We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Leopard Rock Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Gordon's(Mutare)
$130
$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn on the Vumba(Mutare)(Great Value!)
$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$156
$108
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$178
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$119
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Mountview(Mutare)
$117
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
$103
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel EastGate(Mutare)(Great Value!)
$91
Priceline
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
145
104
19
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
104
19
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursegame parkgame reservebeautiful hoteltennis courtsviewing platformvumba mountainsgolf lessonsqueen mothergreat weekendprincess margaretlast visitold worldhot water bottlesamazing servicegame drivesspecial place
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 274 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I am not a golfer but i enjoyed walking on the lovely green grass, mesmerized by the natural mists on the Vumba mountains. A few renovations are needed on the rooms.The food is lovely, cocktails are a wonder.Thumbs up to the barman James! Did not like it when they switched off power when i needed to charge my phones.Enjoyed the lovely scenery during the drive to and from this little hidden wonder!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlefreesoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byran R, General Manager at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Littlefreesoul,

We thank you for staying at the Leopard Rock and sharing this beautiful property with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the fantastic facilities we have on offer!

The state of certain rooms are a concern to us as well, and we have requested the necessary funds to refurbish these and other minor furnishings, so we hope to have this rectified in the near future.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Byran Rocher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Although I am not a golfer, I enjoyed a quiet week-end at this historical mountain resort. The golf course is really stunning, the rooms need a bit of revamping and the food needs improving (one of the worst cups of coffee in my life) but it is generally a great week-end retreat, about four hours' drive from Harare.
Do not rush, as the road is dangerous, due to lack of maintenance and bad drivers. It would be nice if the hotel offered more to non golfers, such as some fishing, for example. There are two very battered tennis courts and a pool right outside the hotel. The rooms also need a bit of revamping but they seem generally ok.
We'll be back some time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ulysses64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byran R, General Manager at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Ullysses64,

We thank you for staying at the Leopard Rock and sharing this beautiful property with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the activities we have on offer!

The state of certain rooms are of concern to us as well as is the state of our Tennis Courts, and we have requested the necessary funds to refurbish these and other minor furnishings, so we hope to have this rectified in the near future. We are sorry that your coffee was not up to the 5* standards we set ourselves, however we are looking into training our staff further so that the preparation of Coffee and Tea is perfected.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Byran Rocher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed at Leopards Rock for a week of golfing. The place has character and charm but it does require a fair amount of upkeep and maintenance. Our room was large and clean but a little tired looking. The bed was a little soft but OK. The bathroom had a constant leak from the shower/bathtub so there was always a pool of water on the floor. Trying to get a constant flow of hot-water (not scalding) was always a challenge although the water pressure was good. The staffs were very nice and accommodating. The food was pretty good. The golf course definitely need some TLC which was too bad as it could be a great golf course. Apparently the lawn mower was broken when we were there so they could not cut the fairways and if your ball went into the rough – good luck finding it the grass was so long. It was hard enough finding your ball on the fairway. The biggest problem was trying to reserve this place. We found 2 or 3 web sites, send a dozen emails but no response. We finally tried phoning them and asked for an email confirmation but no go. If my husband had not wanted to golf there so bad I would have given up and gone somewhere else. The Wi-Fi worked pretty good for Africa. The place definitely has old world charm but it needs some work done soon before it deteriorates too much more.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byran R, General Manager at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear LLHGEG,

We thank you for staying at the Leopard Rock and sharing this beautiful property with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the activities we have on offer!

The bathrooms are a concern to us as well, and we have requested the necessary funds to refurbish these and other minor furnishings, so we hope to have this rectified in the near future. We are pleased to report that all our Golf Course Machinery is in working order now and we hope you come and enjoy the Course again as it looks better than ever. Our Booking System has now been Streamlined as we have a dedicated Reservations Department reachable at Reservations@theleopardrock.com. We hope this will be easier for future reservations!

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Byran Rocher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Went to Leopard Rock for a game of golf and was blown away by the course - its beauty, its challenging holes, its views over the valley and its well kept neat and tidy course. Just fabulous if you are in to golf. We also had lunch at the club house which was great - fast service and lovely food. Worth the trek to get to it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nic0laann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byran R, General Manager at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear NicOlaann,

We thank you for staying at the Leopard Rock and sharing this beautiful property with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the activities we have on offer!

We agree that our Golf Course is challenging but beautiful, indeed CNN rated it in the top ten in Africa only last year!

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Byran Rocher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

...for the price. E.g updated furnishings, better dining room (the entrance area is very dated), better amenities - e.g. a spa - the gym was out of use during the Christmas period. I highly recommend the guided hike in the morning, the guide was really good - but he uses the same route everyday.

The sunset game viewing deck was overbooked on the day I went, there were so many people we had to get off the deck - we paid $10 per head for snacks and got peanuts,raisins and biltong pellets - grim. Not to mention the game we were viewing was penned zebras being fed grass by a keeper - felt like a trip to a zoo enclosure. The hour horse ride of the premises was enjoyable (I'm not a rider).

Room Tip: The Presidential suite has a large terrace - cost $400
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TapuwaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byran R, General Manager at Leopard Rock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2014

Dear Tapuwam,

We thank you for staying at the Leopard Rock and sharing this beautiful property with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced the activities we have on offer!

Certain Areas have come under a normal amount of wear and tear and do need some upgrading, so we have requested the necessary funds to refurbish these and other minor furnishings and hope to have this rectified in the near future.

We are sorry that you experienced an overbooked Sundowner - indeed we agree that at certain times, due to its popularity it has been oversubscribed- We are however pleased to report that we have implemented a maximum person policy for the activity and now have all our Game roam freely during feeding time. We will continue improving our guest experience for this activity and hope you enjoy it fully on your next visit!

We thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Byran Rocher, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews