We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay for price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Got this hotel for $57 for a night,room was clean and comfortable. Could hear a lot of outside noises and beds not the most comfortable I have slept in but decent. No complaints considering price. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again .

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2013

Thank you for deciding to stay with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. We appreciate you mentioning our clean and comfortable rooms along with our friendly staff and great price. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 493 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

My recent stay at Red Roof Inn was superb. Shawn and his staff were committed to customer service and made all my requests hassle free. If you are in the Buffalo area, whether to watch a (playoff bound) Bills game, or a rejuvenated Sabres club or for whatever reason you are in the area, I highly recommend staying here. It is clean and is reasonably priced. Thanks RRI

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dubs2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write such a nice review about our hotel. We appreciate that you mentioned our clean rooms and friendly staff. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Right across the campus of the University and about 20 miles from the Falls. Recently renovated, so it was clean and nice. Very quiet even though it is close to major roads. The only thing I did not like much was the outside access to rooms and no breakfast area. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Check in and out was a breeze. Would recommend for a night or two!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to wrtie a review about your experience. We appreciate you mentioning our clean renovated rooms and our friendly staff. Our renovated rooms now have flat screen televisions, faux hardwood flooring, new mattresses, and all new furniture. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Paid $87 a night for two nights. Expected a better quality stay but was disappointed. Check in was fine. The reception was welcoming. Surrounding area was ok. A few eateries in the area. Room was well prepared when we saw it for the first time. Bedsheets and pillow cases looked clean. But bath room was a just a washing basin with a WC and a standing bathing area. No table top or ledge to keep toiletries. No bath tub. Very spartan. Towels appeared well used. Flat screen TV was installed right in front of working desk so when the wife is watching tv, I could not sit in front of desk to do work. Worst of all was the sound insulation from the next door rooms on both side. First night we had a baby who decided to cry at 3am and we could not sleep after that. Second night we had a couple making a lot of amorous noises while they were going at it at 5am. Couldn't sleep after that.

I should have paid another $30 a night to stay at a proper hotel. For what I paid, I expected better than Howard Johnson quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Phil_YSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write about your stay. I want to start by saying I am sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests have a great stay with us and I am sorry we failed to deliver. I do want to thank you form mentioning our welcoming staff and our clean rooms. From reading your review it seems as though you were booked into one of our ADA accessible Superior King rooms. The ADA rooms are set up a little differently then our standard rooms to due to ADA standards. Our standard Superior King room would of suited you better I believe. It has a counter outside the bathroom with the sink and plenty of space to put toiletries. Also, the living area of the room is set up so there is a larger L-shaped worked desk away from the new flat screen televisions. Once again I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your room and we do hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Have Stayed at the Red Roof Inn at Amherst at least 3 times per year for the last 7 years. Born an raised in Buffalo area but relocated to the South Central Pennsylvania area 25 years ago. Stay at the Red Roof Inn at Amherst when visiting family in Western New York. Employees are friendly, rooms are clean and the Inn is very close to the major highways. Room rates are affordable, king size beds are comfortable and the outside of the Inn is well lit for safety. The Buffalo Zoo, Niagara Falls, Ralph Wilson Stadium and the First Niagara Center are all easy commutes from the Inn. Will be back in the spring to stay at the Inn again.

Room Tip: Superior King Rooms have more room for comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel. We certainly enjoy having you as a loyal guest and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to see your family. Thank you so much for mentioning our clean rooms, friendly staff, and affordable rates. Thanks again for staying with us and we will see you in the Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

i travel for business and stay at the buffalo amherst location its in the middle of where i do business, the roooms are all recently up graded and very impressed with the new rooms , The rooms are clean the beds comfortable for a good nights rest , its very quiet even when theres a bills game in town. Lisa always has fresh coffee made in the morning best coffee in town,Steph always has my checkin paper work done before i get there The general manager goes out of his way to correct a problem i will stay there many more night to come

Room Tip: out side buildings have more parking then in the center
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 59bear16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. Thanks for mentioning our clean rooms, comfortable beds, and friendly staff. Our staff tries to ensure that each and every guest has a great stay with us. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town for work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a clean - updated room for a good price. Nothing more, Nothing less.
The service was good and friendly, parking was ample and was close to many food places and things to do.
Complimentary coffee was bad, but there was 50 coffee shops right in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CantWinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We appreciate that you mentioned our clean updated rooms. Our recently remodeled rooms now have faux hardwood flooring, flat screen tv's, new mattresses, and all new furniture. One again we appreciate your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 17 in Amherst
273 reviews
3.7 mi away
CenterWay Hotel
CenterWay Hotel
#1 of 13 in Tonawanda
146 reviews
1.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Buffalo - Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Address: 42 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amherst
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $62 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Red Roof Inn, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn University At Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Red Roof Inn Amherst
Amherst Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing