We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprising!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Bulawayo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bulawayo
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprising!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

I have tried various establishments in Bulawayo and should have used the Holiday Inn first. It's well located, clean, comfortable, friendly and excellent value. Wi-fi works perfectly and I have just finished a delicious breakfast sitting outside looking at an immaculate garden and pool. It's a typical Holiday Inn with Zimbabwean warmth and that's why it works.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Malcolm A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    87
    22
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
6
8
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, SA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was concerned when I read some of the reviews as it was my first time In Zim and not sure what to expect. I was pleasantly surprised and found this establishment first class even when comparing it to European and USA standards.
The building facade and front lobby is not impressive and might be a reason why some people are on the back foot when reviewing the hotel, but all the other facilities was perfect. The two outstanding things was the friendliness of the staff and general hygiene. I found everything spotless and everyone really caring.
It is however clear that money is scarce and a few signs of slipping maintenance here and there, but still a shining star in this aspect when comparing to the rest of the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VPK-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is best in bulawayo.. please make sure there is hot water in your room before u check in though ! The staff have a really good attitude and sense of humour.. the internet worked perfectly.
Good security and nice view of sunset on car park side.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank andywhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I know this country is in a mess, and it really shows in this hotel. The room and grounds were fine, but the Internet was horrible, and the staff did not know how to fix it. Bar is unbelievably loud with live music. Breakfast is so-so. Staff attitude is hit and miss. One bright spot is the Arizona Spur restaurant on the grounds that has awesome steaks, salads and even good Mexican food (in Zimbabwe!). Hopefully, this place can be refurbished some day...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bulawayo, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear Peter F,

I would first like to thank you for taking the time out of your day to write your review of our hotel. I am pleased the quality of food served at our restaurant exceeded your expectations. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay. I have taken note of your valuable comments regarding the unusual conditions of the internet connection and the bar. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the quality and services that we offer to our guests.

I appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll give us a chance to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My last stay at this hotel was disheartening: dated decor, eggs in metal plates being offered to guests 'chicken-bus style, only traditional dishes served for supper, air con in my room had bits missing and was letting cold winter air into the room... Really reflected badly on the Holiday Inn brand.

A recent stay there revealed big changes... Refreshed decor, Western dishes, polite staff in new uniforms, the gents with snazzy ties (though one of them don't like the ties much!). I ordered room service which was delivered within a reasonable timeframe. friendly staff who were keen to go an extra mile to ensure that I was comfortable.

I'm keen to see the full extent of the renovations... So, yes, I would stay there again!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night (thankfully), torn curtains, cockroaches, old furniture. To be fair the staff do try to be polite and helpful, but you get the sense things are out of their hands.
Breakfast was okay, but for US180 you want better value for it

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sn1190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Bulawayo, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Dear sn1190,

I am most disappointed and concerned to read your comments. I would greatly appreciate further information regarding your stay in order that I can investigate further.

We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Thanks,
Brenda J.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Bulawayo Holiday Inn is not up to the standards one would expect of a Holiday Inn. The hotel is geared up for local conferences and business men. The cow hooves served at lunch is a local delicasy and not what a traveller would expect from a Holiday Inn however the place was full so i expect thay are catering to a certain market but again, I was looking for Holiday Inn standards. The building is many many years old as are the room fittings and the bathrooms. No TV remote and the bedside lights did not work about sums it up. I am sure that thee is better in Bulawayo.

Room Tip: any will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Afriod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
0.0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#4 of 6 in Bulawayo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.8 mi away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#3 of 6 in Bulawayo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Nesbitt Castle
The Nesbitt Castle
#1 of 6 in Bulawayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
Bulawayo Rainbow Hotel
#5 of 6 in Bulawayo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
1.8 mi away
Motsamai Guest Lodge
Motsamai Guest Lodge
#5 of 36 in Bulawayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sethule Lodge
Sethule Lodge
#3 of 36 in Bulawayo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Bulawayo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Bulawayo

Property: Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Address: Milnerton Drive | PO Box AC 88, Ascot, Bulawayo, Zimbabwe
Phone Number:
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Bulawayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Bulawayo 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn offers guests the perfect location for a visit to Bulawayo. Situated 3km from the City Centre adjascent to the Ascot race course, the hotel offers a range of sporting facilities. Whether your stay is for business or pleasure, our superb location is the ideal place to stay. The hotel has 4 executive suites which have recently been redecorated, now guests can book suites according to their preffered colour scheme. The hotel offers spacious onsite parking and our state of art conference centre hosts weddings, cooperate functions, dinners, workshops, press conferences and interviews. For those who keep to routine social activities, the outdoor swimming pool, international squash and tennis courts, the gym and beauty parlour, we offer that satisfaction. Guests can enjoy a varied cuisines with quality and delicious dishes from the Panarottis restaurant, Arizona Spur, KoBulawayo bar and Coffee bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Bulawayo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Bulawayo Hotel Bulawayo
Bulawayo Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing