We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I thought it would be a step up from Hampton - It wasn't!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I thought it would be a step up from Hampton - It wasn't!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We booked for one night at the Homewood Suites, thinking it would be a step up from the Hampton. Although there was a small kitchen and a small 'living room' there was also a very very small bedroom. Trying to cram too much into a small space to start with.
The room was clean, the bed was comfortable - up to Hilton standards.
The staff was friendly and helpful. (Checkin time was 3pm - at 3:30 our room was not ready)
The breakfast was not as good or with the same variety as Hamptons (which are my favourite).
All in all it was acceptable. I might have been expecting too much.

Room Tip: Go fo ran inside room, not main floor. Will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Answerman543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us. We appreciate your input as hearing from our guests helps us to make necessary changes to best meet your expectations. We apologize you were disappointed in your stay and that you found our spaces to be cramped. We try our best to maximize our available space and we welcome any suggestions as to how we might better achieve this. We will be sure to share your comments on our breakfast selection with our culinary team as they will be able to make adjustments to our offerings. We are glad you found our staff to be friendly and welcoming and that you were able to rest while with us. We hope to have another chance to show you the quality service and accommodations you expect, should you visit the area in the future.

Thank you,
Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    144
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
302
76
21
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Came on a x-boarder shopping trip. The hotel is well located right off the highway between several malls and outlets. Nice to start the day with included hot breakfast and Mon-Thurs a hot meal at the end of day as well!

Rooms have a well equipped kitchen with a microwave, burners, full sized fridge and dishes..... makes traveling on a budget easy!

Only small complaint is an easy fix - the rooms have a dishwasher, but do not give you dishsoap to wash anything yourself (housekeeping runs everything through the dishwasher!) - strange, we ran out of dishes more than once!

Good pool for the kids and they seem to accept pets! (we did not have one, but others did)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Kids2TravelWith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank You for the great recomendation to your fellow border crossing shoppers! We appreciate you taking the time to write a nice review. In the future, if you ever need dishsoap just let us know. We will ensure to leave some in your room. Thanks again for the kind words and we hope to see you on future shopping trips!

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We selected this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and the fact that it had two queen beds. It far exceeded our expectations - we didn't want to leave. We had a suite which gave us a separate area which was more than comfortable for four of us to relax. The kitchen was nice as allowed us to buy some groceries for the room. The lobby was welcoming and the breakfast had enough selection (hot and cold) to satisfy everyone. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Dear Karen W,

Thank you for the glowing review! I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the service we strive to offer. We look forward to taking care of you on your next trip to town. Happy Holidays!

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I have been a hilton honors member for many years now, and had got used to their hospitality (mostly stayed in Hampton Inn and Homewood suites, depending on location and price). Recently, I tried another hotel group in Austin, and was flabbergasted. So, when I traveled to Buffalo to watch a Bills game, we booked this hotel. We were thankfully reassured. All is well in the world of hospitality. The front staff was sweet, as expected; the room excellent. The breakfast was ok. I am sticking with the hilton group whenever possible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gurneet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank You for taking the time to share your experience at the Homewood Suites Amherst. We appreciate the great review especially since you are a Hilton Honors member. We are glad we lived up to all your expectations. We hope to you again on future trips!

Sincerely,
Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Remsen, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed on the fourth floor. Chose an even numbered room to be away from the busy highway. Rooms are designed for extended stays with frig, stove, dishwasher, microwave. Breakfast was included and was sufficent for the business traveler. Free internet a plus. Near SUNY Buffalo and I-290.

Room Tip: Ask for an even numbered room to be away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank You for referring to us as "A Gem." We appreciate the great title and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back and visit us the next time you are in the Buffalo-Amherst area.

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

My family stayed for two nights this November for shopping and relaxation. We needed a hotel that was pet-friendly, had a nice-sized pool, breakfast included, free Internet and parking. The Homewood Suites delivered on all of these. The light dinner was a nice plus as we don't really like going out for dinner after a long day.

Staff was very friendly and hard-working. The ladies at breakfast and dinner were always checking to replenish the food and clean up. The lobby, breakfast and pool areas were well-maintained.

Our room was spotless and did not smell of pet which we have experienced in other hotels. The kitchenette was also useful for leftovers and stuff. It was also very quiet considering the hotel was right next to the highway.

I loved that they have a space at the back of the hotel where you can walk your dog. They even had bags to encourage picking-up after your pets.

Although it is not the most inexpensive option for staying in the Buffalo area, we would stay here again on future shopping trips and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard side are probably quieter. We had our window open and didn't really noti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank You for the great review you wrote on Trip Advisor! The kitchen staff will be especially thrilled to hear the great things mentioned about them! I am glad to hear you enjoyed everything with your stay. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just spent a weekend at this very nice hotel near all the outlet malls in Buffalo. Beautifully maintained with very homey touches. The rooms are like one bedroom suites with very comfortable beds and a large living room and small kitchen area. They offer a large breakfast selection including hot choices such as eggs, sausages and oatmeal along with the normal cereals and fresh fruit. We did not use the pool however it looked very clean and was well used by many of the families. They have a large great room in the main lobby which is very nicely furnished and welcoming. I would highly recommend this hotel in the Buffalo area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lambie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank You for the kind words. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast and our suites. I hope you found some great deals on your shopping trip! Please come back and see us the next time you head to the outlets! Thanks again.

Sincerely,

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
0.8 mi away
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Address: 1138 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14226-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amherst
#1 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is perfectly situated in the quiet Buffalo suburb of Amherst, NY. The Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo/Amherst is located just one mile from the University of Buffalo and a quick 15 minutes drive from downtown Buffalo. Our all-suites hotel is perfect for families, business travelers, and extended stay guests. For your comfort and convenience we provide each guest with a complimentary breakfast every morning, complimentary dinner Monday through Thursday evenings as well. If you are in town for business take advantage of the business center and complimentary internet access. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen with two-burner stove, microwave, and refrigerator. On your next visit to the Buffalo area be sure to consider the Homewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Homewood Suites Buffalo Amherst
Homewood Suites Amherst
Homewood Amherst
Hilton Amherst
Amherst Hilton
Amherst Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing