We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you TripAdvisor and its reviewers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thank you TripAdvisor and its reviewers!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

First , I appreciate "TripAdvisor's" site and the travelers who write honest reviews of their stay. You have helped me to locate a hotel, restaurant,vacation attraction,etc..with less of a trial and error process, Thank you to all of the reviewers!
You were on target about this hotel and its accommodations. My stay was from October 6, to October 8, 2012 and I traveled with my two teenage daughters and my young adult niece. As stated, the rooms were spacious( we stayed in the two queen beds suite). The kitchen was well equipped with nice sturdy looking pots, the coffee mugs were a nice size, there was a toaster as well as microwave and a full refrigerator. These may seem trivial to some but is essential if you are staying for a week or longer and the options for eating out become more expensive and less satisfying. The beds had nice pillow tops and the pillows were over sized and fluffy.Two flat screen televisions(in the bedroom and living area), free internet access and sufficient outlets for charging all of our gadgets. There was a pool and hot tub. The pool was only 5 feet but that was ideal for a non swimmer like me. The hot tub was a nice treat to warm up after having been in the pool. Parking was free with plenty spaces available. There seemed to be quite a few families with young children but I didn't hear any noise while I was in my room.Breakfast had enough of a variety to keep one full until lunch and the duration was long enough to accommodate early and late risers(6:30-10 a.m.) The staff was unobtrusive but accessible. One sour note...I could not apply my AARP or AAA discount on their website for the dates that I had. There was also a provision for a 10% discount if one booked a suite and was over 50 years old. When I pointed that out at check in I was again told that it wasn't applicable. Had if not been for the other amenities I would have found this a big turnoff. I would definitely book this hotel again and I will look for this brand when staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alindalynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank You for sharing your experience at the Homewood Suites. I will be sure to share your comments with the rest of the staff. They will be delighted to hear you enjoyed everything we offer. We hope to see you on your next trip to Buffalo.

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    145
    32
    13
    9
See reviews for
305
77
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I've stayed in dozens of mid- to long-term hotels over the years and this Homewood Suites is over the top. The people, the amenities, the service, the complimentary meals... none can beat them, as far as I'm concerned.

I didn't get to meet or talk with all of the staff, but ask for Amber, Rae, Elaine, Karen and Michelle... telling them that 'Joe sent you' won't matter because you're going to get first-class service, just as I've had :-)

I would live here if I could. So, tell everyone you know that when they're staying near BUF this is the place to go.

~Joe

Room Tip: It would be good to get a lower floor and closer to the lobby to make it easier to get there for bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeVo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Joe,

Thank You for recomending our hotel on Trip Advisor! That was a very nice review and the staff appreciates being mentioned! I hope you will be back in the area soon so you and I have the chance to talk! Thanks again for the kind words.

Sincerely,
Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

As always, this hotel is just perfect! The staff is always friendly and willing to go above and beyond. As an employer, I would like to know how they get such great people. Just had a hot breakfast that was the best we've ever had here! Scrambled eggs or eggs scrambled with cheddar, maple sausage , waffles, fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, toast, bagels and muffins, juice and cereals. They have literally everything anyone could want. Our suite, with kitchen, is spacious and very clean! We can not recommend this place highly enough!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank qqqqqq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank You for referring to us as "Perfect!" My breakfast staff will be thrilled to hear the great comments about breakfast. They have putting a lot of effort into the menus. Thank You for the great review and please come back and see us the next time you are in the Buffalo/Amherst area!

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here last weekend and were very pleased with this hotel. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We booked a studio room and my only small issue is that this type of room does not have a bathtub only a stand-up shower. We did not hear any noise from any other guests during our stay which was a plus for me as I am a light sleeper. Not the cheapest hotel in Amherst, but I would definitely stay here again. The breakfast was very good too.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor facing the highway but the noise of the traffic did not bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbcOntario_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank You for the great review! I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our studio style suites only have the stand-up shower. If you prefer to have a bathtub, be sure to reserve one of our one bedroom suites on your next trip. Thanks again for the comments and we hope to see you on future travels!

Sincerely,
Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and the hotel was very homey and welcoming. The main floor living room/breakfast area was well decorated and had comfy furniture. The breakfast selections were plentiful and good. All the staff was very helpful. The room was Very nice - a mini efficiency - TV viewing , desk work, kitchen or sleeping - perfect selection. Special Thanks to Rae for giving us the inside scoop on area restaurants and help with maps to one of the many Fall Fesitvals now going on. Didn't use the pool (indoor) or workout room but both looked impressive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betsy448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank You for the nice review! Rae was very excited to see her name mentioned! I am glad to hear she took great care of you! I hope you will visit us on your next stay in the Buffalo/Amherst area. Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience.

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was in Amherst (Buffalo) New York for a wedding, and since I was traveling with my wife and our two Boston Terriers, I chose Homewood Suites to stay in. They are a 'pet friendly' hotel, which played a factor in the choice - but the location was great as well. It's right off of the 290 Highway, which is one of the major thoroughfares of Buffalo and it's suburbs. Plus, I'm a big guy who loves to east chicken wings, and being .03 miles from Duff's World Famous Wings was also a big plus.

The Hotel, though - was a very nice property! The site was well maintained, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The place was clean and spacious - a great meeting room, where they served a hot breakfast buffet every morning, was a plus. The indoor pool and spa was a great way to relax. Our suite was really amazing - it was two comfortable rooms. Full kitchen, decent size bathroom, good bed, and two HD TVs. Our pups loved the place too, and they were very good to them - they gave 'em treats on the way in.

This is a very nice hotel to stay at, and the prices didn't break the bank. I'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear Steven A,

Thank you for the great comments! I am glad to hear you and the dogs enjoyed the property! Duff's is a very popular stop for many of our guests so I am glad you had the chance to dine there. Thanks again for the great review and please come back and see us on your next trip to Buffalo.

Sincerely,

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My 87 year old mother, my 68 year old brother and I stayed here for one week while celebrating a family reunion. We were delighted with the accommodations which included wonderfully comfortable beds and quality linens. In the common areas, we enjoyed the spa, the business center, the meals provided, and the staff. Of particular mention to staff was the evening registrar, Rae, who provided so much helpful information and was so delightful. With Rae's help, we have joined the Honors club and intend to use Homewood Suites on other visits to family throughout the U.S. We have a deeper appreciation for our Buffalo roots and have this facility to thank for making everything so easy!
Barb Blanchard
Missoula, MT

Room Tip: Choose a room away from basketball court and air conditioning unit; it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HomewoodAmherst, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Barbara,

Thank You for the great review you wrote on Trip Advisor! Rae will be especially thrilled to hear the great things mentioned about her! I am glad to hear you enjoyed everything with your stay and that the staff did everything to make your stay easy! Thanks again for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,

Melisa Syro
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amherst
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
0.4 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Buffalo Williamsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Address: 1138 Millersport Hwy, Amherst, NY 14226-1721
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Amherst
#1 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is perfectly situated in the quiet Buffalo suburb of Amherst, NY. The Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo/Amherst is located just one mile from the University of Buffalo and a quick 15 minutes drive from downtown Buffalo. Our all-suites hotel is perfect for families, business travelers, and extended stay guests. For your comfort and convenience we provide each guest with a complimentary breakfast every morning, complimentary dinner Monday through Thursday evenings as well. If you are in town for business take advantage of the business center and complimentary internet access. Each suite has a fully equipped kitchen with two-burner stove, microwave, and refrigerator. On your next visit to the Buffalo area be sure to consider the Homewood Suites Buffalo/Amherst. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Buffalo Amherst Hotel Amherst
Homewood Suites Buffalo Amherst
Homewood Suites Amherst
Homewood Amherst
Hilton Amherst
Amherst Hilton
Amherst Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing