We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the bunch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, VT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best of the bunch”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

There are a number of hotels in this (rather sad) neighborhood, some obviously in better condition than others. I feel lucky I grabbed this one. The rooms are sufficiently upgraded that I felt comfortable, for example. And I'm not someone who usually gives a priority to such things, but at least for me, I felt that the (check-in and bar) staff genuinely cared about ensuring I have a pleasant stay--and that's a welcome change from the usual anonymous feeling I get when I travel. Example: I arrived, they casually asked about my flight, and I told them about a delay caused by missing paperwork. They gave me a card for a free drink at the bar! Exhausted, when I got up to my room, the toilet was bubbling and running noisily--when I return back to the front desk, they were incredibly apologetic and immediately put me in a nice(r) room. They also then offered me another cookie, something I declined for the sake of my figure.

In short: small touches make a difference, and on this Friday night I felt very lucky that they have good people working here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jvoight34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    284
    141
    69
    28
See reviews for
335
150
37
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 24, 2014

nice facility, pool, rooms small bathrooms, noise from overhead rooms is loud restaurant has tasty food, rooms were small-no closets-just an armoire in the room that also contained the iron, ironing board, extra pillows, etc so not a lot of room for actual clothing. Dresser drawers were full of extra pillows so had to move those to the corner of the room to use the drawers

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Malynda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Hello Malynda,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I was pleased to read that you thought our facilities were nice. I see you had some trouble with your room size, and space for storage. We do have several room types available to choose from, may I suggest a King Executive on your next visit, this room type offers more space in both the bedroom area and the bathroom. In addition there is also more furnishings for item storage.

I hope this response has helped you for your return visit accommodations.

Have a Great Day.

Tom Molenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Markham, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The accommodations were exactly as described on their web site. We had booked through Hotwire( who did not seem to realize that 2 adults and 2 children needed 2 double beds) and the booking was changed to accommodate us, from a King room to 2 queen beds. No problem with this at all, they were more than accommodating. The staff was very friendly. Rooms were clean and spacious. I would not hesitate to stay there again.
The hotel is near lots of shopping, plenty of restaurants, and the University.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxjudyStanford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2014

My daughter and I stayed at this DoubleTree when we visit Buffalo University. Upon arrival, we were offered warm chocolate cookies. The location of this hotel is just by the North Campus and it is very convenient. We love the color scheme and the décor of the hotel lobby and the room. Parking and wifi were complimentary which is a big plus. Hotel staff are courteous and friendly. The room is clean, bed is very comfortable. The hotel also offers a complimentary shuttle in a 5 mile radius. That includes going to the airport. Next time I will not need to rent a car when I visit my daughter. :) Another thoughtful thing was the double door side entry. During inclement weather, guests will be able to come into the building first and then swipe their room key to get into the hotel. My only suggestion is that, if the sensor for the first door can be adjusted so that it will close after the guests come in, it will protect the guest from the cold, the wind and the rain or snow while getting their room key to enter the hotel. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and will definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Li-Ing W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I found the front desk personnel very knowledgeable and helpful. We had traveled from NYC and were visiting SUNY Buffalo which is located across from the hotel. They offered suggested places to visit and eat which was extremely helpful given our lack of knowledge of the area. My daughter was a little under the weather and ordered room service while we at the school and found the food much to her satisfaction. The room was extremely clean and staff very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2014

The main reason I stay at the Doubletree is for the breakfast. Having spent many nights at Hampton Inns, I grew tired of eating powdered/synthetic eggs and weak coffee for breakfast. The cafe at the Doubletree has Starbucks coffee and real, healthy food options (great Oatmeal, Egg-white omelets made-to-order, great fruit selection.) In addition, the staff (Krystal, Holli, and Carrie) are very friendly and helpful. They often have to go out of their way to prepare my "to-go" order and do so with a great attitude.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello Glen S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I appreciated reading all of the nice comments you shared about our Café and for personally mentioning our "Morning Team" in your review. We do our very best daily to provide these levels of service, thank you for noticing.

Safe Travels,

Tom Molenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is a great hotel for the service and value. I used HHonors points for this stay. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. Its located near the Blvd. Mall and all the good restaurants. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello Christopher G,

Thank you for being a Hilton HHonor Member and glad you had the opportunity to stay with us on points. We appreciate you pointing out our friendly team members and for sharing your experiences with Trip Advisor and us.

We look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,

Tom Molenda
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Address: 10 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Buffalo Amherst)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amherst
#5 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst welcomes you with an innovative blend of contemporary design and traditional hospitality. Conveniently located just off I-290 in Amherst, NY, the hotel is between downtown Buffalo and beautiful Niagara Falls. Park your vehicle in the hotel parking lot and fly from our suburban, northeast Buffalo hotel, just 10 minutes from Buffalo International Airport. Drive less than one mile to the University of Buffalo North Campus (SUNY) and only minutes to shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Amherst
Amherst Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing