We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
  
Ways to Experience Matobo National Park
from $1,663.76
More Info
Reviews (356)
Filter reviews
356 results
Traveler rating
217
102
25
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
217
102
25
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cave paintings rhodes grave rock formations white rhino on foot matobo hills granite boulders cecil john rhodes world heritage site half day visit walk up magical place pay extra self drive beautiful scenery fish eagles rainy season
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 356 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2016 via mobile

Expensive for non Zimbabwe nationals... Cost USD 12 per person to enter (excluding car which was another USD 10). Add another USD 10 to walk up to world's view (Rhodes grave) ... Costs aside, the views are spectacular and a visit to some of the cases is a must to see the bushman rock art... Not many mamals to be seen... But keep a look out for klipspringer.

Date of experience: March 2016
Thank 007PHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2016

Had a game drive in the park saw many wildlife species was eager to see rhinos unfortunately couldn't managed to see foot prints tried tracking but in vain

Date of experience: February 2016
Thank 422leanam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2016

Went there with a group of friends on separate occasions. We managed to have a braai by the dam just before the main entrance and the other time we went through the main entrance to our lovely rocky place. Watching the sunrise from Matopos was breath taking and I enjoyed going by the dams. Accommodation variety is another good thing. Enjoy the wildlife too when you go there... The rocks are just too too amazing and beautiful. I will keep going to Matopos

Date of experience: November 2015
Thank michaeltabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2016

I have travelled to this National Park on countless occassions. I have also had the pleasure of camping on varioius sites (Maleme Rest Camp etc). If one happens to be in the Matabeleland Region - I would highly recommend visiting the national park to get a sense of the region and country's historical background. I always feel as though I am taking a trip back in time as I explore various caves and battle sites. One area of interest is Cecil John Rhode's grave but for me te real gems are the caves, rock paintings etc.

Date of experience: August 2015
Thank Sandisiwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile

Had a wonderful day with Andy from Black Rhino Safaris. He picked us up at our hotel and drove us to the park, which is maybe 30 minutes outside of town. We climbed one of the granite outcroppings and tried to spot the rhinos in the bush below. Having not spotted any, we set out down the dirt roads until Andy found rhino signs. We then walked through the bush, following the footprints and piles of dung, until we broke into a clearing and came upon eight white rhinos. We spent maybe 45 minutes just hanging out and taking pictures, getting closer than you would expect. The animals did not seem to mind our presence, and they eventually settled down. Quite the experience, and different than just sitting in a safari vehicle. Andy knows his trees and plants and continued to point out species as we walked through the bush. And, we had a huge luncheon to go along with the walk. Highly recommended.

Date of experience: February 2016
1  Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews