We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whimsical & fantastical ! ”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiredzi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Singita Pamushana Lodge
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Whimsical & fantastical ! ”
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I spent 3 incredible days at Singita Pamushana In the large 5 bedroom villa. Incredible does not begin to describe how gorgeous the furnishings, and decorations are in this lodge. It is definitely an upscale game reserve lodge with all the amenities you would expect. We stayed 4 days previously at another upscale game reserve, and singita pamushana is so much larger. The amount of animals we encountered during our safaris were incredible ! We saw large herds of animals which was awesome for us. We were constantly bombarded with animals around every turn. Mr. T our ranger was so knowledgable, and funny we enjoyed his company very much. I am so grateful for this experience, and will cherish it for the rest of my life !

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Taina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    4
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
39
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

If I had to choose one resort among the Singita resorts, this would be the special one. Large extremely well appointed and comfortable rooms, large grounds, perched high up on the hill with great vistas and a private reserve with all the variety you want. What the game rides offer might not be as impressive as the flat Tanzanian landscape but has greater diversity with cave paintings, and lakes for animals to graze. Best of all - the white rhinoceros. Thanks to Emily for being such a great host(special dinners, surprises) and Time, our safari guide which made my trip memorable.

Room Tip: Best would be the room Michael Douglas and Catherine Zeta Jones chose for their honeymoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sithch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

If I could give Singita Pamushana 6 stars, I would! I travel extensively on business and pleasure and can say that the combination of location and staff attention are the best I have ever experienced. By the end of our 4-night stay over Christmas, 2013 we were hugging our guides and the camp staff. The food and food service were outstanding. Particular examples of the excellent treatment we received were:

1. The lodge manager met us at Buffalo Range Airport when we flew in and waited behind to collect our passports so that we could get going while the slow wheels of Zimbabwean immigration turned.
2. I dropped my GoPro camera in the lake while we were fishing with our guide. The next day the lodge manager went scuba diving and found it for me (as a complete surprise) in spite of the fact that their are plenty of crocodiles in that water
3. Our guides did a brilliant job answering every question and finding an amazing number of animals - we experienced the very rare sight of a leopard kill at night.
4. The lodge manager, Jason, is an excellent tennis player and we had couple of great hits on the clay court during our stay.
I couldn't rate Pamushana more highly! Forget about Zimbabwe's politics - you're a million miles away from them in Pamushana/Malilangwe and the experience will be unforgettable!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Chip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you are looking for a trip of a lifetime, you must go to Africa. I have technically been to Southern Africa twice, once to Zambia and once to Zimbabwe. I recommend Zimbabwe simply because it has cats in its parks and Zambia does not. And there is nothing cooler than being 10 feet from a lion :)

We stayed at the Pamushana Lodge for 4 nights. First class service, first class lodge, all-inclusive, amazing food... you can't go wrong. Our daily guides were phenomenal and knew the answer to every question we asked (we tried multiple times to stump them.) One thing to note, you probably only need about 4-5 days here because really all there is to do is go on a safari. But believe me, these don't get boring (you go twice a day). You will see new animals every time you go out!

Our highlights were seeing several lions, seeing a cheetah with her baby cubs (and meeting the Discovery Channel photographer who was there following them), being charged by an elephant, having a herd of elephants cross our paths (5 feet away!), experiencing the real wild by coming across a bunch of hyenas feasting on a giraffe... the list could go on! We happened to be there during New Years too and the lodge put on a fantastic feast with local entertainment, which really made us feel a part of the culture.

I would 100% recommend visiting the Pamushana Lodge. I hope to go back here someday when I have children because I feel like this is a such a cool experience for people of all ages!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

There was never a disappointinf moment during our stay. The Singita resorts are widely known for their incomparable accomodations, food and wine, personal service, game drives, and attention to detail. Pamushana is the standard bearer for the Singita brand!! Our family was treated as "old friends" by a staff that waited upon us as if we were royalty, not paying guests.

What is more impressive is the commitment of the ownership to the surrounding community, e.g., they arrange the feeding of 19 thousand, yes 19,000, children one healthy meal a day every day of the year, among other commitments to the deucation and health of the families surrounding the preserve. Manegment arranged a tour to see for ourselves, which, despite the lure to see animals, is worth the time.

If We don't believe it can be done better than it is done here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolftowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We decided to treat ourselves for our 25th Anniversary and traveled with another couple married for as long!

It must be one of the best experiences we have had in our 25 years together.

Our welcome on arrival seemed impressive but this never changed each and every time we returned to the lodge to welcoming drinks and an iced towel! All staff are attentive friendly polite and caring!

The room was awesome with so much comfort without being OTT.

Food and drink incredible, and with the knowledgeable service staff always being close at hand. Meals in varied locations were put together in such a fantastic way. The food and wine pairing evening was strongly supported by Host Emily who was educational for our simple taste buds! The cellar choice says it all!

The wildlife experience was awesome with some exclusive experiences which will not usually be so discretely experienced in other game areas! Our guide Mr T showed incredible knowledge and caution but got us good and close to Cheetah, Lion, Rhino and Painted dogs as well as helping us to identify ~120 birds!

Reading the other reports it seems that everyone has had a similar experience and it is definitely worthwhile!

Room Tip: All rooms have a view! All are large and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayBeeZim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed five days, four nights at Pamushana, and it was a magical experience. A very special place in a country still recovering from its economic turmoil.The assistant manager, Emily made our visit a trip of a lifetime. The resort has great food choices, and great wine selection. The staff is extremely courteous, friendly and professional. Our safari guide, Time made the the game viewing experience a truly memorable one with a black rhino chase, and elephant fights.

The topography of the area is varied, with beautiful lakes, cliffs, open plains. The resort owner has definitely made this a truly special place of his own, and Singita management does not fail to deliver, dare I say better than Aman resorts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiredzi
43.6 mi away
Sango Lodge
Sango Lodge
#3 of 6 in Chiredzi
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Amalinda
Camp Amalinda
#1 of 9 in Matobo National Park - The Matopos
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ancient City Lodge
Ancient City Lodge
#3 of 9 in Masvingo
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Pamushana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Pamushana Lodge

Property: Singita Pamushana Lodge
Address: Malilangwe Reserve, Chiredzi 7085, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Masvingo Province > Chiredzi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Chiredzi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Singita Pamushana Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Singita Pamushana is an elegant oasis consisting of six spacious suites and one exclusive villa offering ultimate luxury in a truly African setting. The lodge is located on a promontory overlooking the Malilangwe Lake and presents a diverse habitat that is home to an array of wildlife species. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Singita Pamushana Hotel Chiredzi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing