We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Wedding”
Review of The Nesbitt Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Nesbitt Castle
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bulawayo
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Blue Wedding”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

All i can say is we had the best wedding thank you Nesbitt. Mostly a huge thank you to Amy-Leigh, she made our day amazing. From when i started communicating with her, to the menu tasting and dress rehersal the day before our wedding she was amazing. Most of our family and friends now want to use the venue for their various events. The place is beautiful and the staff are the best, this will forever be one of our favourite places, i am sure when we are in Zimbabwe next we will just visit. Thank you very much

Room Tip: Choose the Tower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmieC747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
It was a pleasure to serve you and your loved ones on your special day. You created a vibrant atmosphere with your celebration and we are thrilled to have been a part of it. We wish you all the best and will welcome you and your family back whenever you so wish.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    50
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
50
52
10
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Faultless staff and the food is very good. I loved it. Initially, the room was a bit damp smelling - that's the rainy season for you. I was enthralled by the surroundings. The birds and flowers were wonderful. Was glad to meet a sweet cat - and her owner, Patrick, the manager. He is a treasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraUB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
So glad that you enjoyed the natural surroundings of the Castle. The birds do add a lovely touch singing their sweet melodies all day. Thank you for a lovely review. We do hope that you will visit us once again whilst on your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We had our wedding at the castle on the 22nd of December 2013 . It was the best day of our lives . Thank you to the staff especially Amy-leagh , you are the best . Thank you for attend to all our request . You really made this day more special . The gardens are the best for wedding photos .

Best Venue any bride can ever ask for

Thanks Amy

Cindy s & Collen

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 118cindys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It was only a pleasure to host you on your special day. We are glad that your day was memorable! We hope that you will visit again, maybe for a special anniversary dinner? Congratulations and all the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I recently held our wedding reception at Nesbitt castle, for family and friends who were not able to make our wedding in December.
We also had 2 family friends stay for 10 days at Nesbitt, while we were in Bulawayo.
The whole place is amazing. We also had the opportunity to stay the night of our reception at Nesbitt, compliments of the castle.
The staff were always helpful and no request was a problem for them. The day of the reception ran smoothly from start to finish, with the function manager on hand throughout the duration of the reception.
The accommodation was very comfortable with everyone always enjoying a good night's sleep.
I will always recommend Nesbitt Castle to anyone looking for a safe and comfortable stay in Bulawayo, and for anyone seeking a well organised venue for a function of any kind.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huggme64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for such an amazing review. We are so pleased that your special day went smoothly. It was a pleasure to host your guests and we are glad that the service was to your liking. Congratulations and all the very best to you. Please always feel welcome to visit us when you are in Bulawayo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Upon arriving at Nesbitt Castle is was quite apparent that this was going to be an unusual place to stay and I was not disappointed. Patrick runs a great show and he was most kind take time out of his busy day to drive me into Bulawayo to point out the places I was trying to get to see. The staff are most polite and the chef and his team provide excellent dishes from the kitchen. Becky was the hostess on the night I was eating in the restaurant and she was superb. Having just completed a course in Cape Town she definitely knew how to handle some of the more obscure requests that were put her way by a visiting party that evening. The reception staff were very gracious and were able to provide answers to all my questions and requests.
I forgot to lock my car one evening and not only was it superbly cleaned the next morning everything was completely in order within which is a testament to the security and people working there.
There were some quirky bits about the castle but there again this is exactly what one would expect a small castle to be like. There are some great artifacts in the various rooms so do take time to wander around to see them.
The gardens are wonderful, well kept and a delight to walk around in.
It is a great location for a wedding or an event which requires some grandeur about it.
Be warned Percy drive is not one continuous road and it did take me a bit of time to get to the right end of it!

Room Tip: The Diamond room does have windows but don't expect to see much from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for making The Nesbitt Castle a part of your Bulawayo experience. So glad that you were able to enjoy the different aspects of the Castle - the pleasant staff, the historical artifacts as well as the lush green gardens that do make for a picturesque events venue.
We appreciate your awesome review and will strive to continue to provide the services much appreciated by all!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a night on our way back to Harare and although the place is a bit run down in regard to the rooms and amenities we could not fault the excellent young staff who were a credit to the Nesbit castle. The place is charming and quirky and we enjoyed our stay but a few repairs to the room , fresh linen etc would take them from very good to outstanding.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HarareScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Thank you for your honesty and suggestions. We have definitely taken this on board and have started making the necessary improvements to increase the pleasure and comfort of the guests' stay here. So pleased that you appreciated the unique nature that the Nesbitt Castle has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night, with my son, travelling from Mozambique to Victoria Falls. We lived in Zimbabwe twenty years ago and although still beautiful, Bulawayo seemed somehow desolate and desert-like at the end of the dry season. We felt that the Nesbitt was an island of luxury, greenery and attention. We enjoyed the cosy room, the décor, the many artefacts, the very friendly staff and the good food including breakfast in the impressive castle dining room. The overall eye for detail is amazing; when leaving in the morning, our car was immaculately cleaned and we felt like royalty leaving our mansion. The whole place is teamed a castle and my son absolutely loved this although he is well over twenty. I loved the beautiful scenery, the garden and the attentive staff. Thank you Nesbitt.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for such lovely praise. So very glad that we could be your oasis of pleasure and relaxation. The staff aim to please and are a treasure to The Nesbitt Castle. Please feel welcome to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
#2 of 7 in Bulawayo
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bulawayo
62 reviews
3.4 mi away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#4 of 7 in Bulawayo
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
#5 of 7 in Bulawayo
59 reviews
1.4 mi away
Motsamai Guest Lodge
Motsamai Guest Lodge
#3 of 35 in Bulawayo
22 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Bulawayo Club
The Bulawayo Club
#7 of 24 in Bulawayo
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nesbitt Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nesbitt Castle

Property: The Nesbitt Castle
Address: 6 Percy Avenue | Hillside, Bulawayo 00002, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bulawayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Nesbitt Castle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bulawayo's most sought after destination. Ten gloriously individual suites lie behind these castle walls, stone-chilled in the heat of summer, cozy and welcoming for those cooler days. Be enchanted by the carved four poster beds, enviable antique collection and Gothic curiosities that await you along every twisting passageway and behind every Gothic oak door. Nesbitt Castle is everything a modern luxurious boutique hotel should be whilst retaining all the mystery & chivalry of a golden age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nesbitt Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nesbitt Castle Hotel Bulawayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing