We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hockey Weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights while attending a youth hockey tournament. The rooms were clean and nicely updated. It was very convenient with an outside entrance to be able to carry everything directly to your room. The saff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The price was great. Would highly recommend this place. Very convenient to shops/restaurants/skating.

Room Tip: Bottom floor is easiest if you have a lot of bags.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123Tracy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We truly enjoyed having your team stay with us during the recent hockey tournament. Congratulations again to the St. Lawrence Thunder for bringing home the state title. Good luck in the upcoming national tournament. We appreciate you mentioning our friendly staff and our great prices. On again thank you and good luck at your next tournament.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 489 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2014

The staff at this hotel were great.The room was very clean, modern and warm.This hotel is close to Boulevard Mall and 15 mins from Eastern Hills Mall.There are numerous restaurants in the area and within walking distance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your experience. We appreciate that you mentioned our clean rooms and friendly staff. The staff works hard to make each guests experience the best it can be. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Found this place on trip-advisor. Within 15 minutes I was in my room. The staff was very friendly, kind, and fast. It is the newest renovated Red Roof Inn and you can't beat it for the price. Beds were clean and comfortable. The bathroom and sink were also clean. I would definitely stay here again when passing through Buffalo. Also, it is very close to campus for visiting.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
Thank travelmonster1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and writing a review about your experience. We appreciate that you mentioned our friendly staff, affordable price, and clean rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Just so you know we are getting ready to add more "WOW" to our guests experiences. For a small upcharge we will have some rooms at the inn converted to Premiuim rooms. Those rooms will come wth added amenities such as a snack box in the room with water,juice, microwave popcorn, trail mix and a granola bar. Our Premium rooms will also have an extra pillow, iron and ironing board, hair dryers,and microfridges. We are committed to adding more "WOW" to all of our guests experiences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Nice surprise. Clean, well appointed and good price. Excellent location. We stayed two nights but were disappointed that the tiny garbage bin was not emptied nor were the tiny soaps. We had to ask for more toilet paper as well.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank FrostyCanuck1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and writing about your stay. Let me start off by apologizing that your room was not serviced properly during your stay. This is not the norm at our property and it is very upsetting to know that we dropped the ball. I will make sure to share your comments with my team about your stay. I am however very happy that you found our rooms clean, updated, and a good value. Thank you for giving us a review of your stay. I will make sure to let my team know what we did right and where we can improve to make our guests experience all the more better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We have stayed at this Red Roof Inn several times. We return for a reason. It's a great location. The rooms are just what we need. The staff has been excellent and the price is affordable. This time we were in town for the memorial service for Flight 3407. It was nice a feeling to come back to a room that felt a little like coming home. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lonnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate that you mentioned our friendly staff and our affordable rates. Me and my staff enjoy having you stay with us when you are in the area. Thanks again for the review and we look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This Red Roof Inn property provides outstanding value. To begin with, the front desk staff are very pleasant and personable. They make you feel welcome and important. The updated rooms are clean and well-appointed with amenities that include Wi-Fi, a fridge, microwave and HD TV, all of which work well. The beds and pillows are suitably comfortable, though they will differ from your own bed at home. The location is perfect for a cross-border shopper. Overall, an excellent experience.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PGshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our property. We appreciate that you mentioned our great value, friendly staff, and update rooms. Our goal is to provide every guest with a great experience and we are glad that we were able to provide that for you. We look forward to seeing you again during your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

When all you need is a place to sleep and shower, why pay more? I had to spend one night in Amherst the other night. When I saw many rates over $100 (one as high as $230), I asked why so much, and just to sleep and get ready the next morning!? With online deals, I paid just $53. The bed was firm and the shower water hot (kept turning it down it was so hot) - it is all I needed. Sure, there is no free breakfast, but plenty of places nearby (McDonald's, Tim Horton's, IHOP and The Corner Bakery among others).

Notice for winter travelers: While all the sidewalks and pathways were clear of all snow and ice, some of those paths were blocked by other cars. Be careful as areas around those cleared pathways are mounds of solid ice!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kemosabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate you mention our comfortable beds and hot showers. We do our best to keep our rates at a price where our guests feel they are getting the best value. Although we don't serve breakfast as you mentioned there are plenty of good options within a mile or two of the hotel. Thanks for the tip about being careful with the all the snow. We make sure all the walkways and parking are plowed and salted to do out best to stay ahead of it. Thanks again for your review and we hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 17 in Amherst
270 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Address: 42 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amherst
#4 Family Hotel in Amherst
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $62 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn University At Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Red Roof Inn Amherst
Amherst Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing