We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

we stayed here for Thanksgiving weekend in November, we were impressed......very friendly front desk and cleaning staff and the room was clean and nice really like that there was no carpet in the room!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello Patricia,

It's always good to hear from our Friends up North! Thank you for the nice review and for pointing out the friendliness level of our team. We strive daily to reach these levels and are proud to read reviews like this.

Thank you again.

Tom Molenda
General Manager
Proud Member of the DoubleTree by Hilton C.A.R.E. Community.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 959 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently when my son was attending a hockey tournament at the University of Buffalo. Check-in staff were very friendly and efficient. Rooms were clean and comfortable. We had two rooms for our family and enjoyed the "adjoining" features of the double rooms which many hotels don't have anymore. Breakfast was quick.

Hotel is close to everything, lots of restaurants on Maple Road and Niagera Falls bouldevard, close to shopping, university etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RH_Travellors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello RH Travellors,

I always like when reviews start off with the words Nice and Clean! Thank you for your review and for pointing out our friendly service and our close proximity to entertainment venues. Please remember we also offer 24 hour shuttle service within 5 miles of the hotel.

Thank you again, and Safe Travels.

Tom Molenda
General Manager
A Proud Member of the DoubleTree by Hilton C.A.R.E. Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about this hotel. Price was excellent, every single staffer super polite, cheerful and extremely helpful. Manager there highly interested on seeing to needs of guests. we were there longer than expected due to car breakdown, six nights, and found it wonderful. Full size pool and large hotub. Super clean. They even offered to help us get snow off car after a snowfall. Convenient to all points in buffalo, suburbs, and airport and canada. Lots of restaurants nearby. Starbucks in lobby. Will stay there again. N Bonn and family.

Room Tip: First floor rooms great for anyone who has trouble walking. Pool and spa on first floor. No stairs...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel several times, although this was my first visit since it switched from Hotel Indigo to Doubletree. The chocolate chip cookies upon checking-in were a huge hit. I stopped back at the desk for several more during my stay. The desk staff were very helpful and pleasant. The room was spacious and comfortable. The coffee maker in the room was excellent, although I ran through the supply of coffee cups and had to get more from the front desk. The bed was very comfortable. The wireless Internet was among the fastest hotel wireless connections I have ever used. The shower had good height and water pressure, but I missed the wooden bench that was there in the Indigo days. Bath linens were top quality. All in all, it was an excellent stay, and I look forward to staying there on my next overnight trip to the Amherst area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bovenzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This was a great spot to stay. This was a girls w/e away, and we found the hotel well situated and close to malls and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable, and the pool and hot tub were nice after a busy day of shopping. Everything looked very clean. Nice shower in BR, and separate toilet from sink works well with a group. Only thing lacking was a small frig.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvthecountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Hello luvthecountry,

Catchy sign in name by the way! Thank you for your review. We appreciated you value comments as so many people are looking for real value in their purchases. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and our location. We are fairly centralized to the four major shopping centers in the area, so it works well for girls get away's looking to do some shopping.

Kindly request a micro / refrigerator room on your next stay as we have a number of these rooms in our inventory.

Happy Holidays,

Tom Molenda
General Manager
A Proud Member of the DoubleTree by Hilton CARE Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The staff at this hotel made it a great stay!!! Everyone was friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and the bed was extremely comfortable. The only reason why I did not give it five stars was the fact that we could hear noises from the room above, maybe because the floors are laminate hardwoods?

The location is right across from UB north campus and close to many restaurants. It is very close to the 290 expressway so it is an easy jaunt to Niagara Falls or any major attraction in the Buffalo area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Hello Kathleen,

Thank you for such a nice review and for the positive comments on our location and bed comfort. I am sorry you experienced soem noise from the room above. We have added one area rug in all of our rooms to try and reduce the issue you mentioned. We are in the test phase now to see how it is addressing this issue. Thank you for sharing with us and we appreciate your time.

Happy Holidays

Tom Molenda
General Manager
A Proud Member of the DoubleTree by Hilton CARE Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

I always stayed here when it was the Indigo and liked it then but I love it now! Even though it is a bit more expensive than it use to be I find the staff much friendlier and the food even better! Keep up the good work Doubletree!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tafferdills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TMolendaInnKeeper, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Hello Tafferdills,

Thank you for staying with us and for noticing all of our positive changes. We strive daily to ensure all of our guests experience this level of comfort and service.

Thanks for noticing.

Happy Holidays

Tom Molenda
General Manager
A Proud Member of the DoubleTree by Hilton CARE Community

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst

Address: 10 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047 (Formerly Hotel Indigo Buffalo Amherst)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Amherst
#5 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $125 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst welcomes you with an innovative blend of contemporary design and traditional hospitality. Conveniently located just off I-290 in Amherst, NY, the hotel is between downtown Buffalo and beautiful Niagara Falls. Park your vehicle in the hotel parking lot and fly from our suburban, northeast Buffalo hotel, just 10 minutes from Buffalo International Airport. Drive less than one mile to the University of Buffalo North Campus (SUNY) and only minutes to shopping, dining, and entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Indigo Amherst
Amherst Hotel Indigo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing