We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like having no sleep, this is the place for you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed October 16, 2009

We arrived in Buffalo, and we were looking forward to a quiet evening in a nice suite equipped with a full kitchen. There was some noise from people walking on the floor above, but it was minimal for a time. Then the noise really began. It was as if elephants were pounding on the floor above. The floor lights and windows in our room started to shake. We called the main desk to complain, and were assured that the noise would stop. It did for about one hour. By that time we went to sleep. We awoke two hours later to tremendous thumps and crashes. It sounded like the people above were moving heavy furniture--at three o'clock in the morning. I called again to no avail. The elephants had won. We got up and packed. I gave the night clerk a piece of my mind. At least, she did the right thing. Our stay was free. But I would have preferred the sleep. We had a nine-hour drive ahead of us.

It turned out that the culprits were two teenage girls. Teenagers are not known for their empathy, but the management of this motel did nothing to deal with the situation, and they are just as guilty.

I couldn't get away from this motel fast enough.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
3  Thank OhioTravelingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 258 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2009

Like everyone, I must agree this is a nice hotel. It's also one of the only hotels I've found in upstate NY that is not stuck next to the highway. One issue I have with the rooms is that the builders apparently chose not to use particle board between the floors. Instead I'm guessing they used some sort of tin or similar product. There is a very unique metallic sound that resonates into your room from above. In building 13, anytime the person above me would step the sound carried through to our room. My companion, who is a heavy sleeper, even woke up because of the ceiling noise. Having said that, I would stay here again, just never again on the bottom floor. The location to restaurants and as a general launching point to all things in the area is just impossible to pass up.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grif858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised with the rooms and facility layout. This is an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at UB. The stadium is approximately a 15 minute walking distance. Bring your student's favorite meal. The rooms have full kitchens. Also, bring the pet along! The hotel is pet friendly. :o)

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cc_traveler_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2009

The suite was good value. There was plenty of room and privacy. We were in the right place as we had business to attend to nearby and we were able to relax and do some shopping in our spare time. Great breakfast.

Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
Thank NoryNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2009

Having never been to this location, we were somewhat apprehensive about the location. HOWEVER, it is convenient to just about everything we needed! Five minutes from the airport, and 15 minutes from downtown Buffalo. Close to colleges and hospitals with plenty of good shopping nearby.

The hotel is an older Residence Inn, but don't be discouraged. This place had more employees that I've EVER seen in a hotel -- they were everywhere, and very helpful and friendly. That more than made up for the "older" hotel. The room was spotless and our TV was a new large flatscreen with lots of channels. Breakfast was excellent and offered healthy options, and was nicely presented.

The manager's office is just off the lobby and her door was open most of the time -- a nice change from places where the management is no where to be seen. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuckandNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

Very Nice Suite. We stayed in the two doubles studio suite and it was great. Big room, fireplace, kitchen. Very clean, quiet. Great Stay!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Singleandhavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2009

Used this hotel as a jumping off point for visiting UB with my daughter. Chose it because of the size of the room for the money - The suite that I booked was like 2 rooms, but the cost was much lower than two rooms at a comparable property. The kitchen was remarkably clean. My daughter thought that the room setup was amazing with the loft bedroom over a second bedroom, and even a fireplace. she was ready to move in.

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TheRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Address: 100 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14221-2922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $151 - $224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Residence Inn Amherst
Buffalo Residence Inn
Amherst Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing