We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing scenery,great service”
Review of Leopard Rock Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mutare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Leopard Rock Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mutare
Certificate of Excellence
Maputo, Mozambique
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery,great service”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Leopard Rock is surrounded by magnificient nature,the management and staff went iut of their way to make the stay pleasent and the service was so great.I loved the sunset game viewing on the platform...something not to be missed.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    95
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
84
62
5
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

We Returned to leopard rock after our last visit 10 years ago and we were greeted very warmly by the staff who were very friendly and helpful during our stay. The resort provides breathtaking scenery and the golf is just amazing, but even if you don't like golf you can you can still enjoy the great outdoors . There are a couple of areas that we felt could be improved to make it a truly first class proposition , the bathrooms urgently need updating and there is also room for improvement on the menu. Overall an excellent world class resort offering value for money and well worth a visit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank dentsur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Mashonaland East, Zimbabwe
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Had a fantastic time, great casino and beautiful poool...check out the game park as well!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughTyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
145 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

As far as I am concerned, the hotel did not matter: I wanted to play one of the most spectacular championship golf courses in the world, and was fully rewarded. Beyond that, the hotel was equally convincing. The family enjoyed an array of activities, among them swimming, tennis and game walk. There is a casino in the hotel, but the clientèle is quiet, so no bothere, there, other than you may be tempted to loose a few bucks yourself. The staff is very friendly and whatever they offer is of quality.
The restaurant deserves a special mention. They use quality local produce and create, mixed with some more exotic ingredients, a kind of Asian-African fusion menu which really convinced us. If you like your meat rare, you have to insist, however, like just about anywhere in Africa! The wine list is good, with a few very decent South African bottles at reasonable prices.
Overall a very comfortable, relaxing quality week-end.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with uneven numbers: these are the ones with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pascal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here just after New Year and totally enjoyed it. We found it to be totally relaxing with a good pool for the children and lots of nice walks around the golf course which is literally in front of the hotel. If you play golf you have to play the course - I was the only player on the course and it was in fantastic condition - the best course I have ever played - even if you don't like golf, walk the course for the views. The food was good and the staff were quite helpful, although the reception desk wouldn't let us call the airport to confirm flights or use the internet. The only problem with the room was the fact that the fridge didn't have a plug on it and even if it had of, we would have had to unplug the TV to use it as there was only one socket. But we weren't there for the mini bar, or the TV. Overall, a place I would love to go back to. Stunning views and a relaxing atmosphere giving you the impression of being far from civilisation - which is not far from the truth really.

Room Tip: A room at the front with a view to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulianSahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harare
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Marvelous hotel, fabulous cuisine, beautiful location. We were well looked after, loved the horseback riding safari and fabulous golf course. The hotel also has a great swimming pool from where you can watch monkeys play.

Room Tip: Most rooms have gorgeous views of the Vumba mountains and stunning golf course. The hotel also has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed here 18 years ago and it was a trip down memory lane for us with our children, but even our teenager who is more in tune with her iPad than anything else, remarked on how beautiful the scenery was.... the hotel is so far ahead of anything in the area, with food that was presented beautifully with innovation and taste - fried and chips were no where to be seen thankfully. The rooms were large albeit lacking the final touches, no flowers, hairdrier, ornaments, but the public rooms featured roaring fires and big comfy sofas. Service excellent, location excellent and breakfasts divine, so def. worth a visit !

Room Tip: Stay in the old part of the building and ask for Queen Mother room built in one of the turrets with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaCLusaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
13.4 mi away
African Sun Amber Hotel Mutare
0.0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bulawayo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
25.7 mi away
Musangano Lodge
Musangano Lodge
#1 of 9 in Mutare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 6 in Mutare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient City Lodge
Ancient City Lodge
#3 of 9 in Masvingo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
295.4 mi away
Matobo Hills Lodge
Matobo Hills Lodge
#2 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leopard Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leopard Rock Hotel

Property: Leopard Rock Hotel
Address: Eggardon Road | Vumba, Eastern Highlands, Mutare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Mutare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Leopard Rock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the Bvumba Mountains - part of the Eastern Highlands of Zimbabwe, the Leopard Rock Hotel provides an extraordinary fusion of natural beauty and world class hospitality. Its old world charm and its internationally acclaimed 18 hole PGA golf course as well as numerous activities which can help you connect with its exceptional surrounds make it an ideal getaway. No wonder the Queen Mother described it this way, "There is nowhere more beautiful in Africa." ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leopard Rock Hotel Zimbabwe/Mutare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing