We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Spacious but not for us” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
217 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Spacious but not for us”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was just serviceable for us. We were there for a wedding weekend. There's no restaurant or breakfast, no maid service, no pool. My 8 year old said "what kind of hotel doesn't even have a place for breakfast??" While there was a functional kitchen area in the room, we didn't have time to go grocery shopping. In any event, since there was no maid service, if we had cooked, the garbage would have stayed in the room the whole stay. I like to have my bed made and my garbage emptied every day in a hotel room. There was also just soap and shampoo in the bathroom (no conditioner or moisturizer), and a lame blowdryer. The room was spacious but that's about it. I don't know how it compared price-wise to the other hotels in the complex (Marriott, Double Tree, Red Roof Inn), but I sure hope it was cheap. (We just stayed where the bridal party stayed without doing any research.)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and taking time out of your day to do it. I'm sorry our hotel didn't meet your expectations. Our hotel concept is a little different than a standard hotel. We're an extended stay hotel which means limited amenities that you are used to. Having fewer amenities, pool, breakfast, daily housekeeping keeps our rates lower than a typical hotel. Our rooms are bigger, some say apartment like, due to the fact we sometimes have guests stay in that same room for months at a time.
Thank you again for your review. If you'd like to discuss your stay please feel free to reach out to me at the hotel.
Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    55
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
83
28
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
249 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Built for business and not so much the overnight travelor. Small suites but affordable are its strengths, the negatives are lack of parking, no free breakfast and unreliable wi-fi. Not sure why people call it family friendly, I find it family non friendly and doubt I will stay again. They do too much business for their competition by pointing their guests for good coffee and breakfast to the doubletree next door. Very strange concept by holiday inn.. Good staff and clean hotel..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAppalachainRogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David C, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to review our hotel. It is true our hotel is not "typical" hotel especially for the one or two night traveler. We're an extended stay property where some of our guests essentially live at the hotel, instead of renting an apartment. Without the "typical" amenities that other hotels offer, we can offer better rates for extended stay guests.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and the cleanliness of the property. Our housekeeping staff works very hard to keep the hotel clean.
Thank you again for your time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Stayed here and it was a wonderful experience from start to finish. Everyone that works at this hotel is friendly and kind. The hotel looks very clean, new and fresh. The Managers Jackie and Tamara really go out of their way to help you and make you feel welcome. This should really be a teaching/model hotel , to educate other hotels how to properly run their properties. It is definitely way above average in every way possible. . The price is very reasonable and the best thing is every Tuesday night they have a bbq for their guests !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

Hotel rooms are nice and equipped with kitchenettes. Bath amenities like towels, bath soap, shampoo, etc. are all okay compared to surrounding hotels.

Although some of the rooms are already showing wear and tear and their wifi are a bit slow and unstable with frequent connection drops.

Parking at night can be hard as they have small parking space.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingOracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear TravellingOracle,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding room and bathroom amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding Internet connection. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend in the Buffalo area. We needed a kitchenette, easy access to Buffalo without staying IN Buffalo, and a room that fit us and our two college age kids, which means wi-fi. This hotel was perfect and I can't commend the value enough. A full size fridge, stovetop, microwave, great cable. Close to main roads but we slept soundly. Easy to find coming from the Falls, did some shopping too. We are a bunch of celiacs and it's close to several Wegman's, Outback, Bonefish grill and Carraba's plus the fine dining Buffalo guide is coded for gf fine dining. No, there's no pool or free breakfast. But it was seriously less expensive--- even after a charge for the foldaway bed and the munchies we bought at the little lobby store--- than my next choice and every bit as great a stay. We will never look for another metro Buffalo hotel. It's a keeper.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Good location right across from the entrance to UB North Campus, near lots of restaurants and stores. Very comfortable - very clean. A good place to stay if you are looking for a spacious room with a nice kitchen. Some things to note: This hotel shares a parking lot with what used to be a Hotel Indigo, but is now a DoubleTree. When it was a Hotel Indigo, you were welcome to utilize the facilities there as they were both IHG properties - that's where you will find a bar/lounge, pool, etc. Now that it's a DoubleTree, that's no longer the case. I'm sure they wouldn't mind you spending money at the bar, but you won't be able to use the pool, hot tub, etc. There's a fitness room at the Candlewood, but that's it. This is an extended stay hotel - these types of hotels generally only provide housekeeping once a week. You can get fresh towels and linens, etc. if you need them, but if you want your bed made every morning - you might be disappointed.

Room Tip: This hotel 'does' have connecting rooms - which can often be noisier, especially in extended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WJTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

This hotel was clean, modern, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. The suite provided a fridge, small cooktop and dishwasher.

However, this was not enough to make up for the fact that there was NO DAILY HOUSEKEEPING (fine if just one night) and NO POOL!

This information is buried on their website!

What hotel chain doesn't provide daily housekeeping in this competitive market?

For over $300.00 for 2 nights, this hotel is overpriced!

There are plenty of other options available in the area that do provide these amenities for a similar price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear mason1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us, we value your loyalty to our brand and hotels. I am pleased to know that you found our hotel clean and modern and our staff friendly and accommodating. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations and we are happy you were able to experience it. On the other hand, please accept my apology for the shortcomings you have experienced. As for our extended stay hotel, we only have weekly housekeeping. Nevertheless, we appreciate you letting us know about your concerns. This helps us understand areas we can improve upon.

Thank you for your feedback as it will help us strive to become a better hotel.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#6 of 17 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
0.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and IHG so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing