We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointed”
Review of Rizotto Ristorante

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rizotto Ristorante
Reserve with OpenTable
Rizotto Ristorante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 145 Restaurants in Amherst
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Amherst, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I came here for a friend's birthday dinner and having read some good reviews about this restaurant I was very excited to try it. We had a reservation for 6 people but when we got there they did not have a record of it. So we waited for a table and they put us at the first small table near the bar. The table was not nearly enough to seat 6 people comfortably so we had to request a larger table. We were finally put towards the back of the restaurant. The service was okay at first but further into the dinner we seem not to exist to our server. I ordered the Spaghetti Carbonara and it was awful, the pasta had a pool of butter/oil at the bottom of the plate. I ended up not eating most of it. The manager did take it off the bill but I was truly disappointed and I will not be returning to this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aznsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    14
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
106 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not such a good experience”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Lovely restaurant, not so good food. Food is too "big". Hogie rolls are huge with not enough sausage to fill them. Hamburger was too tall to fit in your mouth. Also served with a drippy tomato salad that made the bottom of the hamburger roll wet. Yuck! Delicious but needed to be taken apart to eat. Chicken salad was so tough it couldn't be cut with a knife. Very dry also.
Antipasto items were good. Waitress never came back to check so by the time she did it was too late to change mom's chicken salad dish.
Won't return anytime soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MMTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“If you like risotto . . .”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very friendly, attentive service in an attractive atmosphere. The risotto special was outstanding and the other dishes quite good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Back-in-Bklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptional Dining”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We attended a wedding rehearsal dinner at this restaurant in July. The buffet selection chosen was delicious and temperature of food on the buffet table was comfortably hot. Staff was accommodating and attentive to our needs, and welcoming.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LelandClevelandNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointed!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Visited this restaurant for a family gathering based on rave reviews from Trip Advisor previous guests as well as members of our group. The first impression with the restaurant was not welcoming; we dealt with a "host" (who could be the owner) who was abrupt and impatient when making the reservation. Luckily, when we called back, we got a friendly, personable hostess who made a much better impression. When we first arrived, the original host we dealt with (unfortunately) seated the eight of us. He became impatient when he had to wait for our elderly parents to catch up with him to tell us about the antipasto bar. Once seated, our waitress introduced herself. She was young and friendly but was hard to hunt down for appetizers and drink orders. Appetizers were ordered from the antipasto bar as well as the menu. Ordered the Buffalo Chicken risotto; dish was large, risotto was a bit pasty. Other appetizers were okay. Our dinner entrees took an inordinate amount of time and once received, some were warm and some were cold. All was okay but nothing special - Raviolini was in a tomato cream sauce which was thick and lukewarm, the pork chop and filet of beef were also not hot and the lobster ravioli was a disappointment. Had to wait 15 minutes for the waitress to clear the table after dinner and we had to ask her for coffee (which was never refilled) and she never offered dessert, just brought our bill. A disappointing event.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PittsburghTravelers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rizotto Ristorante also viewed

 

Been to Rizotto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing