We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PLACE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This was a wonderful hotel. The entire staff was very kind and helpful. The hotel was clean and smelled fresh. We stayed in a room with a King size bed and a pull out couch, which was perfect for our family of 4. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (968)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 968 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Used to be the Indigo, nice hotel, spacious rooms, great staff. If you have business at the University of Buffalo, it's an excellent choice, as it's right down the street. What's also down the street is Duff's, for some of the best wings in town, so it's got that going for it too. Lots of room in the breakfast room to spread out and get some work done, was a big plus. Staff was very accommodating.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank mscott006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We did a reverse park, sleep and fly. The service was excellent. The staff was very helpful. I utilized the pool and hot tub. The limo driver helped jump start our car when the battery died from being gone a month. I would use this property again. They do have a restaurant which we didn't use.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Good comfortable stay, decent room and bath, nice comfy bed. Hotel has a complimentary shuttle to drop you anywhere and just call them once you are done and they will pick you for free. Good ambience and quite near to UB campus at Amherst.
Recommended with family stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anand1351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here simply to sleep. Mostly friendly staff and overall clean feeling in the hotel. I was a bit shocked to find the last guest of our room had left their contract lenses and the cleaning staff had not disposed of them. Didn't give me a whole lot of confidence of anything else in the room, but we were too tired to put much thought into it. The bed was comfy, and it served its purpose for some rest.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NE_Farm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi NE_Farm11,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. I was dissappointed in reading about the cleanliness issue with your room. Kindly telephone or email me personally so I may learn your room number and date of stay so I can further investigate the issue of the contact lens. Our goal is to ensure you are 100% satisfied with us and your stay.

Thank you for your time and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Tom Molenda
General Manager
716.689.0015
tmolenda@harthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

The hotel was lightly booked and I'm pretty sure we got one of the worst located rooms in the hotel - right above the noisy highway. This has been a common theme for hotels we've booked through Hotwire. The bathroom had no heat and was freezing this time of year. We
preordered breakfast through room service and it didn't show up. We got breakfast at IHOP for the same price as a half pot of room service coffee. Booking through Hotwire is cheaper but customers who use Hotwire to book don't seem to be treated so well.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WendyBeeblebrox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hello Wendy Beeblebrox,

Thank you for writing and sharing your review. I would like to apologize for the cold bathroom and our misstep with your breakfast order. Like with most reviews we do not get all of the information needed in order for me to investigate the room and the individuals responsible for the service malfunction. If you would be so kind as to call or email me so I can get more information from you that would be greatly appreciated.

Additionally, I can assure you that our mission is to satisfy each and every guest of our hotel. It does not matter how you booked your room, in the end you are our guest and we take that responsibility very seriously.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Tom Molenda
General Manager
716.689.0015
tmolenda@harthotels.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed at this location from a Friday evening to Sunday morning. The hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating. We rented a meeting room for a group dinner on he Saturday night. The only issue we had all weekend was that it was a busy night for the catering staff and they hotel did not have any extra capacity to addess our additional food needs - admittedly, we asked for additional food last minute, but only had to do so as, when we arrived at the dinner, we realized that the amount of food we ordered was far less than we thought. I recommend ensuring that you discuss the number of people attending the event, and getting enough food for that number.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Hi David L,

Thank you for taking the time to write and share your review. I do remember your group as I was present at the time you ordered your additional items. I recall us taking more time than normal to accommodate the added items but I believe in the end we provided you with the add on's as requested. I did also address the entire room with an apology for the delay in time for the added items and also provided some complimentary beverages for the trouble. We always try and set ourselves up for success in advance, especially when we know we have a full hotel and all the banquet rooms are rented. I hope in all you enjoyed our facility and our offerings.

Sincerely,

Tom Molenda
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst

Address: 10 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Buffalo Amherst)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amherst
#5 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $108 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst welcomes you with an innovative blend of contemporary design and traditional hospitality. Conveniently located just off I-290 in Amherst, NY, the hotel is between downtown Buffalo and beautiful Niagara Falls. Park your vehicle in the hotel parking lot and fly from our suburban, northeast Buffalo hotel, just 10 minutes from Buffalo International Airport. Drive less than one mile to the University of Buffalo North Campus (SUNY) and only minutes to shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Amherst
Amherst Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing