We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice accommodations, good service”
Review of Musangano Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Musangano Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Mutare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
“Nice accommodations, good service”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the lodge in late Sept. and entirely enjoyed the accommodations and the attention to detail by Bright and the staff. Though a little out of the way from Mutare, the location was lovely and the sunsets gorgeous. The chalets were clean, the showers hot and, when the roadworks are finished, the location will be a fast trip to Mutare. Overall, we'd recommend this as a comfortable and romantic place for a night away or a week's vacation.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    52
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
69
48
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala, Uganda
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Overall we really enjoyed our two night stay at Musangano Lodge. Here are the pros:
*Our three bedroom chalet was spacious and comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped and worked well for us.
*The bathrooms are much better than I expected. The water pressure in the showers was good and the water was plenty hot. (Two things that are often lacking at African accommodations.)

The cons:
*The fireplace. The design of the chimney is poor and a lot of smoke went into the chalet. If the opening of the chimney in the fireplace had a slight incline, there would be much less smoke in the room. The upside is that the single fireplace provided enough heat to warm the entire chalet.
*The breakfast. First, it's exorbitantly expensive at $20/person. Second, the quality of food provided is only worth about $8 at best. The buffet was meager and the quality of food was sub-standard. (honey was crystalized, one type of bitter juice, one type of jam, meager bowl of fruit salad, two pieces of cheese laid out, etc.) The insufficient quantity made me and my party feel like we shouldn't take a hearty portion for fear there wouldn't be enough for other guests. In short, the buffet didn't make us feel comfortable and welcome.

Overall, I would stay at Musangano Lodge again, but I would bring my own breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaweezette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright K, Guest Relations Manager at Musangano Lodge, responded to this review, October 11, 2014
Thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay at Musangano Lodge.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your two day stay at Musangano Lodge

At the same time, we´d like to apologize for the inconveniences: the chimney issue is already rectified. The breakfast mis-hap was caused by high-turn over and we have taken respective measures to make sure that it does not happen again.

In order to make up for this inadequate service, we would like to invite you for a complimentary breakfast so that we can show you that our standard is actually what you would expect from Musangano.

Yours Sincerely
Team Musangano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay - the country side is very beautiful and there are some good trails for a short walk around the area. There are number of hills close by which make for interesting walking and great views of the surrounding country .
The rooms are individaul chalets which are fully equipped and very comfortable and decorated in simple good taste. Ther eis a very nice swimming pool are which is very handy for those hot days.

the food is good home cooking type quality and is well presented . Service in the restaurant and reception are excellent . Bright is a star!!!

Room Tip: All chalets are very pleasant some a little far from the main reception area should you wish to walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were en route home to Bulawayo from a beach holiday in Mozambique and had heard of this lodge through the Internet. We booked, were offered a very attractive discount and were very impressed with the location firstly, then the staff attention to detail and the cuisine. We had been delayed at the border, so Bright very kindly texted the menu to us and we were able to pre-order dinner (we had five small children in our party of 12). We only sat down to dinner at 9pm but the staff were exceptionally patient.Our lodges were pristine, very well equipped and comfortable with every appliance needed to make the stay enjoyable. Sadly we had to leave early the following morning, but not before experiencing the amazing views. We already making plans for an extended half term holiday. Thoroughly recommend this lodge to locals and visitors.

Room Tip: The view gets better higher up the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bulawayo
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2013

What an amazing place! beautiful structures not to mention to interior. Cheerful staff, devine meals, Kitchen makes wonderful 3 course meals..... thank you for maintaing the standard, cheers to Musangano, that of course with my Malawi Shandy!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sputnikbyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were recommended this lodge and were not dissapointed. Travelling between Harare and Bulawayo it provided a great base from which to explore the Mutare region. The chalets, situated in secluded sites in the woodland are beautiful, clean and well equipped. Watching the sun go down from the verandah was unforgettable. We had two very good evening meals there and particularly enjoyed breakfast in the garden. A special thank you to Bright for organising a visit to Oliver, a very charming and knowledgable plantsman, and his village.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed at Musangano on Jan 1st and 2nd 2013 on our way from Gaborone to Harare via Bulawayo and Masvingo. This place is fantastic, the staff are wonderful, the food is execellent, the lodges are clean and the environment is extremely peaceful. We had the best two nights of our whole trip. Our son loved it and we will certainly go back come next holiday opportunity. Team Musangano your are wonderful guys, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanslous P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mutare
Holiday Inn Mutare
#2 of 4 in Mutare
138 reviews
21.1 mi away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 6 in Mutare
10 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Homestead Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
#3 of 4 in Nyanga
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient City Lodge
Ancient City Lodge
#3 of 9 in Masvingo
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musangano Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musangano Lodge

Property: Musangano Lodge
Address: Champion Mine Road, Mutare 0000, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mutare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Musangano Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the ultimate getaway in the Eastern Highlands, with the promise of complete tranquility and spectacular scenery, Musangano Lodge is the ideal location. Visitors soon fall under its spell because of its serene and peaceful atmosphere, charming accommodation, superb cuisine and stunning views, which invite to linger and unwind.Spaced well apart for privacy, our tastefully furnished, very comfortable and spacious units are set on the lower slopes of a tree-covered hillside, blending well into the surrounding Miombo mountain woodland and offering magnificent views into valleys and towards mountains. Guests may choose between the larger, fully equipped self catering lodges for families and friends or smaller chalets for two with kitchenette and kettle.Our PaMuchakata Restaurant has acquired an enviable reputation for serving delicious food, a blend of Central European and Southern African cooking - the best of the culinary arts of two worlds.Musangano Lodge is ideally located for exploring the attractions of the Eastern Highlands like the Vumba Mountains, Nyanga National Park and Honde Valley. When you feel like stretching your legs, there are a variety of activities at hand on site and nearby to suit all ages and interests.Our outreach community project ‘Nurturing Communities. Shaping Lives’ offers exciting insights into the lives of ordinary Zimbabweans with the rare opportunity of firsthand experiences and lasting memories to take home.Finally – referring to the meaning of Musangano Lodge and our vision of ‘the place where people meet’ – we would be very happy to welcome you at our little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Musangano Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musangano Lodge Zimbabwe/Mutare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing