We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay anywhere else!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2010

It was by far the best experience we've had in hotel living. The manager Judy went above and beyond the "job" to make sure all of our needs were met.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homebodyky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 173 of 184 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2010

Stayed here for just one night and we were definitely impressed. Exceptional customer service at the front desk at both check-in and check-out. A friendly smiling welcome and equally as friendly good-bye, both giving great impressions. The customer is most important at this spotless hotel. Our 2 queen bedroom "suite" (though really just one room) was a very pleasant surprise with its large size, full-size refrigerator, stove top, microwave, dishwasher. The beds were absolutely incredible comfortable, we all slept so well ! Very nice large flat screen TV and DVD player and an entire list of DVD's available from the front desk. Amazingly quiet hotel for such a busy area, we never heard a sound from the time we checked in at 4:00 pm and all through the night. We had originally requested a top floor room and the check-in clerk informed us that there was a large group all on that floor. She suggested the first floor as a quieter alternative. I wouldn't normally take a first floor room, but we're so glad we did. Again, so peaceful, you couldn't hear a sound from rooms on either side or above either. Oh, and can't forget the free internet service, which was excellent the entire time and free parking too.
I think we paid a very fair nightly rate considering there are a couple of other chain hotels in the area that are $50-$60 more! We wouldn't have traded our room for either - we had everything we needed and more.
I highly recommend this hotel, it truly couldn't have been a single bit better! WOW, we were totally impressed!

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
Thank willow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Decided to have a weekend shopping getaway in Buffalo and turned to Tripadvisor for advice. We decided on Candlewood based on reviews and we were not disappointed.
The hotel is very new, just a few months old. Everything still smells new, the bed linen was very clean & fresh, bathroom spotless. Room had fridge & stove, etc, everything you need for an extended stay. This hotel however does not offer free breakfast, that is one reason why it is so reasonably priced, but don't worry, Denny's, Tim Horton's, etc, located very close to hotel for breakfast. Excellent location, Boulevard Mall (in my opinion best mall in Buffalo area) is only about a mile down the road. Many restaurants, stores, etc, in this area. Front desk people were very friendly & helpful. For our next trip to this area there is no doubt we will return to this hotel.... highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobo2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2009

i over heard the housekeeping manager yelling at an employee about reporting a dicomfort feeling about being an employee. it was obvious that the manager was upset about the girl reporting it to a higher position boss named judy. it was terrible and early in the morning on oct 10th 2009. i would never stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank interhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed here during our trip to Niagara. All the hotels near Niagara were expensive and this place was just 20 mins from Niagara, so decided to stay here. We were worried how the hotel would be and we were taken by surprise. The hotel was really wonderful and spacious and very clean. This hotel is much better than the 3.5 star hotels you get in Manhattan. There was even a proper kitchen and dining table for 4 within the room. I wish I had pics to show you how nice the hotel was. The hotel also had a fitness centre and a laundry room.

Just had one bad incident - we heard some loud thumping noise on top of our room in the middle of the night and the front desk receptionist knocked our door at 3 am as someone in the floor below us had complained about it. I wish they called us to inquire instead of coming to the room. Even in the morning to find out if we are checking out, they knock on the door and inquire.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vels527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Well i was looking for labor day getaways. I was traveling w/ my wife and my parents to Niagara. Found this NON Smoking Hotel about 20-25 min drive from Niagara which already had good reviews for $93/night ( expensive because of long weekend).

I checked in late and was smoothly checked in into our rooms. I just crashed. The room was very clean and had all amenities (microwave, fridge, TV, coffee). Wifi connectivity was good too from room.
Bathroom was clean..which sometimes can be annoying if not.

Hotel is near to lot of restaurants like Dennys , Olive garden and fast food joints like Taco bell, McDonald so that was good.
They had a gym and free laundry which was good too.
Hotel had a computer and a printer in the lobby room for people to surf and take printouts..nice of them to have it. ..no charge for that...

Check out was smooth too and we were out the next day. In all it had all the amenities that a general traveler would like ....i liked it.
Had it been some other weekend, it would have been cheaper.

Definitely worth to Stay !!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkAnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2009

We chose this place because it has a kitchen facilty (full size fridge, stove top and Microwave). Its brand new and clean. Very nice, helpful staff. Elevator broke which made checking out a chore but no worries.
It is a 40 minute ride to Niagra Falls.
Nothing to complain about at all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenyonmartin2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Address: 20 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $120 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing