We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
174 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Pretty Good Value”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Room - was clean but was a little dark and had a slight, musty smell. This quickly cleared once the air conditioning was turned on. The beds were double, not queen sized so it felt a little cramped sleeping with my friend. The bed linens were a little worn. Showers worked well and plenty of hot water. We never heard any noise from outside traffic or neighbouring rooms.
Front Desk - very friendly and quick. We had reserved the room for 3, but there were only 2 sets of towels in our room. I had to walk over to the front desk and the staff quickly handed over a full set of towels.
Location - we were there to shop at Walden Galleria and the outlets so it was all within reasonable proximity.
Value - pretty good for the price for this type of accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_lowdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    164
    68
    26
    14
See reviews for
154
129
53
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2010

The desk staff are a little cold (maybe burned out from so much customer flow - it's a big place), but the accommodations are fine: clean, basic rooms and a pretty decent value for the money, which is minimal. Less than 15 minutes from the airport, two minutes from the UB Amherst campus. It's kind of a strip-mally area without much to recommend it, so if you want more charm, drive into the nearby village of Williamsville. I've stayed at the Red Roof Inn UB Amherst twice now and no problems. No coffeemaker in room - instant coffee maker in registration area. Be sure to request that the optional charge for the safe is taken off your bill (assuming you don't use it).

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank hoch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2010

My husband and I went to Buffalo July 8-11. The check in clerk was super friendly and check in took seconds. We went to our room on the second floor and thought it was nice, until we looked closer. The bedspread seemed really lumpy, so I pulled it back to reveal dirty, wrinkled sheets that looked very used. I mean it was so bad that there were actually raised lumps and the sheets were not even made. It really looked like the bedspread was just thrown on dirty sheets. The other problem was that there were peanuts and a candy wrapper at the edge of the bed, which were also revealed when the bedspread was pulled back. At this point I am getting concerned and there is no way I am sleeping on those sheets! I called the front desk and the friendly clerk told me there were no other rooms, so I asked for her to send someone up to fix it. She said she was the only one there and came up within 15 minutes. She quickly changed the sheets with fresh sheets and vacuumed the carpet. She was super nice and said that this was very unusual.
The room was a decent size and had a desk, that we turned into a dinning table. The shower was hot and strong and the room was quiet and met our expectations. We did not have maid service while we were there because since we were still on west coast time, meaning we were always in bed when they knocked.
The location was great and my husband walked over to Santora's, which he recommends. I did not feel well and was in bed a lot of the time and had a hard time getting comfortable due to the springs digging into my back.
The fridge and microwave saved us money on food and overall, despite the shortfalls I would stay here again. The price was right and I found it better and more modern than motel 6. If you are on a budget, this is a good value. I do think the dirty sheets were a fluke.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mfarrell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Arthur, Texas
1 review
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Our room was very clean, very quiet, and updated. Would highly recommend this hotel - great deal. While you are in Buffalo go to Friendlys for breakfast - cheap and good food, ask at desk for directions about 1 mile from hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

This was the second time I had stayed at this hotel. The last time was over two years ago, so I was nervous that it might not be the same (Red Roof Inns don't have the best reputation, despite the fact that the chain has been revamped in the past few years) but I had nothing to worry about. The hotel clean and quiet and in a fairly good location if you are in town for a shopping trip (which we were) or if you have any business to do at the University of Buffalo. The service was great, particularly from Erin, who was friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate and we loved the conveniences of the fridge and microwave for the doggie bags we had after every meal (it's easy to forget how huge the portions are in the USA!) The beds were fairly comfy and the staff provided us with extra pillows upon request. There was also free Wi-Fi, which was nice, although it was fairly slow (but I'm not complaining since I didn't have to pay for it).....You can't beat $65/night. The only downside is that it is a fair drive downtown, but we found it was actually quite central overall to the places we needed to visit. Truckers use this hotel, so you might hear the sound of the truck starting and driving off at 5-6 am, but other than that it was very quiet despite the proximity to busy roads. I'd definitely stay here again the next time I visit the Buffalo area.

If you ever need a cab, ask the front desk to call Tom to pick you up. He's nice, polite and will have some stories to tell! If you get him, make sure to mention the Canadian girls who drove to Betty's Left Bank!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kweenshaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2010

My wife and I stayed at this Red Roof Inn on May 21-23 during an across the border shopping trip from Canada. This hotel is fairly average but clean and comfortable. It is also located near an outlet mall, other shops and different restaurants (all within 20 minutes by car). There's a pizzeria and a bar across the street. Overall, it's fine for a short stay and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantine-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

My wife and I have been staying here for over 20 years. This is a nice inn. The rooms are always clean , and I find the front desk staff to be very nice and knowledgeable. I was over there for my birthday a few years ago and the front desk attendant gave me a gift certificate to a very nice local restaraunt. She had just gotten some gift certificates in, and gave me one. Thats what I call customer service. And this past weekend, we had a very nice experience again with a front desk attendant that cares about the people that are staying there. Its close to the university, not even a 15 minute drive from 3 major malls and close to the new Santoras pub and pizzeria which is just across the street. There is much to say about this inn and the staff. Whether they are working front desk or cleaning the rooms, they all speak to you and are very friendly.
Try this out and you will see what I mean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WaterlooRadioron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 17 in Amherst
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Address: 42 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amherst
#4 Family Hotel in Amherst
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn University At Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Red Roof Inn Amherst
Amherst Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing