactory please let us know so we may correct. We appreciate your business. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I have stayed here once before, and my previous review said this was a nice quiet hotel. I had a different experience this visit. It seemed much more noisy. I could hear everytime a neighboring room used the bathroom facilities, and I felt as if there were people talking in the hallways constantly. Also, both my husband and I kept hearing an electrical sound (like a hotel room lock unlocking/ or a camera lense focusing) in our room. It was very creepy. The bathroom is way way too small. Barely enough room to move around. While we were there, Buffalo got several inches of snow. It would have been nice if they plowed or at the very least shoveled so I didnt have to walk through knee deep snow every time I came or went. Cleaning of the room, ok--not great, and could have been better, but not disgusting. The best part was the Starbucks inside the hotel, but they dont take your Starbucks card, and I never got a smile no matter when I went.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weglow4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for all the feedback regarding your stay and we apologize it wasn't as up to par as your previous stay was. If at anytime during your stay you have a concern, please feel free to bring it to our attention so we may address. Unfortunately, the day you are speaking of, the area expereince almost 8 inches of continuos snow fall. The property and plow service did try to stay on top of but as fast as we were removing it was still falling. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here last month instead of our usual hotel because we got a fabulous deal on the internet. I never considered staying here because it was always too expensive. We were really happy with the stay. The rooms are very comfortable and not too small like most hotels. The staff was friendly and accomodating. We will stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tafferdills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for all the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. We are glad you had a wonderful stay. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Really nice hotel. It was very clean and well appointed. We found it very quiet. We went for a shopping trip and it was very centrally located to a lot of the shopping. We would definitely stay again. The bed was comfortable and there was very good hook ups for all the electronics. Very good temperature controls as well

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room on a quiet floor. We were worried as there were several buses when we ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canmac1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for all of the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, we are centrally located to shopping, Niagara Falls and the University of Buffalo. See you on your next trip! Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I have stayed here many times. This is the first time I visited after the lobby and bar remodel. Very well done.
If you have kids, they will love the pool that spans inside and out (weather permitting). This site is very close to the University of Buffalo Amherst Campus.
Although not a luxury property, You won't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whirled_Twaveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, the lobby, bar and restaurant renovations look great and we are glad you had the opportunity to experience them. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Property: Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Address: 1340 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14221-2992
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing