We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay”
Review of Musangano Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Musangano Lodge
Ranked #1 of 10 Mutare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bern, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A place to stay”
Reviewed March 30, 2011

From September 18 through 23, 2010, we spent time at the Musangano Lodge. The lodges are spacious and well equipped and the service personnel were friendly and efficient. Easy to reach from Harare, we experienced the Musangano Lodge on the one hand as a great place to rest and on the other hand as an ideal starting point for trips to Mutare, the Bvumba Valley as well as to the Nyanga National Park and the Honde Valley.
In the evenings, we enjoyed the "gecko cinema" on the wall of the terrace.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philippe188052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    52
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
70
48
3
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2011

We couldn't have found a better place for our seminar: beautiful surroundings, homely accommodation, delicious food and the kind and highly committed staff made our stay a perfect and memorable one. In conjunction with the well equipped meeting room the working atmosphere lead to a fruitful meeting. We'd like to come again as soon as possible. Thank you very much for the warm welcome and lovely hospitality. All the best and kind regards
Olivia Dibelius, Dagmar Preiß-Allesch and Yve Weidlich (Evangelische Hochschule Berlin, Germany)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yveweidlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Terrace with a view...by day, the silhouette of the hills, deep blue velvet by night with bright twinkling stars. What more could you hope for? It’s so easy to enjoy the quiet...everything you need is right at hand. The accommodation has been tastefully furnished and well-equipped. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marthawilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Musangano Lodge is the place to go if you want to leave behind all pressure and stress from every day life. The place is sheer magic: The roling hills of the Eastern Highlands in front of you can sit back, relax and think: This is 'Out of Africa' really.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrVolkerRiehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

I have been there three times.
It's only disadvantage - remoteness- is also its strongest advantage. If you really want to hide away, totally relax, this is the place.

The lodge was designed and built by the owners. The rooms were among the most individual I have ever stayed in in a lodge with inconspicuous attention to detail. They even display Zimbabwe's landmark items: small stone sculptures. You enter the room and feel at ease immediately.

Now, this being Zimbabwe, you also have to cope with the current environment, there are occasional power cuts, but the lodge has a generator, so you can at last enjoy reading in the evening.

The lodge is also quite eco-friendly with solar collectors and panels.

If you expect a disco, bars around the corner, and a thrilling night life or a shopping mall look elsewhere. But that is exactly why you want to go to Musangano.

The lodge is located on the foot hills of the Eastern Highlands in Zimbabwe, with distinct advantages: you miss most of the rain, the cold nights (in June -to August it can get pretty cold).

The Eastern Highlands have one of the most spectacular golf courses of the world nearby (maybe a 40 minutes drive) - Leopard's Rock. Spend a day at the golf course, come back to the lodge and enjoy fine dining (don't even get near the kitchen at Leopard's Rock Hotel, not to speak of trying anything there).

Enjoy sitting around a camp fire or a Braai (BBQ), and listen to the exciting stories the owner may have to tell about Zimbabwe. Other things you can do: Arboretum, Museum, Fishing, Hiking, Cycling. If you happen to be a Motorcyclist, this would be a wonderful destination too, with winding roads in an exciting environment.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pepeyangu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Our 2 night stay at Musangano lodge was a great relaxing experience in the beautiful countryside outside of Mutare. There are 3 beautiful walks from the Lodge up into the hills with great views of the surrounding coutryside. We left out bikes at home but it is also a great place to go riding from. The staff were exceptionally freindly and very professional. The attention to detail in the rooms was such a refreshing treat after some of the other places I've stayed in recently. All the lodges are seperated so you never hear or see other guests. The food was varied, of good quality and lots of it. We didn't use the swimming pool as it was getting a bit cold for us.
Musangano is a great place to get away from the bustle but is still close enough to Mutare if you are there on buisness.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

I stayed at the Musangano on a work trip to nearby Africa University and was happily surprised to find really nice individual lodges, beautifully built and landscaped, well equipped and maintained. The lodges are spread along a wooded hillside, with stone paths between them -- paths are dimly lit at night, which preserves the isolated safari camp feel, in the trees but on a rise offering nice views of the highveld. The restaurant is fine, we were the only diners and service/food were excellent. The turnoff from the main Harare-Mutare road is clearly signposted, but keep an eye out for it or else you'll drive right past and have to turn around as we did. I would especially want to commend Musangano's manager, Bright Kadonzvo, for being super responsive by email regarding reservations, directions, etc.--very helpful to get such quick and detailed replies!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuftsTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mutare
14.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Mutare
Holiday Inn Mutare
#2 of 4 in Mutare
139 reviews
21.1 mi away
Eden Lodge Vumba
Eden Lodge Vumba
#2 of 6 in Mutare
10 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
Rhodes Nyanga Hotel
#3 of 4 in Nyanga
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ancient City Lodge
Ancient City Lodge
#3 of 9 in Masvingo
49 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Big Cave Camp
Big Cave Camp
#3 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Musangano Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Musangano Lodge

Property: Musangano Lodge
Address: Champion Mine Road, Mutare 0000, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Manicaland Province > Mutare
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Mutare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Musangano Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for the ultimate getaway in the Eastern Highlands, with the promise of complete tranquility and spectacular scenery, Musangano Lodge is the ideal location. Visitors soon fall under its spell because of its serene and peaceful atmosphere, charming accommodation, superb cuisine and stunning views, which invite to linger and unwind.Spaced well apart for privacy, our tastefully furnished, very comfortable and spacious units are set on the lower slopes of a tree-covered hillside, blending well into the surrounding Miombo mountain woodland and offering magnificent views into valleys and towards mountains. Guests may choose between the larger, fully equipped self catering lodges for families and friends or smaller chalets for two with kitchenette and kettle.Our PaMuchakata Restaurant has acquired an enviable reputation for serving delicious food, a blend of Central European and Southern African cooking - the best of the culinary arts of two worlds.Musangano Lodge is ideally located for exploring the attractions of the Eastern Highlands like the Vumba Mountains, Nyanga National Park and Honde Valley. When you feel like stretching your legs, there are a variety of activities at hand on site and nearby to suit all ages and interests.Our outreach community project ‘Nurturing Communities. Shaping Lives’ offers exciting insights into the lives of ordinary Zimbabweans with the rare opportunity of firsthand experiences and lasting memories to take home.Finally – referring to the meaning of Musangano Lodge and our vision of ‘the place where people meet’ – we would be very happy to welcome you at our little paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HostelWorld so you can book your Musangano Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Musangano Lodge Zimbabwe/Mutare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing