We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yumm!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ted's Hot Dogs

Ted's Hot Dogs
Ranked #2 of 143 Restaurants in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Mansfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Yumm!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

The first restaurant I visit, every time I visit home. The hot sauce is addicting. The hot dogs, with everything, are oh so good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Smiles3usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    62
    11
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
97 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disappointing, Sort of”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

This restaurant has been around for around 50-60 years and was known as Ted's famous hot dogs. I believe this is one of the restaurants reviewed on Triple D by Guy Fieri, not sure. Anyway the hot dog wasn't bad, it was cooked the way I like it but the bun was not toasted, heated, or buttered. I prefer my buns to be toasted...LOL I know, I know. The choice of toppings is good but there was no cole slaw, plus they put ketchup on my hot dog..yuk!! the onion rings looked awesome but, sadly, the taste was bland and a little greasy. One thing I discovered at this restaurant was a drink that we had been told about. Loganberry.
It's kind of like a grape Kool-Aid. It's very good (and sweet) and very popular in Buffalo. It's not a carbonated drink. Coke and Pepsi make it but we think the Pepsi product is the better one. If you live in the South like we do, you'll have to go North or order it online to get it.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KittyO897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Hot Dog I've had in a long time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

I ordered the footlong with fries. It' nothing fancy, just a hot dog but it was cooked on a charcoal grill and tasted pretty darn good for a great price. Even received a military discount which made it cheaper. I would eat there again if I ever come back through town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Pressey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavares, FL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hot dogs with skines”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This is NOT a sit down and have a waitress take your order. You stand in line with the rest of the world and watch them cook hot dogs with skins. Onion rings ans vanilla shake complete the meal. Great taste at a moderate price.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“The best hot dog place in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

Visiting Teds is so predictable: You walk in, get in line with the other people and they ask you what you want to eat, and they ask if you want fries or rings, then someone else asks you what you want to drink.. all the while watching your food being prepared in front of you on the grille. You pay, take your food and devour a delicious grilled meal. My only gripe is you have to specifically ask for a small fry, because the "regular" is the large. I save some money by ordering ice water, and it's ice cold, large and is actually clean, non-chlorine smelling. They have plenty of indoor seating and also several picnic benches outside. Always excellent!!! Regular hot dog, small fry and ice water is $4.33 as of 7/27

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ted's Hot Dogs also viewed

 

Been to Ted's Hot Dogs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing