We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying at Camelthorn”
Review of Camelthorn Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hwange
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camelthorn Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We returned to this area for a second time after our wonderful time last year at Bomani Camp. Camelthorn is a new lodge opened by the same operators Matapula. The rooms were sophisticated yet still rustic, the service was good and it is such a beautiful setting around this huge tree in the middle of the boma; what was new was this fantastic underground bunker that you could take the most amazing pics of elephant coming to drink. All in all we had a great second trip and the kids just loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sascha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

So glad you and your family enjoyed Camelthorn and the new underground photo blind - we're calling it the 'The Look up', it is a great way to have a very safe close up experience with the wildlife. We look forward to you returning next year! Best wishes from the Camelthorn team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (97)
There are newer reviews for Camelthorn Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 97 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent 4 magical days at Camelthorn Lodge, thank you for the fantastic hospitality. The location is wonderfully remote, with very comfortable, private lodges. Brilliant game viewing, we just adored the game drives with excellent guides. The staff were friendly and flexible. Nothing beats a holiday like that.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B, Owner at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hi Sophie. Congratulations! You are our first review for Camelthorn Lodge. We are awfully proud of it and of course very pleased to meet you and have shown you and your family around our part of Hwange Park - we enjoyed your stay as much as you guys. We look forward to you coming back again one day. Thanks again for the review and all the best from our brand new Camelthorn team and all of us at Imvelo Safari Lodges

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled with friends
Thank 7307793jrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jaf42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Pietro62Milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: I bungalow sono pochissimi e praticamente simili tra loro
  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ciao_Ezio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley P, Marketing Director at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Espe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayley F, Marketing Manager at Camelthorn Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hwange
0.0 mi away
Khulu Ivory
Khulu Ivory
#1 of 8 in Hwange
91 reviews
42.6 mi away
Tree Lodge at Sikumi
Tree Lodge at Sikumi
#4 of 8 in Hwange
12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ganda Lodge
Ganda Lodge
#15 of 24 in Hwange National Park
41 reviews
89.1 mi away
Sundowner Zambezi Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camelthorn Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelthorn Lodge

Address: Ngamo Plain, Hwange, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hwange
Price Range: $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Camelthorn Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new flagship lodge is nestled in a patch of pristine woodland just on the edge of the South Eastern corner of Hwange National Park. The lodge is unique in its style and design and has as its centrepiece a huge ancient Camelthorn tree. Strategically placed to explore the remote and unspoilt south eastern portion of the park, Camelthorn provides a spectacular wilderness experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing