We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bush magic”
Review of Camelthorn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camelthorn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bush magic”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Situated in thick bush on the perimeter of Hwange National Park, Camelthorn Lodge is a delight. The rooms are luxurious and comfortable, beautifully decorated and each has a private deck that yields wonderful views. The attention to detail is outstanding, the staff are friendly - you really couldn't ask for more. We had an exceptional dinner outside at the Camelthorn tree under a starry sky with lanterns twinkling around us. A perfect bush experience and a place that you will want to return to time and again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi Lindsay - thank you so much for the 5 stars and wonderful review. We love nothing more than outdoor dining under the Camelthorn tree and we are so happy that you experienced the magic of Hwange under the stars in the African bush! We hope to see you again soon in Zimbabwe!
Many thanks from the Imvelo Safari Lodges team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
30
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

I was privileged to spend one magical night at Camelthorn Lodge. The staff were attentive and professional, the scenery was exquisite and the rooms were out of this world. The food was also beautifully prepared and I was surprised at the variety that we got in such a remote area. This lodge is part of the Imvelo Safari Lodges group who are doing fantastic conservation and community work in the area. I would highly recommend Camelthorn Lodge to anyone who want to really get away from the maddening crowd. We saw such a variety of game on our drives - it was out of this world.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel_Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Hi Isabel,

Thank you so much for the 5 stars and for your wonderful review of our newest flagship lodge. We are so glad you had a wonderful stay with us. The Ngamo plains offer incredible game viewing, and you have posted some fantastic photo memories. We would love to host you again, so if you are ever in Zimbabwe, please do get in touch. All the best from the Imvelo Safari Lodges team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The camp grounds are beautiful. Quite dramatic dining setting. Feels like you are in the middle of a forest. Surreal.
Centrally located to the game viewing area where we saw numerous elephants and wildlife.
Service was amazing!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi Sam - thanks for the 5 stars! So glad you like our new lodge - it is remote and peaceful and its forest setting do make it very unique. And of course the Ngamo plains provide some of the best game viewing in the whole of Hwange Park. We look forward to seeing you again next year! All the best from the Camelthorn team and all of us at Imvelo Safari lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2013

The Camelthorn Lodge is a unique Lodge in the ngamo flats. I Was upgraded to This brand new Lodge from Bomani. Because Bomani Was recieving a big grupo while i Was the re. Given the chance 4 copules were releocated to Camelthorn And what a treat. Brand new 5 stars ultraexclusive Lodge made for enjoyment. Friendliness And respectful staff. IFE you Getafe the chance GO

Room Tip: Ask for b3 it has a wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diego416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for this great review and we are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Camelthorn. It definitely looked like you guys had a lot of fun and I know our staff loved the chance to spoil you and your wife. And please next time you visit the Hwange area enjoy both of our lodges again! Best wishes from the Camelthorn team and all of us at Imvelo Safari lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We were relocated to Camelthorn because Bomani's water well was down for repair. The lodge had not yet officially opened, but was substantially up and running. It was a great experience. We were the only guests for our 2 night stay, so we felt guilty about being catered to by a team of people! On the other hand, Vusa, Beci (sp?) and Duncan made it feel like we were hanging out with a group of friends. The fire pit area for evening drinks is an excellent touch on the layout. The sunken steel container at the water hole in Hwange park is a great blind offering a unique close up viewing experience of elephants, cape buffalo, and mongoose. We were also treated to a visit to a local village where we got to tour the school, and we were welcomed into the village chiefs family compound to learn more about how they lived. Visiting the village was one of the highlights of our trip, it was a pleasure and honour to be exposed to the local way of life.

The accommodations were some of the most luxurious we encountered on our trip. The generator shutting down for the night had a bit of an impact on the quality of sleeping, but barely worth noting.

It is a fairly long trip to get to the lodge (from Vic Falls airport), but it was worth the journey.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roydyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks so much for the 5 stars - coming from such a well traveled contributor they are especially appreciated! You have summed up Camelthorn beautifully - hospitality and friendliness, the best photography blind in Hwange and wonderful opportunities to meet, interact and learn about local village life nearby - all amounts to a great experience. And thank you for being patient with the camp change - it definitely sounds like it was a very positive one for you! All the very best from your friends at Camelthorn and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We have visited many lodges in Hwange and Camelthorn is refreshingly unique with very different and striking landscapes versus the Main Camp area. As the lodge was newly built the staff had just been recruited from the surrounding area and showed lovely enthusiasm and commitment. The dining and social area were impressive, set in thornveld around the showpiece ancient camelthorn tree, with the option to eat indoors near the fireplace on cold sandveld nights. Being on the edge of the park we had the best of game viewing on the flats within the park (lots of elephant), walks in the adjacent sparsely inhabited communal land and visited the local village and store which were a real eye-opener especially for our city dwelling children.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hylton P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thanks for the great review and so glad you and your family enjoyed themselves. We are very proud that we are a real life community based eco project and situated as we are on the south east end of the park we are well away from the Main camp crowds and you are right the Ngamo plains provide some wonderful wildlife and vistas. When next you can visit Hwange we'd love to have you visit again. Best wishes from the Camelthorn team and all of us at Imvelo Safari lodges.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plettenberg Bay, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We returned to this area for a second time after our wonderful time last year at Bomani Camp. Camelthorn is a new lodge opened by the same operators Matapula. The rooms were sophisticated yet still rustic, the service was good and it is such a beautiful setting around this huge tree in the middle of the boma; what was new was this fantastic underground bunker that you could take the most amazing pics of elephant coming to drink. All in all we had a great second trip and the kids just loved it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
So glad you and your family enjoyed Camelthorn and the new underground photo blind - we're calling it the 'The Look up', it is a great way to have a very safe close up experience with the wildlife. We look forward to you returning next year! Best wishes from the Camelthorn team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hwange
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 22 in Hwange National Park
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Khulu Ivory
Khulu Ivory
#1 of 8 in Hwange
84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Matetsi Private Game Reserve
Matetsi Private Game Reserve
#4 of 35 in Victoria Falls
41 reviews
89.1 mi away
Sundowner Zambezi Lodge
0.0 mi away
Miombo Safari Camp
Miombo Safari Camp
#3 of 8 in Hwange
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelthorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelthorn Lodge

Property: Camelthorn Lodge
Address: Ngamo Plain, Hwange, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hwange
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelthorn Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new flagship lodge is nestled in a patch of pristine woodland just on the edge of the South Eastern corner of Hwange National Park. The lodge is unique in its style and design and has as its centrepiece a huge ancient Camelthorn tree. Strategically placed to explore the remote and unspoilt south eastern portion of the park, Camelthorn provides a spectacular wilderness experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing