We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY nice!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“VERY nice!!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to Niagara Falls (late July 2014) and stayed in one of the townhouse-like suites (I think they called it a penthouse on the phone). It was so very nice and really clean and comfortable - I could move in!! We will be returning to this hotel for sure!!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, General Manager at Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Yes, the Bi-Level Loft Suite is referred to as the Penthouse Suite.

When traveling with a family or you just need some space to “Spread Your Wings and Relax”, these large Suites will definitely fulfill your needs. Thank you for your kind words.

It truly is an effort, everyday, for our staff to care for the Guest, as well as, clean and maintain the guest rooms at our property. Every review, such as yours, emboldens our belief that we are headed in the direction that fulfills our guest needs and expectations.

As the General Manager, I encourage feedback from our Guests and Staff, to continually look at ourselves and what we can do to improve. We implement new processes and look at issues from the Guest perspective and we critique each other. We are a family, sometimes dysfunctional, but a family none the less.

I look forward to our chance to host you and your family, in the future.

My best to you and your family. Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    103
    45
    13
    11
See reviews for
115
48
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I had stayed here a couple of times - once in 2001 and then again in 2010. The first time I stayed here in 2001, I recollect it was still a pretty nice property. But it seems to have deteriorated over time. I liked the general layout - the entire area consists of several two-storied building blocks, each block having four rooms. Low roof - pretty cosy during winter. However, the property has not been upgraded over the years - and it shows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siladityar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, General Manager at Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We are always looking for feedback on the perception of our guests and I want to thank you for your sincere comments.

Since 2001 the interior of the guest suites has been completed renovated twice, once in 2004 and then again in 2012, where the carpets, appliances and furniture have been replaced. In 2012, the exterior of the buildings were painted.

This year and next year we are working on replacing the aging exterior issues, from dealing with an extraordinarily intense winter, such as stairs, concrete sidewalks, guest room doors and renovating our landscaping.

As we strive to maintain the crisp, clean and inviting hotel, we are continually examining the property to update and provide the modern, appeal that our guests expect.

It is your feedback that helps us to understand the impressions of returning guests and I hope your next trip will fulfill your expectations of having been upgraded and refreshed.

Thank you and I look forward to hosting you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

I would give 3.5 stars for the room, but the staff is very friendly and the pool is a nice feature in the summer so I'm bumping up to 4. The property has a bunch of small buildings with 4 or so rooms each and no elevator for 2nd floor rooms (we had our 2-year-old and quite a bit of gear so it wasn't ideal). You can park near your building and all entrances are outside. We had one large room with two beds and it was in pretty good shape except the carpet felt a bit old or dirty. Location (room 804 on ground floor) wasn't super as the front door is in the back of the building and under the stairs so it's a bit damp and dark feeling. Walked through cobwebs every morning - yuck, but that's not their fault. Housekeeping was a bit uneven and hard to communicate with, but they did a sufficient job and were accommodating. We were there over a booked holiday weekend and the breakfast was nothing special. There was such a long wait and crowded space it wasn't easy to navigate. They were running out of just about everything at one point or another. The fruit is canned, but the eggs were pretty good and the sausage was delicious. Location is very convenient to shopping and restaurants.

Room Tip: If you're carrying a lot of stuff, opt for a downstairs room with an entrance off the parking lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michdoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, General Manager at Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind and good feedback regarding your stay.

I wanted to address some of the critique that you have pointed out.

Regarding the carpet, in your suite, we have a consistent carpet care program where an outside vendor completes a steam cleaning of the entire suite on a regular basis. We truly understand the need to have clean carpets (especially with outside entrances) and we do apologize that you felt your room carpet was not clean – I have asked our Housekeeping Department to have that room steam cleaned right away.

We will also use your feedback to address any cleaning issues that are not consistent with our standards of cleanliness and work on our communication skills, as well.

Regarding the location of room 804, I do agree that it does seem a long way from the parking lot, when you are in the back of the buildings. We have staff that can assist a guest with their belongings from 8:00 AM to 8:00 PM daily. We also have luggage carts available, as well.

Regarding breakfast, we are always looking for better ways to organize the food as to provide the most efficient opportunity for our guests to get their breakfast in a timely manner. I will also discuss your comments about food supply and fresh cut fruit with our Guest Services Manager, to see how we can address those two issues.

Thank you again and we hope to host you and your family in the future.

Best Regards and Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

On a family trip to Niagara, we stayed at the Queen studio suite at Residence Inn. It was a wonderful stay. The room was clean and staff was very friendly. The breakfast spread was great and had a lot of options. The studio suite had a cooking option too though we didn't use it. The beds were very comfortable. I enjoyed staying here. It is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shilpa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, General Manager at Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I will be sure to pass your comments on to our staff.

We are an All Suite Hotel, which means all of our rooms have a Full Kitchen, Living Area with Full Sized Sleeper-Sofa and many have Fireplaces, as well.

We look forward to hosting you and your family on your next trip to Buffalo/Amherst, NY.

Best Regards and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We were visiting Niagara and needed a kitchen for light cooking for one of the senior members. We decided to stay in this hotel given they provide free shuttle to/from the airport until 9 PM.

On way in, our flight got delayed and we couldn't take free shuttle but took a taxi to the hotel around midnight. The person at front desk was very nice, she checked us in and also asked to pick up fruits etc from breakfast area.

It's an excellent hotel for the value of your money. Kitchen + breakfast included. Staff is always ready to help. Plus we paid about $60 each way to Niagara falls by taxi which was 25 minutes each way. In short, it was cheaper to stay in this hotel even including taxi charge.

The last day, we asked to be dropped to the airport in the free shuttle. The front desk sent the shuttle right below our building and we didn't need to drag our suitcases to main lobby. As compared to all other staff, it was surprsiing that driver was least interested, rash in driving etc. That was the only disappointment.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angel_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, General Manager at Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, August 23, 2014
Thank you for your kind and constructive feedback. It is important that we get the feedback from our guests, both negative and positive, so we may continue to celebrate our good service and learn from our mistakes.

We truly hope that we can host you and your family on your next visit to Buffalo/Amherst, NY.

Your feedback regarding the van driver will be discussed the drivers, I do apologize for this.

Your impression and comfort are extremely important to us.

Best Regards and Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Staff was very friendly and helpful. My brother-in-law left his checkbook in the room and they called us and then mailed it to him. Nice to know there are still honest people. Breakfast was great. Rooms were clean and well equipped. They were fine with us leaving an hour later than normal checkout. We were on second floor in a room with a loft. The building is a little older and the floor from the bed to the bathroom squeaked which might bother those below. The fluorescent light in the bathroom was a little dim. Overall we were happy with the accommodations.

Room Tip: I would avoid a first floor room if someone is above you given the potential of a squeaky floor. Whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, General Manager at Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your Kind words and specific feedback regarding the hotel product and service. Our staff is constantly training on customer service, every morning (Monday through Friday), the entire staff gathers in the Gatehouse (our public building and main lobby) to discuss issues of good and poor service. Many times guests have seen our meetings and have participated with feedback.

Our goal is to provide the best product and service. The quality of service is assisted by the training but is executed by people who “CARE.” I am proud that we have an entire staff of people who care.

Regarding the squeaky floors, it is true that we continue to battle with the design and construction of the hotel. We are very sensitive to this issue and our maintenance department consistently does what is necessary to repair and prevent this issue. We continue to do so, we really want you to have a truly enjoyable stay at our hotel.

We look forward to hosting you and your family in the future and thank you again for such wonderful feedback.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skippack, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed here for a week. The staff was great. The evening reception was also great. You could tell they actually put an effort to make the food (more like a meal) enjoyable. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath suite. Very nice and roomy. Recently upgraded kitchens
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott P, General Manager at Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for your Kind words, I am glad that our property and staff met your expectations and we are proud of the associates that make you feel at home.

I wanted to mention some staff members you may have met during your stay.

Donna and Forte, Guest Service Team Members, for the Evening Social Reception.

James Robinson, our Guest Services Manager.

Anais, our Front Desk Associate, who happens to be working at other Marriott Properties, we do miss her.

Ken Lesniowski, Executive Housekeeper.

Steve Stroupe, Chief Engineer.

These are just a few of the people who make our hotel a special destination for many of our guest.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.5 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Property: Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Address: 100 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14221-2922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Residence Inn Amherst
Buffalo Residence Inn
Amherst Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing