We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay and reception venue.”
Review of The Nesbitt Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nesbitt Castle
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bulawayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My wife and I recently held our wedding reception at Nesbitt castle, for family and friends who were not able to make our wedding in December.
We also had 2 family friends stay for 10 days at Nesbitt, while we were in Bulawayo.
The whole place is amazing. We also had the opportunity to stay the night of our reception at Nesbitt, compliments of the castle.
The staff were always helpful and no request was a problem for them. The day of the reception ran smoothly from start to finish, with the function manager on hand throughout the duration of the reception.
The accommodation was very comfortable with everyone always enjoying a good night's sleep.
I will always recommend Nesbitt Castle to anyone looking for a safe and comfortable stay in Bulawayo, and for anyone seeking a well organised venue for a function of any kind.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huggme64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2014

Thank you for such an amazing review. We are so pleased that your special day went smoothly. It was a pleasure to host your guests and we are glad that the service was to your liking. Congratulations and all the very best to you. Please always feel welcome to visit us when you are in Bulawayo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 187 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

Upon arriving at Nesbitt Castle is was quite apparent that this was going to be an unusual place to stay and I was not disappointed. Patrick runs a great show and he was most kind take time out of his busy day to drive me into Bulawayo to point out the places I was trying to get to see. The staff are most polite and the chef and his team provide excellent dishes from the kitchen. Becky was the hostess on the night I was eating in the restaurant and she was superb. Having just completed a course in Cape Town she definitely knew how to handle some of the more obscure requests that were put her way by a visiting party that evening. The reception staff were very gracious and were able to provide answers to all my questions and requests.
I forgot to lock my car one evening and not only was it superbly cleaned the next morning everything was completely in order within which is a testament to the security and people working there.
There were some quirky bits about the castle but there again this is exactly what one would expect a small castle to be like. There are some great artifacts in the various rooms so do take time to wander around to see them.
The gardens are wonderful, well kept and a delight to walk around in.
It is a great location for a wedding or an event which requires some grandeur about it.
Be warned Percy drive is not one continuous road and it did take me a bit of time to get to the right end of it!

Room Tip: The Diamond room does have windows but don't expect to see much from them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Thank you for making The Nesbitt Castle a part of your Bulawayo experience. So glad that you were able to enjoy the different aspects of the Castle - the pleasant staff, the historical artifacts as well as the lush green gardens that do make for a picturesque events venue.
We appreciate your awesome review and will strive to continue to provide the services much appreciated by all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed for a night on our way back to Harare and although the place is a bit run down in regard to the rooms and amenities we could not fault the excellent young staff who were a credit to the Nesbit castle. The place is charming and quirky and we enjoyed our stay but a few repairs to the room , fresh linen etc would take them from very good to outstanding.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank HarareScotsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Thank you for your honesty and suggestions. We have definitely taken this on board and have started making the necessary improvements to increase the pleasure and comfort of the guests' stay here. So pleased that you appreciated the unique nature that the Nesbitt Castle has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night, with my son, travelling from Mozambique to Victoria Falls. We lived in Zimbabwe twenty years ago and although still beautiful, Bulawayo seemed somehow desolate and desert-like at the end of the dry season. We felt that the Nesbitt was an island of luxury, greenery and attention. We enjoyed the cosy room, the décor, the many artefacts, the very friendly staff and the good food including breakfast in the impressive castle dining room. The overall eye for detail is amazing; when leaving in the morning, our car was immaculately cleaned and we felt like royalty leaving our mansion. The whole place is teamed a castle and my son absolutely loved this although he is well over twenty. I loved the beautiful scenery, the garden and the attentive staff. Thank you Nesbitt.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waterbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for such lovely praise. So very glad that we could be your oasis of pleasure and relaxation. The staff aim to please and are a treasure to The Nesbitt Castle. Please feel welcome to visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a wonderful stay , it was our first time at the Nesbitt Castle for our honey moon night.We will definitely stay here again. The food was great, the staff was helpful and took care of all our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NmN72013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Congratulations on your wedding and upcoming First Year Anniversary!! We would love to host you once again and give you "The Royal Treatment"!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

excellent place which lives up to its reputation. Held a wedding there its a top venue with excellent & very professional staff that are there to assist all the way. The stunning surrounds made our wedding pictures look awesome. friends who have seen the pics but haven't been to Zimbabwe are awestruck by them. Special thanx to Amy-Leigh!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lsn-rhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Thank you for allowing us the pleasure and privilege of hosting you and your loved ones on your Wedding Day. Your wedding pictures are a lasting connection to The Nesbitt Castle and we sure hope that you will visit again and maybe bring your friends to enjoy the experience for themselves. All the best to you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was my thrid visit to Nesbitt Castle and this visit was no exception to the rule of a great place to relax and feel very special with the excellent service. With all the historical adornments it was such fun going back in history and recalling the "old times" when everything went at a much slower pace than today. The only criticsim I have is there was a wedding on at the time of our visit and the noise from the venue spoilt the relaxing mood to some extent. I do understand this is a wedding venue and maybe if you want a quiet period, enquire first if there is a wedding on before you book your stay. I will certainly return again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Happy to have a regular Castle guest. Our apologies for the wedding disruptions, we have taken this into consideration and The Receptionists now inform guests at the time of booking if any weddings are scheduled during their stay. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
#2 of 8 in Bulawayo
177 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
#5 of 8 in Bulawayo
70 reviews
0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 8 in Bulawayo
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#4 of 8 in Bulawayo
114 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motsamai Guest Lodge
Motsamai Guest Lodge
#1 of 38 in Bulawayo
25 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Bulawayo Club
The Bulawayo Club
#6 of 26 in Bulawayo
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nesbitt Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nesbitt Castle

Address: 6 Percy Avenue | Hillside, Bulawayo 00002, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bulawayo
Price Range: $150 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Nesbitt Castle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bulawayo's most sought after destination. Ten gloriously individual suites lie behind these castle walls, stone-chilled in the heat of summer, cozy and welcoming for those cooler days. Be enchanted by the carved four poster beds, enviable antique collection and Gothic curiosities that await you along every twisting passageway and behind every Gothic oak door. Nesbitt Castle is everything a modern luxurious boutique hotel should be whilst retaining all the mystery & chivalry of a golden age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nesbitt Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nesbitt Castle Hotel Bulawayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing