We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what we needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just what we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here for an extended weekend to visit family. The main reason we stayed here was the hotel's excellent pet policy. It was only a flat fee for 1-6 nights per pet rather than most other places which charge a nightly fee per pet with weight restrictions. Another perk was the full fridge and two burner range top. We didn't take full advantage of them on this trip but could see ourselves applying them in the future to save some money by cooking in for a night or two. It is true that the housekeeping service is weekly, not daily, but unless you live like a slob, that shouldn't be too much of a problem. The room was a tad stuffy when we arrived and I was saddened to see that the window only opens to about 4 inches but it aired out in a short amount of time regardless. I was continually surprised by how quiet this hotel was. It does not appear to have the tissue paper insulation that most hotels do. I don't believe I heard anyone out in the halls, nor did I hear our neighbors (top and sides) for our entire stay. Yes, there are some amenities missing from this hotel (no pool, breakfast, etc. )but for us the convenience and most of all, the QUIET, especially when traveling with pets far outweighed anything that might be missing.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    56
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
84
28
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waterloo
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Nestled among other hotel chains, this property is good but not great. 3.5 stars would be a more accurate rating.
Service was good, not great. There is no breakfast here, no pool/whirlpool, but small gym and a little snack store. The hotel does have a free lending DVD library, good choices.
This rating is based on past experiences at other properties vidited in the US and Canada.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank edulinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

We are moving to New York and the other hotels we've stayed at is nothing compared to here. Sure, you don't have a maid everyday but who cares? Can't make your own bed?? Full sized refrigerator, cabinets, nice large bathroom and closents. Dishwasher, stove tops and sink. And this is a standard room! Very nice staff at front desk! High recommend!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taber3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Normally a Hamton Inn kind of person but for whatever reason the past few stays at Hampton's have been below par. Decided to try the Candlewood in Amherst. Very Nice. A little hard to find as it's tucked in and alongside a few other chain hotels. Nice huge rooms with kitchen/ L.R. and bedroom. Very nice stay. Flat screens in both LR and BR. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Every year we have to help check-out our daughter out of her dorm room and we typically stay in one of the Flint Road hotels or at the Marriott on Maple Road. I/we decided to stay here because we wanted to see the quality differences along this road and I got tired of the "complimentary" breakfast at the Comfort Inn (lots of carbs and for a diabetic, this is not good).

If you need a place to stay, the major hotels for University at Buffalo (North Campus) are at this intersection of Maple Road and Flint Road. Flint Road has the Marriott tower, Comfort Inn, Red Roof Inn, Indigo, Candlewood Suites and a couple of other motels-can't remember them now.

We were pleasantly surprised by the Candlewood suites. This hotel sign is not really visible immediately from the driving perspective, so you have to look so as not to miss the little side road entrance. It shares an entry with the Indigo Hotel. The sign is next to the Red Roof Inn (which my husband stayed in, during his August stay, but he reported huge spiders in the stairwells at face level-Arachnaphobic here-so I wasn't going to stay at Red Roof-no matter how cheap it is!). Anyway the entry road sign is low, blink and you miss it.

This hotel is clean and feels like a Residence Inn. There's a front and back entrance, probably because most people like me, can't see a sign anywhere on the side. (You approach the hotel from a side road and there is no sign on the side road). The hotel sign is at the top, and when you are driving in the parking lot, directly in front of it, then you see the sign.

We had to wait to check in because it was late, but they had a bell; she apologized for not being at the counter. Check in was quick. The have an honor store directly across from the check-in desk. Take what you need and pay in an envelope. They have free laundry with good/new washers and dryers!!! The Laundry room is complemented with the weight/gym so that you can work out, watch TV while waiting for your laundry. The rooms are split but you can access both easily. I don't think they have a pool?

Re your room: They don't have daily room cleanings so you had better clean up after yourself! If you need new towels, the desk staff is constantly folding towels, you go downstairs and bring your wet towels to trade for the new ones. The kitchen has a microwave, with complimentary popcorn, fridge, and dishwasher. There are glasses, bowls and cookware in the cabinets. Dish soap and dishwasher packets are also there.

When we entered the room, the air conditioner had been on. The room was cool and we knew it would be in the forties overnight, so we turned off the air/heat for the evening. The room overnight was comfortable without using the system so we didn't have to dry out our nasal passages at night. It quickly got warm in the afternoon (heat and humidity), so we turned on the air a little in the early evening. It was comfortable.

The room we had was a "queen" bed. I have a queen bed at home, but the new queen beds in the hotels feel like doubles lately. The mattress was extremely comfortable. Pillows are half-size, and you only get 4 total, so this can be an issue if you need a large pillow-which I did. Half pillows didn't work for me. I never asked if they had larger ones, I should have. Since we didn't really use the room, except to sleep and use the fridge, to keep sodas, yogurt and water cold, I can't really describe a weeklong visit.

For a two-day visit, it worked!!

Room Tip: You may want to ask for two queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank beawade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed here for two nights with my husband and daughter (8 months). The rooms were very clean and spacious. We were able to set up our play pen behind the reclining chair so that our daughter had her own space to sleep in and was out of sight from us. I really liked that there was a kitchen area. It made things easier to prepare meals for my daughter. The hotel is very close to Fashion Outlet (approximately 20 min drive) and Walden Galleria (approximately 5 min drive). It is also very close to Babies R Us, Walmart and Target. The staff was great too. They were super friendly. Another great thing about the hotel is they have free laundry service. You just have to bring your own detergent. This was also a bonus as when you travel with a young child, they often dirty their clothes so we had to use the laundry service a few times. The hotel is also a non-smoking building. We plan on staying here again for our future shopping trips across the border!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2012

Just FYI, did not know that Candlewood motels did not provide Maid Service each day or during your stay. Did not read it anywhere, but it's on me for not asking I guess??? we checked in for a 4 night stay at $120.00 a night. Desk clerk advised of no maid service, get your own towels in the lobby if you require new ones, leave trash in hall way, use the same sheets. The room was nice, nice location, Free Wi-Fi, but my wife was not pleased with the maid service thing. Anyway for those who don't ask; FYI.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 911NeverForget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
0.0 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
1.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 16 in Amherst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Property: Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Address: 20 Flint Road, Amherst, NY 14226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing