We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Price and Convenient for the Falls” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Price and Convenient for the Falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

The location is good for the price especially if you are planning to visit Niagara Falls and not able to find a convenient hotel at the falls. Most hotels around the falls are expensive and may not as good service and amenities. But the Buffalo Marriott is a good bet and is value for money. Our overall experience was very good. We had minimal interaction with the staff and it was always pleasant. The rooms were decent size and had a refrigerator which was an incentive for us to put the baby food and milk in there. The only flip-side of staying here is that you don't have free continental breakfast and free WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pkotcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for all the positve fedback which we will be sharing with our staff. As a full service hotel with a bar & restaurant we do not provide a complimentary breakfast. Marriott offers other limited service brands such as Fairfileds and Courtyards who provide that amenity. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    310
    127
    35
    37
See reviews for
265
159
31
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Great location, nice hotel. Staff was extremely courteous and helpful. Restaurant was delicious and not over priced. Kind of stupid the way the check in is so far away from where you need to go to get to your rooms. I frankly did not feel safe, traveling as a woman alone, with the way the entry from the rear of the building is open during the day to anyone--especially since it is right next to the elevators up to the rooms. Better security would help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xenatravels39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. The building was designed and opened 30 years ago and the premise was to locate the bar and restaurant in the front of the building with the guest rooms in the rear. The goal was to prevent noise concerns and cut down on traffic. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here one night during a shopping trip to Buffalo with my husband. We had limited interaction with the staff but the lady who checked us in seemed nice, she was smiling and very efficient. The room was typical for a Marriott. It was very clean but starting to show signs of aging. I had read in other reviews that the beds are soft and pillows are too small. Our bed was pretty soft, but wasn't so soft that it was uncomfortable for us. And yes, the pillows are a smaller than normal size, but not so small you can't sleep on them! And they were super comfortable! We both had a really good nights sleep. There was a charge for wifi in the room, but free wifi in the lobby. The gym is actually a really decent size for a hotel with a lot of equipment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubiksgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for all of the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I moved to Buffalo for eight months. While looking for a place to live, I was able to get a room here at a great price. My wife and I enjoyed the pool and the bar Hoolihans (which no longer exists). They made excellent drinks. To me it had a very fance feel to it and the pool area was nice. After that visit, I always made it a point to get my guests rooms there. They too enjoyed the pool. Across the street from the Marriott was a Santorrah's pizza (sp?). It was nice to go there and socialize and then stumble back to the hotel. If I had a complaint it was the fact that the Internet service was $10 per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhenium769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for all of the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Yes, Houlihans has been replaced with the new BlueFire Bar & Grill serving Buffalo favorites along with American cuisine. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed there for two weeks. Each week I had a problem, ranging from having no refrigerator placed in my room (its in my Marriott preferences) and then having to ask twice for it, to the concierge running out of food. They are not very good at paying attention to the little details that quite often make a stay nice. The concierge attendants, by the way, are very inattentive except for one, Allie! At night they put don't even care enough to take the crackers out of the wrappers! Just below average in many ways!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for the feedback and the great comments about Allie which we will be sharing with the staff. As you know the premise of the concierge lounge is to provide snack foods after hours so guests can come in, sit, relax and hang out. The hotel tries to anticipate how many guests may visit the area but on any given night that may change. With that said we try to not put out too much food at once in order to maintain the freshest product possible. We also leave items like the crackers in the wrapper to also maintain freshness and cleanliness. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

we booked this hotel last minute and it was a great place to stay. Marriotts are a good chain if you dont have time to read reviews. The hotel room was clean and the bed was comfy and thats all we needed!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tymchakers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for all the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel one night while doing some shopping and sightseeing in the region. Hotel is in a great location, just off one of the major highways. Lots of free parking and close to a lot of restaurant options on Niagara falls blvd (a 5 minute drive).

Room was very clean and renovated. Bed was comfortable but noise insulation not at the level it should be. Hallway conversations sound like they are inside your door! Fortunately the other guests settled in after about midnight so noise didn't keep us awake too long, just really shocked at how easily noise travels from the hallway into the rooms (and if you can hear everything in the hall, chances are everyone in the hall can hear you.....).

Good location, very clean - would have been even better if it weren't for the noise.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YYZtotheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marriott-Mgt, General Manager at Buffalo Marriott Niagara, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for all of the positve feedback which we will be sharing with our staff. If at any time you have a noise issue please call and let us know so we can try and address the situation. Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Marriott Niagara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Marriott Niagara

Property: Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Address: 1340 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14221-2992
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Amherst
#8 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Marriott Niagara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Buffalo Marriott Niagara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffalo Marriott Niagara Hotel Amherst
Marriott Hotel Amherst
Marriott Amherst
Amherst Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing