We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have been coming to the Amherst area every week on business for over 6 years. I always stay at the Amherst Red Roof and have found it to be a great value for the money. you can imagine my pleasant surprise during my most recent visit after they have under gone extensive renovations. Everything is new and comfortable from the beds and furniture to the new appliances and flat screen TVs. They even redid the floors and sinks!. These changes put them up a notch to compete with the larger chains. But combined with the SAME prices as before the decision on where to stay in Amherst is clear for me. I will always come to this inn, as a frequent business traveler it is my "home away from home".

Room Tip: If you travel frequently as I do try to get the same room or similar one. That little change will he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spock1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Thank you for being a loyal customer and taking the time to write a review about our newly renovated rooms. We are always happy to see you when you arrive and are glad we are your home away from home. We are so glad to hear such positive feedback about the changes we have made to our rooms. We have new sinks, furniture, mattresses, and floors in our rooms. We are real excited as well about the extra outlets we now provide on the nightstand for easy access to plug in your phone, laptop, or ipod to charge. Once again thank you for the review and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (489)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

350 - 356 of 489 reviews

Reviewed December 13, 2012

Just went back to the Red Roof Inn, Amherst, NY. It was great. All of the rooms have been Renovated and are are great, everything is new floors, beds, bath, and large flat screen TV's. Once again Amy goes the extra mile to make my stay enjoyable and goes out of her way to provide great service. Sean the manager is always willing to jump in help out. What a value if your looking for a nice hotel in the Buffalo.
Steve B.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveB556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Thank you for for staying with us and taking the time to write a review about our property. We appreciate that you mention the newly renovated rooms and their wonderful new features. We are not 100% complete with the renovations but will be in the coming weeks. We are glad to have you as a repeat customer and look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Pastry flakes between sheets and cover, massive cob webs in shower ceiling area and in sink ceiling area, dirty light switch, faint smell of smoke (non smoking room), could of been an "old " renovated room as it already looked tired (old T.V). If you want a hair dryer, NEED TO BORROW from front desk. Room was quiet though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helpingtheeconomy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. I am very sorry that you had a bad experience while staying with us. As you mentioned our htoel is currently under complete renovations. Our rooms will have all new flooring, mattresses, and furniture when the renovation is completed. Unfortunately, we were not able to put you in one of our newly renovated rooms during your stay. That being said cleanliness should be our number one priority in all of our rooms and I am sorry we fell short in your room. I will make sure to use your review to help better train my staff on attention to all the details. We hope that you will come back and stay with us when we are fully renovated. I am sure you will enjoy the new rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We did a 3 night stay while we were in the area for shopping. The room we got was freshly renovated - new paint, flooring, all new furniture, mattresses, flat screen and bathroom fixtures, etc. Very clean, and everything worked fine.

The only thing we encountered - and reported to the front desk, was that there was no weatherstripping on the bottom of our door, leaving a gap under the door (facing outside to the parking lot) that you could slide your hand through. We would return to the room and find a bunch of leaves had blown under the door, all over the floor - not a huge deal, but the cold air, (and the risk of having any unwelcome small guests) was a pain that we ended up addressing by using a rolled up towel. This was OK while we were in the room but not while we were gone. And there were 4-5 other doors that looked to be missing weatherstripping too.

Overall, it was an OK stay. The room darkening shades work well, and it was very quiet - the only noise we heard was mid morning when people were out and about gfetting into cars. You are on your own for breakfasts but there are lots of nearby establishments.

With the weatherstripping in place -- we'd recommend this as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We are glad you liked the features of our newly renovated rooms with the flooring, new beds, and flat screen televisions. Those are the first section of rooms to be completed and it is nice to hear positive feedback of the new design. Thank you for mentioning the weatherstripping at the base of your door. We are currently fixing the issue so that it does not occur in the future. Once again thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this location while on a trip to niagara falls. Room was fairly clean. Although my daughter did complain about it being dirty under the bed. I liked the fact it was close to shopping. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: reserve a room, we had to take last room in the hotel it was a little cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicolesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review about our property. We appreciate that you mention that our lcoation is close to all the major shopping in the area. We are glad that you mentiont hat you will be back. We look forward to seeing you again on your next shopping trip to the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Staff is very attentive when we needed hair dryers, iron and ironing board.. Room is clean and ammenities - microwave, room safe, refrigerator and wi fi -- all we needed for a perfect stay. There were opportunities for a good meal within walking distance and shopping close by. Easy on and off the interstate.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheredowestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a positive review about your experience. We appreciate that you mention in your review our friendly and attentive staff. We are also happy that you found our lcoation to be in a good location near many good restaurants and with easy on and off access to the major highways. We look forward to seeing you again in the future when you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

If you're looking for a cheap (not the cheapest, but a reasonable one) hotel in Buffalo, go with Red Roof at University. Clean, quiet and comfortable. It's near Boulevard Mall and some good restaurants/pubs. And not so far from Walden Galleria and Wal-mart. Recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhiroshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRI104, General Manager at Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a positive review about your stay. I am glad that you mention that our rates are reasonable and our rooms are clean,quiet,and comfortable. We are located near all the major malls in the area and many fine restaurants are just minutes away. Thank you again for being our guests and we look forward to seeing you again next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#11 of 17 in Amherst
270 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst

Address: 42 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Amherst
#4 Family Hotel in Amherst
#6 Business Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $62 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn University At Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Red Roof Inn Amherst
Amherst Red Roof Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing