We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay at candlewood suites”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Amherst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My stay at Candlewood Suites was very comfortable. The bed was very cozy. I liked that I had a separate living area from the bedroom. The price was quite reasonable for the accommodations.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
There are newer reviews for Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

154 - 160 of 184 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2011

We got to this hotel because of mistake made by Holiday Inn in Horsehead, NY. This was very very good hotel. The people in the front desk were very nice and helpful and arranged for us shuttle (from the hotel next to them) to the airport to return our rented car and also at the next day to get to our flight. The room was perfect, very well equipped. Kitchen with set of tools, microwave, fridge, etc. There was both Wi-Fi and Ethernet connection to the Internet. beds were big and the bath was very nice and clean. If you need a place to stay in Buffalo, no doubt it is the right one.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n699fjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We spent three nights in this hotel. Contrary to recent reviews and information provided on the hotel's website, we were notified that the hotel does not provide cleaning services on a daily basis. They clean once a week. We asked why -- and were told that they cater to long-stay guests. So, we had to request fresh towels every morning and had to take out our garbage by ourselves (mind you, we paid over $150 a night for a studio). This was a first for us.
As we entered our room, we realized that the carpet close to the entrance door of the room was soaking wet. We allowed it to dry on its own - opened the window and turned off the A/C. [We were too tired to move to a different room ;-)]
This hotel offers the bare minimum. Nothing special whatsoever.
The atmosphere is so informal that the staff folds the laundry at the front desk.
The A/C works in a strange way. It is freezing cold at any temperature, but at 22C it turns to heat.
The beds are very difficult to sleep in. They are very high and soft.

Room Tip: If service is important to you, book somewhere else.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happykitten4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

This is a great place for an overnight stay if you are doing some shopping. As a Priority Club member I was given an upgrade to a suite and it was huge! The room was extremely clean and well appointed. Check in was fast and friendly and they reminded me that because it was a long stay hotel that housekeeping service was not daily.

We were on the first floor and it was still very quiet. Although we didn't use it I like having the self-serve market just off the lobby. Perfect if you want a snack and don't feel like going out.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank al_kennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

I was staying one night in Amherst to write an exam the next morning at SUNY North Campus. Not only was the location perfect - it's a stone's throw from the university - but the hotel was so much more than I expected. For $110 (taxes included) I got a studio suite with kitchenette, full-sized fridge, pots, pans, coffee maker, the works, plus a queen-sized bed and desk and chair. The room was a decent size, the amenities were way more than I expected, and the hotel was clean and quiet with friendly staff and complimentary laundry room and gym facilities. I realized only afterward that the hotel is an "extended stay" hotel meant for business travellers, which would explain all the amenities.

Everything I needed and more. If I needed to stay near SUNY North Campus (or maybe even anywhere in Buffalo), I'd absolutely go back. The only hiccup was room service: if you order, make sure you point out you're staying at the Candlewood. Room Service is provided by the restaurant at the Hotel Indigo next door (they're part of the same chain), and they'll assume you're staying at the Indigo (and not think to ask) unless you tell them otherwise. If you don't, you won't get your food. And it's cash only.

Otherwise, fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I stayed here on business for an extended stay. The room was clean and new. The staff treats you like family. The free washer/dryers along with the workout facilities were a great addition. The hotel is quiet and primarily serves business travelers during the week. I can't say enough good things about Candlewood in Amherst. It's in a nice area, with many stores close by. Excellent place to stay.

Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
Thank Buffalo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

Our room was really clean and well appointed with refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, fully equipped kitchenette, flat screen TV, and really comfortable beds. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turkib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amherst hotels
0.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Buffalo - Amherst
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Buffalo / Amherst
0.6 mi away
Staybridge Suites Buffalo-Amherst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Buffalo-Amherst
0.1 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ University at Buffalo Amherst
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Marriott Niagara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst

Address: 20 Flint Rd, Amherst, NY 14226-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Amherst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Amherst
#6 Family Hotel in Amherst
Price Range: $120 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Consider us home at Candlewood Suites - Buffalo Amherst. Our 76 room hotel offers queen beds in three different size suites. Studio suites have one queen bed, 2 Queen Bed suites are our most popular, and the One Bedroom suites allow for more privacy. All rooms have a fully equipped kitchenette. We are located across from the Flint Road entrance to the University at Buffalo North Campus and a short drive from shopping and restaurants. We are located almost midway between Downtown Buffalo, including the Medical Campus and Harborside, and the cities of Niagara Falls, NY and Ontario. Comforts of home include free wifi, DVD player in each room, free laundry facilities, an outdoor gazebo with gas grills, and the Lending Locker with games for the kids,DVD's and kitchen appliances for the cooks. Our housekeeping is provided only once weekly, but our staff is at your service and happy to accommodate requests for extra amenities or supplies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Candlewood Suites Hotel Buffalo / Amherst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Amherst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing