We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burke's Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burkes' Backpackers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Burke's Paradise”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

The host was very helpful and assisted whenever asked. The common area room had power outlets for all types of plugs. The showers and toilets were very clean. There is a well stocked frig with drinks available for purchase. The estate is large and the gardens are attractive. The owner is an honest and friendly person.

Room Tip: Rooms are dorms, twins or doubles. Camping is also available so long as you have your own tent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    3
    0
    4
See reviews for
4
16
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

This place is a little out of Bulawayo though there are good public transport connections. The dorm room was very comfortable with free wifi, the gardens area is lovely and there is a nice shared kitchen. Overall a good choice.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Scal_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steffisburg, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

i was there for 2 night it like a old farm and the dorm where i was in soud of in a cottage and is so convertible

the bed s and the rooms toilets are clean and i s good place to hang around there

is a bit fare from the city but is worth it he and hes famely are very nice and easy going

if you stay there for a same few days make sure you have food with you so you safe transport

and visit the art gallery in the city

Room Tip: Stay in the Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcryf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Burkes' is clean and decent accommodation. The highlight though is the friendly and helpful nature of Adam Burke, the owner. He went out of his way to encourage me to go on a day trip to Matobos national park- the day was amazing and did not disappoint. Highly recommend the place if stopping through bulawayo.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank dnickso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed 2 night at this Backpackers in Bulawayo. Owner and his family are really helpful, Room was clean. I think it's perfect for Backpackers. Little bit far from town(roughly 15 minutes by car), but no problem if you have a car. It was a really quiet and peaceful place so I was comfortable and was able to rest enough at Paradise.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ronxvii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed here just one night along my route back to SA but it was great. The owner was really helpful and when I somehow managed to get back to the place and run out of petrol he was nice enough to go fetch some for me (thanks again!!) after trying to push-start my car several times (oops).

It's a few minutes out of Bulawayo so you're not right in the city. The property is great with lawn, ponds, and lots of birds. Even with a big group when I was there it was still quiet.

I also highly recommend vising Matopo Hills which I did on the owner's recommendation. It's a crazy beautiful place and I wish I'd had more time there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron_Burgundy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam B, Owner at Burkes' Backpackers Paradise, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thanks for writing a review for us Ron_Burgundy.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you at least had time to make a short trip out to the Matopo Hills.

We were blessed to have a couple of mechanically minded guys staying with us that day - I certainly wouldn't have figured out that your car needed petrol when the fuel gauge showed it wasn't empty! I'm glad we could all help you out that morning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed a couple of days at Burke's Paradise and can only recommend this place! It was easy to get there with public transport event though it is a bit out of town. Burke's is a quiet and enjoyable place which offers also dorms providing everything a backpacker needs.
Also Adam, the owner of this place, was a great help for me as he gave me good advice about how to get to different places. One evening we also had a nice discussion with him about life, politics and history of Zimbabwe. So also from that side: simply amazing!
So all in all I was really happy about sleeping over a couple of nights in this little paradise!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpack92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
2.2 mi away
The Nesbitt Castle
The Nesbitt Castle
#1 of 7 in Bulawayo
182 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
#2 of 7 in Bulawayo
173 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sethule Lodge
Sethule Lodge
#2 of 35 in Bulawayo
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Motsamai Guest Lodge
Motsamai Guest Lodge
#3 of 35 in Bulawayo
22 reviews
1.1 mi away
Wozani Lodge
Wozani Lodge
#5 of 35 in Bulawayo
10 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Musketeers Lodge
The Musketeers Lodge
#7 of 35 in Bulawayo
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burkes' Backpackers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burkes' Backpackers Paradise

Property: Burkes' Backpackers Paradise
Address: 11 Inverleith Drive | Burnside, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Bulawayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clean and comfortable self-catering accommodation set within a beautiful, spacious and relaxing environment. You can relax by the swimming pool after a hard day's travel or use our wifi Internet access to catch up with friends back home. We have plenty of camping pitches for those on a very tight budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Burkes' Backpackers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing