We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Nearby Hotels
$159
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn University(Amherst)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$142
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sleep Inn(Amherst)(Great Value!)
$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$115
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Buffalo Amherst/University(Amherst)(Great Value!)
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $127/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveler rating
109
58
18
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
58
18
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan extended stay hotelfront deskfree laundryparking lothonor systemsister hotelour home away from homenorth campusstayed here for two nightsqueen sizeperfect stayfood itemscomplimentary coffeelate checkcomfortable bedslaundry roomthe hotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 189 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is NOT the hotel for a romantic getaway, but if you want a large, comfortable room with a full kitchen and comfortable beds, give it a try. It is especially well-suited for longer stays. I have never been to a hotel that has free washers and dryers for guests! The staff were very nice. It was immaculately clean and much quieter than some of the other hotels in the area. (It has no bar or restaurant and no large public areas so I think it doesn't attract party-goers.)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yankeeinexile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate it. We are not your typical hotel. We're an extended stay hotel without all the bells and whistles of "normal" hotels. We do offer our guests free parking, free Wi-Fi, free fitness center, free laundry and every room has a full kitchen. Our rooms are large and the beds are comfortable.
Our staff is really enjoy what they do and it shows.
If you find yourself in Buffalo again please stay with us again.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights great location appr. 20 min for Galleria Mall and Prime outlets close to restaurants and just off highway.
The rooms are fair size queen beds we were 5 all together an the rooms was comfortable.
Priced pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sharko1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. We are located in such a great area. 20 minutes from Niagara Falls, 20 minutes from the Walden Galleria, 20 minutes from Downtown Buffalo.
Our pricing is different than most hotels because we don't offer all the "bells and whistles" you get at most hotels. Our rooms are big and comfortable. Free Wi-Fi, free parking, free guest laundry.
Please consider staying with us again if you find yourself in the Buffalo area. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

First the elevator was broke for 2 days so had to carry all my stuff to the 4th floor. OK things happen; but on check out I left a day early and they would not refund the last night because I booked on booking.com BEWARE if it is pre-paid they said they could not refund it. The hotel was ok average; I was able to bring my cat as they accept pets. Not much within walking distance regarding eateries so a car would be needed or a bicycle. No pool but you can use the one next door however it is indoor and I was there in July.

Room Tip: Do not stay near the elevators! Don't bother with the sister hotels food; not worth the price!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Jane L,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We decided to take our dog on this two night trip so that limits you choices. We decided to try this hotel. Arrival and check in was fine. Friendly staff. Perks for reward membership. No breakfast but a pay as you go pantry. Kitchenette in room. Big rooms with comfy beds. Plenty of green-space around the property to walk the dog. Free internet worked fine.The one caveat; If you want to cancel a reservation, it will cost you a night fee. Didn't notice that when I made the reservation. But all in all a nice hotel.

Room Tip: pet friendly for only $25 for whole stay
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbrobeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was just serviceable for us. We were there for a wedding weekend. There's no restaurant or breakfast, no maid service, no pool. My 8 year old said "what kind of hotel doesn't even have a place for breakfast??" While there was a functional kitchen area in the room, we didn't have time to go grocery shopping. In any event, since there was no maid service, if we had cooked, the garbage would have stayed in the room the whole stay. I like to have my bed made and my garbage emptied every day in a hotel room. There was also just soap and shampoo in the bathroom (no conditioner or moisturizer), and a lame blowdryer. The room was spacious but that's about it. I don't know how it compared price-wise to the other hotels in the complex (Marriott, Double Tree, Red Roof Inn), but I sure hope it was cheap. (We just stayed where the bridal party stayed without doing any research.)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Thank you for your review and taking time out of your day to do it. I'm sorry our hotel didn't meet your expectations. Our hotel concept is a little different than a standard hotel. We're an extended stay hotel which means limited amenities that you are used to. Having fewer amenities, pool, breakfast, daily housekeeping keeps our rates lower than a typical hotel. Our rooms are bigger, some say apartment like, due to the fact we sometimes have guests stay in that same room for months at a time.
Thank you again for your review. If you'd like to discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel.
Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews