We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and clean hotel with exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Marys, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quiet and clean hotel with exceptional staff”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Candlewood Hotel made me feel right to home. The staff I meet upon arrival were so welcoming and everyone had a smile. I was settled in within minutes.

The room was very clean and I was please to see how carefully the staff maintain the rooms. The bed was comfortable and the hotel was very quiet. The hotel was completely booked but you would have thought you were the only one on the floor.

When I mentioned dinner the staff had many recommendations and always had the time to answer any questions.

Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. Thank you for the kind words about the staff. They are true hotel professionals and enjoy what they do. Please think of us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo area.
Have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    56
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
86
28
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2014

This past weekend my husband and I stayed in the Candlewood Suites due to a family event. After staying in other hotels of this nature we were very disappointed. Upon checking in we were informed that in the morning we will not be receiving maid service. So, in the am we made the queen bed ourselves. Because we have a queen bed at home this bed seemed very narrow next to others. One side of the bed was so against the wall my husband entered the bed by the foot of the bed. The shower had a curved rod but not a shower head that could be hand held. If we wanted clean towels we needed to bring the used wet towels for replacement to the front desk. The kitchen only offered coffee and a few tea bags. No creamer or sugar. For what we paid for this room we could have stayed somewhere with a breakfast, a coffee maker with the accompaniments and room maid service. The staff was very friendly and this hotel is very convenient to SUNY@Buffalo north campus.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freudie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We're sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. Our hotel is not a "typical" or "traditional" hotel. We're an extended stay hotel(7 nights or more). If you booked the room in advance through a third party (Hotwire, Booking.com, etc.) you would not have been told that. But at check in at the hotel you should have been made aware of the housekeeping schedule for less than a seven night stay. This is an extended stay industry standard. We do not have all the bells and whistles on a "traditional" hotel. No pool, no restaurant etc. What we lack in the traditional hotel amenities we make it up with a lending locker, a free DVD library, free laundry facilities, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford, mi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Nice and clean. Add staff was friendly. They have DVDs you can borrow for free. We stayed on 1st floor and it was terrible!!! Could hear people above us moving around and their water from bathroom...beginning VERY early in morning. Horrible for trying to sleep. :( And disappointing for what we paid to stay here. Stayed in a lower quality hotel in Niagara Falls and couldn't hear anything. No idea why anyone would even be making that much noise for so long so early. If you go ask for a top floor or bring ear plugs!!!!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank mrsweimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. I'm sorry your stay wasn't what you expected. At times, especially during the busy summer season, the hotel is sold out and there are many people in and out at all times of the day and night. We hope that our guests recognize that there are other people in the hotel, but that's not always the case.
We're glad you were able to take advantage of DVD library. All of our rooms are equipped with a DVD player and a flat screen tv. We've also added a lending locker for guests to "borrow" items they may need but didn't bring with them (games, office equipment, kitchen equipment etc).
Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
856 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 672 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We have been traveling for over 40 years and know a great place when we stay there. How welcoming Brad was upon our arrival. We received the red carpet treatment. He was very knowledgeable regarding the Buffalo and other suburban areas. We received good tips on restaurants and attractions. I was greeted and welcomed by Laurie Giancola and Tanira. Every day I was wished a good morn ing, good evening, how was your day, how was your meal, etc. What a wonderful staff! They all seem to enjoy their jobs and visitors. Always smiling....always willing to assist you. Bruce Miller, engineer took my cart and returned it to the lobby for me and wished me a wonderful stay. I enjoyed getting up and going for coffee and being greeted. My husband and I try to stay at Candlewood Suites whenever possible. This is one of the very best places. The room was spacious, beds ultra comfortable, immaculately clean and quiet. We can't wait to go back there on our return trip to Buffalo. Many evenings we found ourselves in the lobby for one thing or another and was always greeted by staff. Brad shared lots of information that was very helpful on this trip. Although we are former Buffalonians, the areas have changed a great deal so it was helpful to be updated. This hotel should receive a "6" overall rating...over and above excellent.

Room Tip: We were in room 400 at the end of the hall. It was very quiet. Close to the Buffalo airport but no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryannF650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. The staff is small but very dedicated. Jackie Lewis, General Manager, and Laurie Giancola, Operations Manager have built a very professional and engaged group of front desk associates. I will share your comments with Tamira, Bruce and Brad. They all truly love what they do and it shows. Thank you for noticing the cleanliness of the rooms and the comfort of the beds. We do appreciate it. Please stay with us again if you find yourselves back in the Buffalo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Level Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The location was very good, as we were in town visiting family that lives in Grand Island and since we didn't like our stay in GI last time we opted this time to stay in the Amherst area. The rooms are a decent size and with the full sized refrigerator , small cook top, and microwave it made the accommodations very comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly. If you have a pet they charge $25 for the pet cleaning fee and there is plenty of space (parking lots mostly with some grassy areas) where you can walk your dog. My only complaint is that the towels were not comfortable , as they had ridges going down them and they were scratchy when you used them. I guess we are used to softer towels, but since that was the only complaint I say for the money and convenience in their location, we will be back! Maybe, down the road they can change their towels to what the Holiday Inn /Express use as they are much softer. (Just a suggestion) thanks !

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SO194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We're very happy you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for noticing we are pet friendly. Traveling with pets is more commonplace now more than ever. We try to make staying with your pet worry free.
I apologize for the scratchy towels. I will share your review with our Executive Housekeeper. We appreciate your kind words about the staff. We're a small staff but extremely dedicated to your hotel experience with us.
Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dryden, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were traveling from TN to NY and knew we would arrive late. Jackie Lewis, hotel manager, did a great job of accommodating our needs. The staff was great, upon arrival. Beds were very comfortable and the price was reasonable.

Room Tip: Great location to Buffalo's finest and proximate to Niagara Falls attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BERNIE2361584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. Jackie Lewis and her staff try to do as much as they can to help our guests out no matter the issue. We're a small staff, but dedicated to the guests experience at the Candlewood.
Thank you again and please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Amherst area again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mi
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We made a return trip to this hotel and our stay was even better than the first. Took our Golden Retriever along. Very pet friendly as they only charge around 20 bucks as opposed to some places in the area that charge 75 plus. They honored out advanced request for a ground level room making it easy to walk the dog. Plenty of grass area on site for that purpose. Room was clean and comfortable with kitchenette and apartment size fridge with plenty of ice. Staff there made our dog as welcome as they did us.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbrobeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We are "pet friendly" (especially Golden Retrievers...!). We understand many travelers do travel with their pets. We try to make it as painless as possible. Please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo area and stop by for a doggy treat for your Golden.
Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Address: 20 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing