We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family-Run Gem...”
Review of Khulu Ivory

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Khulu Ivory
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I stayed at Khulu back in May when they first opened and what a lovely surprise it was... its an intimate lodge which has such a homely feel - the minute you walk in, you want to put on a pair of shorts (khaki of course!) and be barefoot for a couple of days! The small all-Zimbabwean team are incredibly welcoming and service orientated, but its the kind of place where you feel nothing grabbing a cold-drink for yourself. The rooms are really comfortable, with indoor and outdoor showers and great little decks where you can sit out and overlook the waterhole. The dinners are communal and for us it flowed into drinks by the campfire talking about Africa/Life/Can't remember what else (too much drink?!) with the incredible Cedric and Dani.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiki234, Public Relations Manager at Khulu Ivory, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Lauren

Thank you so much for your fantastic review in Trip Advisor!
It was wonderful to have you in camp and I remember the night fondly, sharing stories by the camp fire and star gazing - it was really great to have you with us.
We hope to welcome you back to our property in the near future and I will pass all your kind words onto Cedric, who is 'Khulu'!

Best
Danni

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 103 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at Khulu Ivory, and what a time we had! The rooms are clean, welcoming and comfortable and in the heat, the outdoor shower was very welcome. We found all the staff to be very professional, yet friendly and accommodating to our personal needs or requests.

We did not see much game at the pan, but our game drives were most memorable, with a large variety of game seen. Our guide, Roy, was very professional and informative and went the extra mile to make sure we saw as much as possible of the game that we mentioned we would have liked to see. The walk we went on with him was great - we didn't see any game, but Roy still made the walk very interesting and worthwhile.

The food was delicious, and portions very generous.

The most stunning sun rises were witnessed at the lodge with an early morning cup of coffee.

We met such a variety of interesting people during our stay, and made some new friends around the bonfire and meal table. Chatting around the bonfire at night was very special, and the 'bush TV' thoroughly enjoyed.

Thank you to Roy and the rest of the staff for making our stay so memorable - we will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiki234, Manager at Khulu Ivory, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Teresa

Thank you so very much for the wonderful review on Khulu!
We will certainly pass your comments onto Roy, he would have written himself but he is 'out on the field' at the moment!
The camp is certainly a special place, we have had fantastic feedback from International Clients as well as SADC residents... Thank you for choosing to come and stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Best
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at Khulu Ivory Camp in May and were delighted with everything about the camp. Beautiful tents with every comfort, very comfortable lounge and dining area, decking with view to the waterhole... we even had elephants galore trooping past at night. It was magical and the food was delicious too! Very friendly place with excellent guiding by Roy who also manages the camp. Enjoyed supper with Cedric who is a great character and is the Khulu of Khulu Ivory Camp! Thank you again for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakesuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiki234, Manager at Khulu Ivory, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Lakesuk

WOW thank you for the fantastic review of Khulu Ivory! This is the latest feather in our cap at The Amalinda Collection and we are indeed proud of the camp and the responses we have had from visitors. It is so special to be in a luxury camp where elephants move freely in and around the surroundings - thank you for sharing your experience.

We hope to welcome you back soon!
Best
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderfull stay we had at Amalinda lodge and Khulu lodge . Great food, great hospitality, very clean, Nice people....one of the best lodges we have ever got surrounded with a lot of animals. Better than a 5 * hotel, thanks Cedric, Howard , Roy and the whole staff, see you soon Els and Patrick

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMI1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiki234, Manager at Khulu Ivory, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear PBo1

Thank you for your amazing write up on Khulu Ivory, The Amalinda Collection's newest camp in Hwange.
We have passed your comments onto Roy and the staff, it was fantastic that you were in camp to meet Cedric (who the camp is named after and who built the camp by hand!)
We hope you will be back to join us soon.

Best
Managements

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My stay at Khulu Ivory was a life changing experience. The lodge is impressive, including the rooms, dining room, fire place and all amenities. Everything is clean and new, and the food and service is amazing.
The whole lodge is decorated with good taste, and the rooms are really confortable and welcoming. The rooms have an indoor shower, as well as an outdoor shower, and both have hot water available at all times.
The environment in the lodge is relaxed and friendly, and they make you feel like home by taking care of every small detail. Everyone at Khulu is nice and professional, and is always taking care of making the guests feel comfortable and happy.
The drives are an experience that I would recommend to everyone. The guides are very well prepared, they show a lot of knowledge and know how to transmit it to the guests in order to make it an amazing experience, where you can get really close to the animals and feel safe at the same time. The walks are also easy to enjoy, given that the guides make guests feel safe in every moment.
The lodge has a pond where animals arrive to drink water. It’s easy to see animals close to the lodge, which makes the experience even more impressive.
I would highly recommend Khulu Ivory for couples, families or to travel with friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiki234, General Manager at Khulu Ivory, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Ana

Thank you for your wonderful comments on The Amalinda Collection's latest luxury camp Khulu! It was heartwarming to hear how amazing your stay was and we so appreciate you taking the time to write here.
Please come and join us again soon.

Best
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: tous les bungalows sont les mêmes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank simtan4948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rafiki234, Public Relations Manager at Khulu Ivory, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hwange
0 mi away
Amalinda Lodge
Amalinda Lodge
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
233 reviews
0 mi away
Ivory Lodge
Ivory Lodge
#4 of 25 in Hwange National Park
263 reviews
0 mi away
Tree Lodge at Sikumi
Tree Lodge at Sikumi
#4 of 8 in Hwange
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Hide
The Hide
#2 of 25 in Hwange National Park
466 reviews
0 mi away
Hwange Safari Lodge
Hwange Safari Lodge
#14 of 25 in Hwange National Park
173 reviews
0 mi away
Sundowner Zambezi Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khulu Ivory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khulu Ivory

Address: Hwange, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Matabeleland North Province > Hwange
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Hwange
Price Range: $699 - $821 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Khulu Ivory 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khulu Ivory “Grandfather of Ivory” is located on a private concession of 6,000 acres. One of the many charms of this camp is that it offers guests luxurious and private accommodation accompanied with old world hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Khulu Ivory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing