We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved the Hotel”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was there for just one night while i wrapped up my Christmas shopping at the near by malls. This was my first time at that particular hotel and it was great. The staff was nice and most importantly the rooms were very clean. What i loved most about the hotel is that they provide driving directions to all the near by malls and they also have the directions back to the hotel which i thought was really good. I would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabreenaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for all of the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, the hotel is centrally located for shopping and travel and were glad you were able to take advantage of that. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    322
    129
    35
    38
See reviews for
271
163
32
236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Check in was quick and painless, no extra chit chat here.
Room was clean, bed comfortable, pillows for once in a hotel, plentiful and comfortable - not like bags of wet oatmeal.

Bathroom, clean, but tiny.
Others have noted the noise of the doors closing. If left to shut on their own, they will slam. Simply closing them by hand makes it much quieter for your neighbors!

Booked through HotWire, and received a very good price.

Room Tip: BE WARNED: if you are on the first three floors and face the front of the hotel, check out what is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CNDLOOKIN4SUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for all of the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel...clean, updated, in a great location. i have stayed at this hotel many times. The location is 5 min from the Boulevard mall, and 7 min from Walden Galleria. The hotel has a nice pool...in the summer it has an outdoor pool connected to the indoor pool. Rooms are clean and beds are comfy. Yes, the front desk is a bit far from the rooms, but they always remind you to pull around to the tower and park there. They also have a shuttle to the airport and plenty of parking to leave the car when flying out of BNIA....

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank toteach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for all the positive feedbacklregarding your stay which we will be sharing with our staff. Were glad you had the opportunity to experience the Marriott way. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

This hotel is very busy, lots going on, but the rooms and service are great, the staff is friendly and helpful. The location is perfect for any business with the University of Buffalo.

The only inconvenience is that it's quite a hike from the front desk to the room elevators.

They have a free airport shuttle, and can also take you to local restaurants and theaters if you are without transportation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for all the positive feedback regarding your stay which we will be sharing with our staff. This hotel is fortunate to be busy all year round due its location and the Marriott standards that our customers have come to expect. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I met relatives in Buffalo for a overnight visit and chose the Marriott Buffalo Niagara figuring it would be a full service Marriott...a step above the typical "Marriott Courtyard" experience. We were wrong. Perhaps the Marriott corporate officers needs to revisit what exactly a "full service" Marriott's purpose is. There are so many different types of Marriot hotel options. Where does this Marriott fit in? A full service Marriot used to be something special. This one reminded me of a typical no service hotel like the Fairfield Inn, Springhill Suites, Courtyard, etc. Ok, let's begin with what was good. The room was adequate in size, attractively decorated with a contemporary flair, quiet and clean. The bed linens were FANTASTIC! High quality, soft and comfortable. Internet service good, though not particularly fast. Looked as if the furniture is new...chairs comfortable. Now the bad....The weekend breakfast buffet which has traditionally been OUTSTANDING in EVERY Marriott I have ever been to, was sooooo disappointing. It was a tiny step above the typical free breakfast you could find at a Red Roof Inn. They did offer an omlette station...but having the woman yelling out, "OMLETTE READY" every three minutes to customers who had returned to their seats was a total turn off and not classy at all!! She seemed overwhelmed and sweaty...working in this tiny area alone. My omlette was tasteless probably because they use an "egg mixture", not real eggs. The remaining foods included "watery" scrambled eggs, waffles (also no flavor), bacon, sausage, fruit in bowls, a variety of breads and breakfast cereals. Many items needed to be refilled and the areas around them wiped down so the food would look attractive. The building itself was attractive, but it looked as if a convention center was an add on to a basic building...accounting for the long hike from the front desk to the elevators that take you up to the guest rooms. This is a good place to stay if you need to be close to the University of Buffalo. The overall experience was adequate, but not quite what I had expected.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rummy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. As a full service hotel we offer an array of amenities that include a pool, business center, lobby store, Starbucks, bar and restuarant with an attended omlette and waffle station. If at anytime during your stay you have a concern, please feel free to seek out a member of our staff. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Was at this hotel recently for a couple's weekend. For the entire weekend, the lobby was completely taken over by people attending an AA convention. It was hard even walking from the elevator lobby to the front desk, To make matters worse, there was a group of no less than 10-20 people from the convention smoking constantly at the back entrance. The smoking was so heavy that the stench of smoke could be felt all the way in the elevator lobby and the main hallways. Many hotels now have rules that prohibit smoking within 30 feet of the entrances. Whether this hotel had any such rules, certainly they were not being enforced.
I have been to many conventions and been at many hotels during a convention. The hotels usually keep the convention separate from the common areas for the sake of travelers that have nothing to with the convention crowd.
So while, our room was nice and comfortable, were not able to enjoy this hotel's lobby, and other amenities while there, thanks to this situation.

Room Tip: make sure there is no convention here before booking it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManofTastes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you providing feedback regarding your stay and we apologize for any inconvenience that was caused. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night whlst shopping in the area.
Staff very friendly and helpful
Beds wonderful,and rooms spotless.
Large inviting indoor ,outdoor pool.
2 large malls close by,as well as many eating spots.
Lobby has delightful coffee shop,
Certain days free continental breakfast and free happy hour snacks.
Great rate with hotmail.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for all of the posirve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Were glad you had the opportunity to experience the Marriott way. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Property: Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Address: 1340 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14221-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing