We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best of Northern Italy!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Marco Ristorante

San Marco Ristorante
Ranked #6 of 143 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $36
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Locally owned and family operated for 31 years. We strive to provide you the best Northern Italian cuisine in all of Buffalo.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best of Northern Italy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

We decided to eat at this restaurant last weekend when staying in the area. We were a bit hesitant since my husband family is from Northern Italy and we are used to eating not good Italian food, but great Italian food. This restaurant did not disappoint! The Bolognese sauce was to die for! Just like it tasted in Bologna! No kidding! The pasta was cooked perfect and the wine selection is really good! We will be going back to the area next month and already my mouth is watering. Good job!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tafferdills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    17
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service with a few issues”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

This was my second visit to San Marco in 2 months. Both times I was very impressed with the excellent quality of the food, service, and ambience. Our party of five ordered all 3 of the nightly appetizer and entree specials. All of our dinner selections were expertly prepared and delicious. The waiters are unobtrusive and professional. Unfortunately, at both courses several of our items arrived lukewarm. This is a little surprising since the restaurant was only about 1/2 full. My other issue was that the delay for delivering all courses was noticeably longer than expected even in a fine dining restaurant like San Marco. I was especially surprised by how long our coffee took to arrive since we didn't order desserts. But for these shortcomings, I wouldn't hesitate to give San Marco an "excellent".

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teensiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville
Level Contributor
302 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Consistently wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

On a recent Sat. night, our party of three had a great dinner here. Two of us started with an appetizer special of the night - a pasta dish with braised oxtail. It was fabulous! Two of us also opted for an entree that was a special of the evening - sea bass with a delicious pesto cream sauce on top, and accompanied with perfectly cooked mixed vegetables (carrot, zucchini, summer squash) and a few pieces of potato. Everything was nicely seasoned. The third person in our party chose an entree from the regular menu - a dish of scallops and shrimp served over pasta with a delicious brown sauce. Service was top notch. The wine list is very nice. We've eaten here a number of times over the years, although I would not say that we regulars. We have always had a wonderful experience here. You can't go wrong.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pasbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best Restaurant in the Buffalo area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Excellent restaurant service and food are the best in Buffalo, not pretentious but delivers quality at its highest standard. I move from the Toronto area a few years ago and this restaurant rates with Toronto's best, yet much more reasonable ,its worth an hour drive just to eat at this establishment.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

We celebrated a HS graduation with a fun dinner with close friends. Service was good, food was absolutely outstanding. This is one of the very best restaurants in the Buffalo area.

Helpful?
1 Thank Leigh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to San Marco Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing