We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service”
Review of White Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mutare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Horse Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Mutare B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The food and service is what makes this inn worthwhile. The bedding, towels and mattresses could use some updating. Things are a bit tired but that is part of the charm in 70's decor. Considering the financial state of the area, this kind of maintenance may just be too costly. The avocados from the property are very delicious and creamy. Guinea Fowl is a great entree. Very nice wine selection.
Arrange for a bird watching tour with Sam.. He is not only an expert in this specialized field but he can make bird sounds and actually talks to the birds.

Room Tip: Be sure to walk in the gardens no matter which room you are in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RetiredTeacher15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TCNgorora, Marketing Consultant at White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Thank you for your delightful review. Our focus on continuous improvement will see a Bedding, Mattress & Linen renewal executed in phases. We hope you will find agreeable these changes on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 47 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Nestled in a fold in the Vumba Mountains, which provide a backdrop to the small picturesque Zimbabwean City of Mutare, and amongst old lichen encrusted trees and shrubs in a rain-forest like setting, is the White Horse Inn. I last visited this tiny Inn in the early '80's over 30 years ago, and it is still the same ! :) Indeed, David Graham, the owner/manager has been there for 33 years and some of his staff have been there almost as long. Benjamin, the Head Waiter, has been there 28 years. This contributes to the sense of unchanging continuity, which these days in a modern hurly burly world is very refreshing and comforting ! Certainly, Comfort is a keynote of this magical little Inn, which is impeccably kept, and the furnishings and general decor and atmosphere cosset you and provides you with a 'home from home' feeling. The welcome and service provided by David, Benjamin and Frank, is old fashioned and extremely personal, without ever feeling intrusive. David is the epitome of a courteous elderly English Gentleman, complete with Tweed Jacket and walking stick and a quiet sense of humour :) You feel as if you have been transported back to the Colonial '50's the instant you walk in the door, and the various pictures and photographs which adorn the walls, plus the old signs and nick nacks, complete the picture ! The small Lounge and Bar are cosy and with log fires in the Winter months, you are trapped and coccooned and find it difficult to drag yourself away to bed. The Little White Horse Pub befits a '50's colonial style, and there is a pleasing array of drinks and wine available, and bar service of course provided by David. Then into the Dining Room, which is a larger version of your favourite old Aunt's ! :) Where Benjamin attends to your every need, like an old fashioned butler. The food is what you would have by now come to expect. Hearty old favourite dishes and there is even a Venison roast :) We had Pate starters and Rump and Fillet mains and Ice Cream & Chocolate sauce, which were simple and delicious. To round off the evening, back into the Pub by the fire and some Port and gentle conversation with David. The Gardens are a delight, rustic and colourful and surrounded by an amazing variety of trees and flowering shrubs, with a small and pristine swimming pool. Tea and Scones on the terrace is a must ! White Horse Inn is a little Olde Worlde gem, exuding charm and character and almost hidden from the world, but only 3 kms off the road from Mutare to Vumba. A perfect place to just chill out and relax, but also well-placed to visit all the local attractions around and about in the Vumba, which is a spectacular and scenic part of Zimbabwe. Put it on your 'Bucket List' and go there. You won't be sorry ! :)

Room Tip: Speak to David Graham the Owner and Manager personally, who will arrange the perfect room to suit yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I went to my family to this place on one of our trips to Harare, Zimbawe. We travel by car to Mutare and stay in this Hotel. It was a very calm and relaxing place, The rooms were nice, confortable and clean. The food was very good, the pool was nice and the best of it was the forest around the hotel. We enjoy be in contact with nature and did nice walks around it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

If you want a Nice home like place to stay in eastern highlands then White Horse is it. Owner managed, it's a small cozy place.the owner personally sees to it that the guests are happy. the restaurant is top notch and has won the Zim on a Plate Award. The wine list is quite good as well, also having scooped national awards.
rooms are in need of slight touch ups but not to change their nature.
location is in forest just 3km off major rd. Nearby is a brook with fresh mountain spring water.
Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BIllMoyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have been to this hotel about every ten years since 1984 in that time they have managed to maintain the same standards of value and quality. A pity the same cannot be said for all the other hotels in Zimbabwe. The breakfast puts other B&B establishments ( for example in Bulawayo ) in the shade. The quality and choices for dinner are really excellent. When it comes to value for money , I rate this place as the best value for money in Zimbabwe. It is such a pity that Mutare has been on the slide for the last 12 yrs and the charms of the Vumba are now enjoyed by so few. For furnishings and atmosphere , expect an Agatha Christie style.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Mugme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

What an unexpected surprise to come across such a friendly and charming place with beautiful gardens well kept by the owner. We stopped off for lunch with the family after a trip to Leopard Rock and were welcomed by David Graham a lovely charming man who made us very welcome.
Our lunch was superb with a choice from an extensive menu which all available, a first class service in a lovely location and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed one night. Upon arrival, we received a warm welcome by the staff. We found the owner a friendly man, and a good host.
The building looked a bit dated, but on the other hand, this is part of the charm. We felt like travelling back in time.
Our room was nice, with the company of monkeys on the balcony. However, we had to switch room late at night due to unexpected swarm of ants in the room. The new room was less quality though.
We loved the garden with its Samango monkeys. The area is great for exploring and hiking, we had too little time.
Dinner was cooked in English style, and was okay.
When we were ready to leave, we found our landrover washed at the compliments of the hotel! Nice surprise and keeps the good memories.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
2  Thank Frank_Astrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Mutare
Holiday Inn Mutare
#2 of 4 in Mutare
142 reviews
0 mi away
Musangano Lodge
Musangano Lodge
#1 of 11 in Mutare
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gordon's
Gordon's
#3 of 11 in Mutare
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Inn on the Vumba
Inn on the Vumba
#6 of 11 in Mutare
35 reviews
57.2 mi away
Troutbeck Resort
Troutbeck Resort
#1 of 4 in Nyanga
184 reviews
7.4 mi away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 6 in Mutare
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse Inn

Address: Laurenceville Rd, Bvumba, Mutare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Mutare
Price Range: $134 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
White Horse Inn Zimbabwe/Mutare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing