We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
toronto
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very comfortable hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for one night whlst shopping in the area.
Staff very friendly and helpful
Beds wonderful,and rooms spotless.
Large inviting indoor ,outdoor pool.
2 large malls close by,as well as many eating spots.
Lobby has delightful coffee shop,
Certain days free continental breakfast and free happy hour snacks.
Great rate with hotmail.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moggey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for all of the posirve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Were glad you had the opportunity to experience the Marriott way. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    315
    128
    35
    37
See reviews for
267
161
32
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
985 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 569 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here many times however we just experienced the newly renovated areas of this hotel. While the rooms remain the same good Marriott quality and main lobby and restaurant have been renovated to great standards. The fitness room is very well stocked with Life Fitness brand machines, my favorite! Great buffet breakfast and very reasonable. $16 for adults and $8 for children. I found our room to be very well ventilated and cool all night and the beds were very comfortable. This is now my favorite hotel of choice in Buffalo. We will return again. Great job to the management and staff of the Buffalo Marriott.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank FirstClass001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for all the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. This property was installed with the Marriott Great Lobby experience which offers the guest areas to work, relax, eat and drink without having to leave the property. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Thoroughly dissapointing experience. This forlorne relic of the seventies has no spirit or soul. The front desk was manned by humourless unhelpful robots.
To get to the room one had to walk miles of convention centre hallways and, at the end of the journey, there is absolutly no room with a view...the rooms are standard, clean but not exceptional. The matress is "memory foam" which must have remembered the previous guest as I woke up with a backache.
Next time in Buffalo, I will try another hotel...thank you.

Room Tip: To spare yourself the walking, you can park at the back and also ask for a room near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Interliner_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. When the building was constructed there was a high enery nightclub near the front desk. The premise was to build the guest rooms in a tower away from the club to try and not disturb our guests. This room location assures our guests won't be disturbed by any events taking place in other areas. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Overall the visit was good, the room was clean and bedding very comfortable.  We also were treated very well by the front desk staff.  We did however have some concerns regarding the noise level in the hotel.  Per a lot of the other trip advisor comments, you can hear the noise from the hallway very clearly which was disturbing.  This was especially annoying in the morning when our neighbour's children were running between rooms and slamming the doors repeatedly.  Eventually, I had to get up and ask them to stop even though there was a maid cleaning a room in the same hallway.
One nice thing was that the hotel followed up with our visit shortly after us leaving.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TdotGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for the noise issues you encountered. As we can't always control what each and every guest will do upon notification we will try and address your concerns. Have a great dat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I chose the Buffalo Marriott Niagara to host our out-of-town wedding guests this past June. We blocked off a large group of rooms at a negotiated rate. Everything went smoothly with the Marriott until the wedding day, when they completely dropped the ball TWICE. First, we were promised shuttle service for our guests from the hotel to the wedding venue, only to find out on the day of the wedding (with 15 guests expecting a ride) that they don't provide that service. Second, we were assured that the hotel bar would be open and happy to accommodate an after-party following our reception, only to find that the bar was closed when we showed up 40-plus people. Here's the details for those that are interested:

1. SHUTTLE SERVICE: We were told that the hotel shuttle's main purpose is to take guests to the airport for flights, but that they were willing to provide the shuttle service to locations within 5 miles of the hotel as long as it didn't conflict with airport trips. So, we moved forward planning our wedding based on this information, and we had 15 hotel guests who were relying on the Marriott for rides from the hotel to the wedding venue. When we called the hotel on the morning of the wedding, they said they had no idea what we were talking about. They said that we were given incorrect information, and that they do not provide shuttle service anywhere but to the airport. While it may have been true that a rogue staff member gave us bad info, the Marriott 1)Took absolutely no responsibility for the sales person's mistake (we barely got an apology), and 2) Did absolutely nothing to help us solve the problem. They washed their hands of the situation and let us deal with it ourselves. So, we were forced scramble and pay our limo driver for an hour of overtime (at $250 an hour) to transport our stranded wedding guests from the Marriott to the wedding venue. While the Marriott staff could correctly claim that we were not wronged according to their "hotel policies", it was really striking how little care or concern they showed for the significant mistake their staff member made when she gave us incorrect information.

2. HOTEL BAR: After the wedding was over, we were planning to come back to the Marriott and have an after-party in their hotel restaurant/bar. In our discussions with hotel staff leading up to the event, they assured us that the bar would be open and they would be happy to accommodate our party of 40-plus people. So as our wedding reception ended (at a location about 10 minutes down the street from the Marriott), we announced to everyone that we would be meeting up for a post-wedding gathering at the Marriott. As we were packing up to head for the Marriott, we got calls from guests who had already gone to the Marriott to find that the BAR WAS CLOSED! So we had an entire wedding reception heading for a bar that was closed. We called the front desk to plead and negotiate for them to keep the bar open, but they refused. The excuse was that they "reserve the right to close early" if the bar is not busy. But, assuming they actually listened to our requests when we reserved our block of rooms, they KNEW we were coming! From a purely business standpoint, why would you close the bar when 40-50 people are coming to drink?! Let alone the lack of care and concern for our needs as their customers. When we called to explain our situation that night, the front desk person was standoffish, unhelpful and bordering on disrespectful (this is the night of June 16th, 2012, around 11:30pm). Again, there was barely an apology, and ABSOLUTELY no effort to find someone to work the bar or somehow re-open it for us. And we were lead to believe that the bar had closed literally minutes before our guests started arriving. There's NOTHING they could've done to re-open the bar? Please. So we were once again left to fend for ourselves and re-route an entire party of wedding guests to another location for our after-party.

I'm usually not a fan of talking negatively online about businesses. But I think this is an important story to share, both for other potential Marriott guest to hear and the Marriott staff themselves. Maybe the staff doesn't fully understand what happened or how it happened. But the consistent theme from my experience was a total lack of care and commitment to customer service. And it's especially personal and emotional when it happens on your wedding day. I waited a couple months after my wedding to write this review so that I could communicate it rationally and present facts instead of ranting and raving. But I still find my blood boiling as a I recount the experience, and I'm still deeply offended at the way the hotel handled themselves. I think both of these situations could have been avoided if the Marriott took any time at all to prepare for our event, communicate internally with their staff about our expectations, or even just CALL US before the event to make sure we were taken care of. They did none of the above, and it lead to these two awful situations. BUYER BEWARE: this is not a hotel that cares about helping you, so be careful relying on them for important events or important needs.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and we apologize for any miscommunication regarding our standands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked a room last minute using an express deal on Priceline and was not disappointed. It was very easy to find, right off of 290, you cannot miss it! The room was clean, comfortable and the staff was great. There was also a large banquet area/convention center downstairs. The only wierd thing was that you had to walk through the convention center to get to and from the lobby to the room elevators, which was kind of odd, having to walk through someone's convention. I don't usually have an occasion to stay in Buffalo, but the next time I do go this will be my go to hotel!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jedixtine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for all of the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. When the building was constructed there was a high energy nightclub near the front desk. We think the premise was to keep the guestrooms away from that area so the customer would not be affected by the sounds from the club. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just got back from a wonderful stay at this hotel. Our room was spacious and very clean. We enjoyed the hot tub area. Exceptional customer service from Broderick at the front desk, both when we arrived and departed. We would definitely choose this hotel and location again. We didn't eat breakfast but the Starbucks coffee was good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patnmkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for all the positve feedback regarding your stay which we will be sharing with our staff. This property is consistantly ranked high within the Marriott brand for our customer service and were glad you had the chance to experience it. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Property: Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Address: 1340 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14221-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing