We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Elgin, South Carolina
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

First thing I would like to say is Red Roof Inn has a new customer for life! This is the First Red Roof I have ever stayed at, and I was impressed. During my search for a hotel to stay at, I came across the Buffalo Amherst property as a pet friendly hotel. Newly renovated, the room was perfect. It was the perfect size for two people and two Corgis. The front staff was very friendly and efficient, getting us checked-in, in a matter of minutes. We stayed three nights on our visit to Niagara Falls. This is a great location with the Falls a short 15 minute drive. Our room was in the far building, away from the street making for a very quiet nights rest. Amenities were gracious, loved the big flat screen TV and the complimentary toiletries.
During our stay we needed a quick clean up of our room and the housekeeper for our building was very efficient and happy to oblige us. I wish I could remember her name, (Anastasia or something unique like that). It was a great stay and now when we travel, we will be searching for Red Roof Inns along the way. Thank you for a great Hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms in the second building away from the street are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clarence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time write such a positive review about our inn. We are sold glad that you decided to stay with us and that we have now gained a new Red Roof Inn guest for life!!! Thank you so much for mentiong our great staff, locations across from the University at Buffalo, and our newly remodeled rooms. Our new rooms have flat screen televisions, new mattresses and box springs, new wood like flooring, and new furniture. We thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    161
    68
    26
    14
See reviews for
153
128
52
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This is the third time I have stayed at the Red Roof Inn - University at Buffalo-Amherst. They recently completed renovations and the rooms look great! Comfortable beds -- clean room and the staff as always is very helpful and accommodating! This past weekend was sold out at the hotel and it was still surprisingly quiet. I have always gotten great rates and wonderful service from the staff here - from restaurant suggestions to assistance with some extremely loud room neighbors during one visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write about your stay with us. We are so glad that you had a great stay. We appreciate you mentioning our clean renovated rooms, our comfortable beds, and our wonderful staff. Our new rooms now have flat screen televisions, wood like flooring, all new mattresses, and new furniture and sinks. We are glad you liked the renovations and we look forward to seeing you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed one night to visit Niagara Falls en route from New York State to Michigan. Staff very helpful, letting us drop off bags early so they weren't left in the car at Niagara. Room was surprisingly quiet considering the position in the centre of a triangle of busy roads. Only gripe is that the water wouldn't run cold - had to drink wine instead! Bed very comfy, facilities all worked, can't quibble at the reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We appreciate you staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay. Thank you so much for mentioning our friendly staff, quiet location, and comfortable beds. I will make sure we look into why the water was not running cold in your room to ensure this is fixed right away. Once again thank you so much for staying with and we hope to see you again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed one night to visit granddaughter attending new college & also to catch Bills game. The only issue at all was having to find the remote under the bed with a couple of things that should have been thrown away. Other than that everything was great! Comfortable beds & the area was quiet to sleep in. Will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldkjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I want to thank you for mentioning our comfortable beds, our location across the street from the University at Buffalo, and our quiet location. I am sorry about the debris under your bed that you noticed. I will make sure to share your full review with my staff to ensure this does not happen in the future.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto,ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

after a long drive from Boston,Mass,around 9 hours,I stayed at this hotel for one night. I was quite surprise that if I had a coffee maker in my room,an extra charge of around 10 dollars would be added to the bill. The room,without the coffee maker,would be cheaper. I have stayed at many hotels,in my 50 years of traveling,in europe,canada,and the U.S.A.,this is the first time I have ever had this type of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERIC7885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for deciding to stay with us and taking the time to write a review about our property. I want to say I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay. Although our standard rooms do not come with in room coffee we do have coffee and tea in the lobby 24 hours a day for a guests. Our superior king room which is offered at a small upcharge does include some extra amenities that our standard rooms do not. The Superior King room has the larger L-shaped work desk, in room coffee, and microfridge. Once again I apologize for the confusion and do hope that you will stay with us again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It's a college town. What you get for the money is certainly a value. Just don't go on a football weekend if you expect quiet. After 9:30 its quiet until 2:30-3:30am. The rooms are clean. The staff is polite.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about your stay at our hotel. Thank you for mentioning our clean rooms and our polite staff. We work hard to esnure that all of our guests enjoy their stay. Sorry about the noise from our other guests. We try to ensure that all of our guests are respectful of the other guests in the hotel. If you should ever have an issue with guests being too noisy please feel free to call down the desk and we will handle the situation quickly. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Landed in Niagara falls, had issues with our car so had to bring it to the nearest dealership. This place was great; clean and near restaurants and shopping. Room was nice; not so big but perfect for a quick overnight stay. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sojonevjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our inn. Sorry you had to stay with us due to issues with your car but we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate that you mentioned our clean rooms and great location. We are just minutes from most of the areas malls and restaurants. Once again thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.7 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 16 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Property: Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Address: 42 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amherst
#4 Family Hotel in Amherst
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn University At Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Red Roof Inn Amherst
Amherst Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing