We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Atmosphere, Service Laughable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kraal Pizza and Grill

The Kraal Pizza and Grill
Ranked #4 of 27 Restaurants in Bulawayo
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Great family environment with the friendliest staff and hunger busting food! Our wood-fired pizza will rock your world!
Scotalnd
Level Contributor
101 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere, Service Laughable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Seven of us really enjoyed the quality and quantity of food which was chosen from a very varied and extensive menu. The decor and atmosphere were great but the service ......... so bad it was laughable. I do not think I have ever previously dinned at a restaurant which had run out of menus but that is what the very attractive and personable waitress told us after we had waited twenty minutes for menus to be presented to us! The drinks service at the table was thankfully pretty good and the reasonably priced quality wine took our minds off of the delay in the ordering and delivery of our meals. We enjoyed the evening even though it was extended because of the poor service. The food and atmosphere make it a a place well worth visiting whilst in Bulawayo.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToGangAwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    19
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I arrived late in Bulawayo and the hotel recommended this restaurant. I went there with a colleague and we arrived around 8:30pm. We were told that the kitchen will be closing at 9pm. From that point on it seemed like it was an exercise to get us out as quickly as possible. I had to ask for napkins; the service was brusque, and the food presentation sub-par. Staff hovered around to clean our table, and in one instance, pulled away a plate before asking.

This is Zimbabwe and one cannot escape nor avoid the topic of race here. The fact that my colleague and I were the only people of colour in the restaurant gives me reason to ponder how this may have impacted the quality of service we received.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thevi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner for 4”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Generally, food very good and service good. I had mussel starter and loved it whilst the prawns were good. Rach had piri-piri livers which she enjoyed. Chicken schnitzel n steak were tender n tasty. Hubby said eisbein was fatty and bland! Choc mousse was good, ice-cream fine. But, the 2 starters were bought to the table at different times and so were the 2 puddings - not good! Prices were reasonable an surroundings pleasant. More lights needed in car-park at back though, with lighted path to front of restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ro H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“improves every time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Went back to the Kraal again as I was in Bulawayo overnight on business. This restaurant continues to get better and better. Richard does very fine job in the kitchen and those Devils on Horseback starters are superb. Puks has the serving staff working very hard and the restaurant seems to be busy with a very good atmosphere most nights.

A real asset to staying in Bulwayo, not to be missed. Keep up the good work

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulawayo, Matabeleland North, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Bulawayo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

always outstanding service and food. brilliant atmosphere, happy staff. Owner managed and run. Lovely view if the rugby field at Busters Sports club with lots of grass for kids to run around and play. In summer sitting outside with the fairy lights is very special. there is sport on the TV over at the ports club if you want to catch up with rots news.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Kraal Pizza and Grill also viewed

Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
 
Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
 
Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
Bulawayo, Bulawayo Province
 

Been to The Kraal Pizza and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing