We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, comfortable rooms, easy access to UB campus and stadium.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great hotel, comfortable rooms, easy access to UB campus and stadium.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2009

I was pleasantly surprised with the rooms and facility layout. This is an excellent choice for parents visiting their kids at UB. The stadium is approximately a 15 minute walking distance. Bring your student's favorite meal. The rooms have full kitchens. Also, bring the pet along! The hotel is pet friendly. :o)

  • Stayed September 2009
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cc_traveler_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    100
    43
    13
    11
See reviews for
110
48
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2009

The suite was good value. There was plenty of room and privacy. We were in the right place as we had business to attend to nearby and we were able to relax and do some shopping in our spare time. Great breakfast.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank NoryNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2009

Having never been to this location, we were somewhat apprehensive about the location. HOWEVER, it is convenient to just about everything we needed! Five minutes from the airport, and 15 minutes from downtown Buffalo. Close to colleges and hospitals with plenty of good shopping nearby.

The hotel is an older Residence Inn, but don't be discouraged. This place had more employees that I've EVER seen in a hotel -- they were everywhere, and very helpful and friendly. That more than made up for the "older" hotel. The room was spotless and our TV was a new large flatscreen with lots of channels. Breakfast was excellent and offered healthy options, and was nicely presented.

The manager's office is just off the lobby and her door was open most of the time -- a nice change from places where the management is no where to be seen. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuckandNina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2009

Very Nice Suite. We stayed in the two doubles studio suite and it was great. Big room, fireplace, kitchen. Very clean, quiet. Great Stay!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Singleandhavingfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2009

Used this hotel as a jumping off point for visiting UB with my daughter. Chose it because of the size of the room for the money - The suite that I booked was like 2 rooms, but the cost was much lower than two rooms at a comparable property. The kitchen was remarkably clean. My daughter thought that the room setup was amazing with the loft bedroom over a second bedroom, and even a fireplace. she was ready to move in.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — plain decor
  • Stayed January 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TheRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

This hotel is really nice, but you should know that the access to rooms is outside. I say this only because I prefer to have internal access to the front desk area and breakfast area. For example, this hotel is located in Buffalo not Florida, so when I get up early to have a nice breakfast at 630am I gotta put on my winter coat and hat, walk outside in the cold rain/snow. For that reason I do not like the hotel. I like walking to breakfast inside a cozy hotel.

But breakfast is very nice. And service was great.

My biggest problem was that the heat was not on when we arrived, so it took about 2 hours to heat up the place. But even still, we were on the main floor and I found the carpet a bit cold for me. And the furnace is very loud when it's on.

House keeping forgot to clean up a bottle of pills before we arrived, found them next to the bed. But the room was clean, and bathroom was clean.

Wireless internet was not that great of a signal strength, so I used the hard-wired access.

I would not stay again because I do not like walking outdoors once I check into a hotel, becase it can get very cold in Buffalo during the winter. I was in room 502.

  • Liked — Good location, good breakfast
  • Disliked — having to walk outside in the cold weather to get breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Billy Talent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2008

I spent 3 nights in a 2 bedroom penthouse loft suite. I found the decor to be a little on the dated side but the room it's self was spotless the cleaning staff did a fantastic job while i was there. The room had tons of space great for families. Check in staff was friendly and helpful when i asked for directions. Breakfast buffet had a variety of foods and even some healthy foods!
I would stay here again next time I'm in the Buffalo area.

  • Liked — In room fire place
  • Disliked — Room Decor
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabe05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.5 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Property: Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Address: 100 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14221
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Residence Inn Amherst
Buffalo Residence Inn
Amherst Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing