We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southern Comfort Lodge
Ranked #5 of 24 Bulawayo B&B and Inns
Northwich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I went to Zimbabwe for a 3 week holiday, I stayed at Southern Comfort Lodge a total of 9 nights during my stay.What a lovely place to stay, the chalets were very clean comfortable and well equipped. I enjoyed getting up early in the morning and sitting outside and seeing all the birds in the trees and watching the sun come up. The day is started with a good breakfast of your choice.I used to eat this outside enjoying the African sun and beautiful garden that had been created there. Evenings were centred around the bar and dining room, there was always a few people around the bar and lots of lively conversation, everyone was included in the conversation which was nice as I was travelling solo. You would be hard pressed to find a friendlier bunch of people, Craig and Leslie were the owners and Kevin and Shannon were the managers, the food in the restaurant was 1st class. I was luckly enough to go fishing for bass with Craig and Kevin one day and I had my catch cooked for my supper. Cannot wait to go back there next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidHilaryNorthwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernComfortLodge, Public Relations Manager at Southern Comfort Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thanks for posting such a great review! It was great to have you with us - don't forget the bass will still be biting next year (or perhaps you can try for Tiger?)

We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
9
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We did not stay at the lodge so I cannot comment on that, but we went here for dinner and drinks and had a great time. We had both appetizers and dinner and everyone in our group was extremely pleased with the food. The decor was excellent. It was a typical Africa thatched roof building. The room had some very nice mounts that we took the time to admire.

After dinner we bellied up to the bar. The owner and his wife were working. We had a very interesting time talking about our hunting trip and them sharing some of their experiences. Their friendship was sincere and they made us feel right at home.

It was a very memorable dinner.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernComfortLodge, Public Relations Manager at Southern Comfort Lodge, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
It was great to have you! We have added our Specialty Dish, the Z-Bone to our menu since your visit (600-700g of prime T-Bone Steak) - be sure to visit again and try it out!

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Southern Comfort Lodge for one night on a recent trip to Zimbabwe. It is conveniently located - close to the centre of town, but not too close! The rooms are spotlessly clean, very quiet and comfortable. The little chalets are situated in a lovingly tended garden. We felt very welcome and ate all our meals in the little restaurant - good food, a friendly atmosphere and professional service. I would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SouthernComfortLodge, Manager at Southern Comfort Lodge, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thanks for the wonderful review. It was great to have you both with us Catherine, glad you enjoyed your stay...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

I have had reason to stay in Bulawayo on business on more than one occasion. I would highly recommend Southern Comfort Lodge as a safe, well maintained and extremely comfortable place to base yourself in while on business in Bulawayo.
I found the hosts to be extremely helpful and went out of their way to assist me and my colleagues during our stay. They were also extremely obliging with regard to the food & meal times and I was never disappointed with the quality of the food offered.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

The southern comfort lodge in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe is wonderful. The grounds are kept like a huge English garden. The rooms are very nice. The managing team of Shannon and Kevin Williams go out of their way to assist. The meals are delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwain I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mfuwe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

I recently attended a family members wedding in Bulawayo, my birth city with my mother. We were booked in Southern Comfort Lodge. What a great choice. The rooms we great and owners very approachable with great suggestions.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrocValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2011

Excellent staff and attention to detail. This lodge is clean and has a very safe and relaxed atmosphere. They serve the best cup of tea! The “Sneaky Rat Pub” feels like home where you sit for hours and hear stories of travelers from around the globe. We loved it and will go back on our next adventure to Africa.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bulawayo hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
Holiday Inn Bulawayo
#2 of 7 in Bulawayo
172 reviews
4.1 mi away
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
The N1 Hotel Bulawayo
#4 of 7 in Bulawayo
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cresta Churchill Hotel
Cresta Churchill Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bulawayo
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Motsamai Guest Lodge
Motsamai Guest Lodge
#3 of 35 in Bulawayo
22 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Musketeers Lodge
The Musketeers Lodge
#4 of 35 in Bulawayo
16 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ebuhleni Guest Lodge
Ebuhleni Guest Lodge
#12 of 35 in Bulawayo
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Comfort Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Comfort Lodge

Property: Southern Comfort Lodge
Address: 22 Jaywick Road | Matsheumhlope, Bulawayo 0000, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Bulawayo Province > Bulawayo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Bulawayo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SOUTHERN COMFORT ESTATE, named for the original farmstead on which it is located, was bought by Craig and Lesley Hunt in 1994. It featured only a barren patch of sparse bush and a breached dam; it was unfenced, dry and dusty, with a meagre supply of water and a lonely farmhouse and stable yard, built originally in the 1920s. Since those early days, Craig and Lesley have fostered and created a dream – today, the Estate features a large dam, lush green gardens, a prolific borehole, a six-chalet lodge, conference centre and campground. As they say, from a tiny seed stems a great tree!The Estate boasts a cool, calm atmosphere, offering peace and tranquillity to all who visit – a welcome haven from the chaos of everyday life. Craig and Lesley, having begun all those years ago, still reside on the property and eagerly welcome all who happen to pass their way. They have two children, a son, Scott and a daughter, Tanya.Southern Comfort Estate has been a long time in the making, and we are still striving for the highest levels of perfection. There are numerous plans and projects for the future, and we would like to invite you to see for yourself what big dreams can achieve… For inspiration, and relaxation, welcome to SOUTHERN COMFORT ESTATE ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Southern Comfort Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing