We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a family stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Reviewed June 25, 2008

For those families looking for a clean, comfortable place to stay for a few days or more, I recommend this hotel. We stayed about a week to visit the falls and other attractions in the area and were quite pleased with our accomodations. The staff were always friendly, helpful and cheerful. They have a good breakfast buffet at no extra charge and a free dinner buffet four nights a week, as well. The property, while obviously not new, is well-maintained. We booked a "loft," which features a kitchen, living room with dining area and a small bedroom upstairs. In the living room, there is a fold-down bed that sleeps two. The loft bed sleeps two. The sofa folds out into a bed. Two bathrooms. The room was showing its age, but the housekeeping was good and so it was pleasant enough.

Things we really liked: roomy; good location and easy to get to all the major attractions; the free food; price. All the amenities (small fitness room, business center, laundry, etc. were in good working condition and we never had any issues). It was a great value for the money.

Things we didn't like: the beds were not that firm and so not comfortable. By the third morning, some of our family were complaining of not having slept very well.

This is decidedly NOT a luxury hotel and it doesn't bill itself as such. Instead, it is a place where travelers and vacationers to the area can avail themselves of spacious, clean, and reasonably priced lodgings for a few days or more.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dlwHarrisburg_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (258)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

241 - 247 of 258 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2007

We arrived late at night after traveling all day by air. My past experiences at any Residence Inn were the quality bed linens. well, this property made our studio queen up with paper thin-see through bed sheets. The pillows were flat as a pancake and just did not seem "clean" like other Inns.
As a travel agent, I was a little disappointed in this property as I stay at many Marriott's and their other properties several times a year. There were it looked like "permanent guests" living at this
property and barbequeing outside their front door and practically in the parking lot. Also, kids playing basketball at all hours of the day in the back parking lot...I felt like we were staying at an apartment
complex instead of an Inn! I would not recommend this property
as compared to other Residence Inns.

Stayed: November 2007
6  Thank travel056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

Stayed here 2 nights to visit the falls. Nice, clean place for reasonable price. Do not see any reason why one would not enjoy it!

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank bbalazs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

I highly recommend the Residence Inn. It is spacious, clean and in a great location.
3 of us stayed here comfortably- two queen sized beds, a pull out couch , two full bathrooms and a full kitchen. Upon check in they give you cookies....great for the kids.
Included, was breakfast in the main lobby...everything from pancakes, potatoes, scrambled eggs, sausage, toast, even fresh hot waffles!
I don't really have anything bad to say about this place. I would for sure stay here the next time I come to cross border shop!
I guess if i had to say something negative, it would only be that the parking situation should be changed. There are a few spaces in front of every complex. I believe there are 4 suites per complex. These spaces should be marked with the suite number-one for every suite...you would think....We had to park 3 complexes down b/c all of the spots were taken. I hope they change this in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank pinky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Yep, it's a Residence Inn... I've stayed at a few now :) This trip was for a work training being conducted near the university campus. Stayed for three nights with a co-worker. We shared one of these loft 2 bedroom setups.

Like many of them they are doing piece-meal renovations. This one had a particularly nice update done to the kitchen and bath areas. Nice new fixtures and counter tops. The place still smelled like cigarette smoke even though it was a smoke free room (very usual for residence inns I've found and it seems that others have too). Perhaps the reason for this is the cleaning staff that smoke between the buildings and it gets pulled in along with the air and when they are cleaning the scent transfers from their clothing to the area. The carpeting needs an update. Typical stiff sofa type furniture. The beds weren't too rock-hard and the linens were nice.

The only internet access was on the desk in the loft bedroom area - it's hard-wired, no wireless available. For two of the three days it was out of service too for the entire hotel. The desk in the downstairs bedroom was wedged into the nook so tightly there was no way to get to the plug on the wall to plug in your laptop.

Would suggest that they replace the sheer curtains they use on the lower bedroom 'french doors' with something a little more opaque so you can have some privacy when other people are out in the livingroom and you want to sleep.

I borrowed a screwdriver from the front desk to screw in the loose security plate on the door (the one that you put the bar across as a secondary measure if the door is unlocked). It was pretty much falling off. There was a tear in the plastic underneath the main door so a draft could happily come inside :)

The staff was wonderfully friendly as usual, and the free breakfast was very nice indeed. I never mind free breakfast! The hotel was quiet and we got a good night's rest. The accommodations were spacious and having the loft style setup wasn't bad for co-workers that are OK with not having a wall between them. Overall it was a typical Residence Inn experience.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank TeamKaeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Debbie978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank twinmom07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst

Address: 100 Maple Rd, Amherst, NY 14221-2922
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $151 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Residence Inn Amherst
Buffalo Residence Inn
Amherst Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing