We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical”
Review of The Nesbitt Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Nesbitt Castle
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bulawayo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was my thrid visit to Nesbitt Castle and this visit was no exception to the rule of a great place to relax and feel very special with the excellent service. With all the historical adornments it was such fun going back in history and recalling the "old times" when everything went at a much slower pace than today. The only criticsim I have is there was a wedding on at the time of our visit and the noise from the venue spoilt the relaxing mood to some extent. I do understand this is a wedding venue and maybe if you want a quiet period, enquire first if there is a wedding on before you book your stay. I will certainly return again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Happy to have a regular Castle guest. Our apologies for the wedding disruptions, we have taken this into consideration and The Receptionists now inform guests at the time of booking if any weddings are scheduled during their stay. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for The Nesbitt Castle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 185 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2013

This amazing boutique hotel gives you a feeling of royalty when you are welcomed at reception. Boasting only 10 rooms with such a customised over the top but i like it feel, NESBITT is just the place you need to be for an ego boost at extremely affordable if not CHEAP rates. The spaces available in the castle really leave you feeling like you are in another period all together with carefuly selected antiques (should have aske who the amazing curator of all this history was). The meals (compliments to the chef) are week conceived well prepared and presented dishes forcing me on a number of occasions to go back to my room to get a camera to take pictures. The staff are incredible and for me as a stand up comedian, performing comedy with the castle as a backdrop will forever be one of my most memorable nights as the resident KING of Comedy at NESBITT CASTLE!

Room Tip: Its great to pretend you are on honeymoon so you get the TOWER ROOM
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlNcube
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Every castle needs a Jester! Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you had an all round pleasurable stay and do hope that you will visit again when you are in "The City of Kings"!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

lovely place and very nice rooms and nice place en very very good meals and diner 'only not very nice relax chair/ sunbeds around the swimming pool.

very relaxing after a long yourney from holland to Zimbabwe.

very nice people

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jubodanja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Thank you for your positive review. We are glad that you were able to relax after your long journey. We will definitely look into improving the sunbeds around the swimming pool to enable guests to enjoy the Zimbabwe Sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We had our wedding on 6 july 2013 at Nesbitt Castle, the place is nice and the service was excellent,
and a complimentary honeymoon night in the executive room, waal what an honor. Thanks to Amy Leigh and all the staff .

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Mildred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

It is our pleasure to pamper our special couple after their beautiful day. Thank you for allowing us the privilege of being a part of your wedding day, we enjoyed hosting you and your loved ones. Please do visit us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Nesbitt Castle, nestled in a beautiful setting in Bulawayo. This magical castle will take you back in time, the rooms are all individual styled, and well appointed, four posted beds, hand crafted furniture. There is a smokers lounge, ladies lounge, and a dining room with a large table, snooker room and library. There is also a separate restaurant, with an a la carte menu. There is a chapel in the grounds where our daughter was married. So it is a great wedding venue. I would recommend Nesbitt Castle to anyone who wants a special day, or few days away. Near to Bulawayo City, 'the city of kings'. Bulawayo is about 400 klm from Victoria Falls. The beautiful, majestical Matopas is on Bulawayo's doorstep, and to anyone going to Bulawayo it is a 'must visit place'

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BellaBoo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy-Leigh M, Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

What a pleasurable review, thank you for your words of admiration. Please feel welcome to come and explore the tranquility of The Nesbitt Castle once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had our wedding on the 3rd of August 2013, l cannot fault this place or their service in any shape or form, everything was excellent. The staff were always willing to help with a smile on their faces. To top it all up, the honesty among the staff is outstanding, my sister lost my new iphone and the next day checking out the manager approached me with my phone saying one of our guests had lost their phone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mswelanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeNesbitt, Guest Relations Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

What a pleasure it was hosting your special day! Thank you for such an amazing review! Wishing you both a lifetime of love and happiness, and maybe a visit from yourselves on your first anniversary to celebrate? We would love that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

On my recent research trip around through Zimbabwe, we also stopped for a site inspection at the Nesbitt Castle Hotel in Bulawayo. This hotel is known to the best accommodation in Bulawayo and is also a perfect place for special events like weddings, birthdays and anniversaries.

The last time I saw the Nesbitt Castle was in 2009 during the economic crisis, when things were challenging and supplies rare. I was very surprised to see the Hotel in such good condition and shape. The gardens looked fabulous, all was very well maintained and kept up and the staff was simply superb. The rooms were all luxury as usual and smelled fresh. Sorry I have a thing about smell and don´t like stuffy rooms :-)

We had lunch at the Castle and each tested piece was delicious and tasty. Also the presentation is what would have been expected here.

So even the building is a little out of place for Africa, I cannot fault the Hotel in any ways and recommend it to anyone looking for a different type of experience.

Steffi Presske, Gondwana Tours and Safaris, Maun\Berlin

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gondwana_2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeeNesbitt, Guest Relations Manager at The Nesbitt Castle, responded to this reviewResponded September 15, 2013

Thank you for such an amazing review!! It was a pleasure having you! We look forward to hosting Gondwana Tours and Safaris and your clients in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
#2 of 7 in Bulawayo
174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bulawayo
66 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
#4 of 7 in Bulawayo
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#5 of 7 in Bulawayo
100 reviews
1.2 mi away
Motsamai Guest Lodge
Motsamai Guest Lodge
#3 of 38 in Bulawayo
22 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sethule Lodge
Sethule Lodge
#2 of 38 in Bulawayo
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nesbitt Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nesbitt Castle

Address: 6 Percy Avenue | Hillside, Bulawayo 00002, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Bulawayo
Price Range: $150 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Nesbitt Castle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bulawayo's most sought after destination. Ten gloriously individual suites lie behind these castle walls, stone-chilled in the heat of summer, cozy and welcoming for those cooler days. Be enchanted by the carved four poster beds, enviable antique collection and Gothic curiosities that await you along every twisting passageway and behind every Gothic oak door. Nesbitt Castle is everything a modern luxurious boutique hotel should be whilst retaining all the mystery & chivalry of a golden age. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Nesbitt Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nesbitt Castle Hotel Bulawayo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing